We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I went to Costa Rica for dental work and did some traveling all throughout Costa Rica. This is our 3rd time in the country. We stayed at the Ringle 9/4 to 9/7. We stayed at 5 hotels and this place was was the absolute best place to stay while in the San Jose area. Usually the pictures are better than the hotel and this was quite the opposite. The pictures are good, but the hotel was even more than what we expected. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and each one so different from the other. Everything thing was immaculate and clean. We dealt with Marcos, Katia, Rodney and we were able to meet the owner, Ed Ringle. He poured his heart and soul into every detail of the furniture, fixtures and the landscape. The entire staff was welcoming and they all spoke English. The architecture is more beautiful than anything we have seen in Costa Rica. There was no expense spared on
the renovation and upkeep of this hotel. We had a beautiful view high up in the mountains and great sleeping weather at night. The place was quiet and no riff raff going on in the evenings. The restaurant, Siwo, also had great views, good food and was all outdoors. If we had more time, I would have loved to have spent time in the library on those leather couches. There is a wildlife refuge right across the road and you can walk to a few other restaurants. It was hard to leave this hotel. It is just a short distance from Escazu and shopping. If you want a guarantee of a nice place to stay, Ringle is the place. The grounds were so beautifully landscaped and there were fresh flowers all around the hotel. Being that we went in the green/slow season, we had only a few other guests to deal with. The pool and pool area was phenomenal (my husband builds pools). The pool was entirely tiled with expensive marble decking. I will definitely be back. No expense was spared on this resort. Unfortunately, we did not have time to utilize the spa services. We were in one of the family suites and I was able to read a book with the french doors open and had a great view of the city lights at night. A small mini-fridge was great for a few drinks without leaving my room. We will be back.

Room Tip: We particularly enjoyed the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for such a thorough review that encompasses many of our greatest selling points. New incoming guests always look amazed when they first arrive at the resort because they realize all the amazing online photos properly represent the serenity and breathtaking beauty of this property. Furthermore, we were thrilled to hear your high praise for our gorgeous pool considering this is your husbands profession. We just recently installed a heating system into the pool which will now provide perfect temperatures year round for all our guests to enjoy. Thank you for staying with us and we certainly look forward to your quick return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

The grounds of the hotel were just as the photos shown. We were a group of 4 so we rented a small house, The house was very nice, though there were minor issues. One the garden tub was waiting for part, some light bulbs were out, the smaller guest bathroom, the water took time to drain out due to the way the shower's floor was constructed, The beds, water, kitchen and laundry units were very nice. At night the noise from the local traffic was pronounced since the house was closer to the road than the main building. We had a very good time there and would recommend it to others. At evening we were able to enjoy the outside without the bothersome bugs you would get back in the States. No need for air conditioning for our time there, very good sleep with the beds being very good for sleeping. The property was located not far from other areas to dine out or to go for food or souvenir shopping. We did not drive but used a local to drive us around and we had a very good time. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and responsive to our questions and assistance when asked. The rating is more of a 3.5 circles only the minor issues causing the .5 drop. P.S. the area where they serve the food and the swimming pool has an excellent view of the valley below, I took many pictures of this view.

Room Tip: Did not stay at the main house so can not give an opinion on the sleep conditions. As stated above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

For many guests the serenity and beauty found amongst the property is an important factor in choosing our resort over the competition as we take tremendous pride in the upkeep of the buildings, gardens, and pool area. We always hear from our guests that the pictures online almost look to good to be true, making them pleasantly surprised when they drive through the gates and realize how beautiful the property grounds look and feel. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review, and look forward to serving you again here at the Ringle Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We spend 3 nights in this hotel with my wife in August 2013.

It was the second time for me in the hotel.

The first one was a business trip in March 2013 and I liked my stay in the hotel.

I decided to come for vacation from France in Costa Rica with my wife.
I have chosen what I consider being the best room in the hotel: room 103.
This room has a private balcony, and a wonderful bath room.
We found this last stay very relaxing.
We used frequently the swiming pool as the temperature of the water was nice.
We recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Room 103 is very quite and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dambreville A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

It's such a great compliment when people stay with us on a business trip, only to return with their loved ones. It truly goes to show how people fall in love with the property, and want others to share in their experience of the resort. We were ecstatic to read your review, and want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We highly recommend room 103 for couples who want a special experience, and we are happy to hear you took advantage of the pools new heating system. The pool temperature will now be ideal year round. Until the next time we see you, au revoir!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Rather than staying at the airport Marriot or the like, we went 20 minutes or so out of town, and stayed here. It's about 10 rooms and an adjoining restaurant, with a good amount of property. It's perhaps 10 minutes from the center of Santa Ana, which has some good restaurants. At $99, it seems a bargain. It has a pool (but no exercise room I was aware of). Everything is very nice and new -- a good mattress, well-built furniture. It's not a four-seasons with the plushest towels and four types of soap, but frankly, nice towels and a couple types of soap suffice for me.

Room Tip: They have a nice casita as an option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whsy82seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

As a unique resort with a small number of rooms, we have the ability to provide a higher standard of service than the big chain hotels in Costa Rica that typically have over a 100+ rooms. We get to know our guests on a first name basis, and are always available and walking around the property so that our guests can easily find us if they need some help/service with anything. Most importantly, we provide incredible value to our customers, and that's the reason people continually return. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

If you like accommodations with personality, luxury and a friendly staff that is out of the ordinary you must try the Ringle Resort. The view, the restaurant and the facilities in general are outstanding. The owner, Ed Ringle, Katia and Rodney in particular, are making sure that one's stay is memorable. Here is an example of what hospitality used to mean! It is my place of choice when I am in San Jose.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FXM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We've said it a million times before, and will continue to repeat ourselves because its important for our customers to understand who we are: our entire operation revolves around providing the best service possible, within a gorgeous facility/(rooms) surrounded by opulent gardens, at a very reasonable price. Our entire staff works relentlessly to provide each visiting customer with the highest level of comfort, consideration, and personal service. If we have not met these high standards, we consider that a failure. From the entire staff, we say thank you for acknowledging our hard work and dedication. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Difficult to further compliment on all the previous opinions. Rooms, view, staff and management friendliness, restaurant are all fabulous. Price is (still) very reasonable considering the size of the suites, the pool is warm, the atmosphere is of one of those glorious LatAm haciendas and a welcome change from the modern American style of all those hotel chains in San Jose.
Just a few practical points:
1) Hotel is a bit in a suburbs, tours can still pick you up there or you may have to take a taxi to the Quality hotel. Not a big issue - and anyway, for those who don't know: there is no interest at all to be in the center of San Jose, nothing to visit there.
2) Neighboring dogs are barking - Management advised me that they took some action to have them shut up.... hopefully it will be done, but just in case take some ear plugs.
3) If Management wants to be 6 stars, just need some slippers, bath robe and I-Pod station, and I would recommend as well to improve the typical Costa Rico "Tico" breakfast.
OK, enough with though love. Really, looking at the facilities and luxury, one should be ashamed to complain. I used to like the Grano de Oro, but this one is above it all.

Room Tip: Suites are very luxurious, worth the indulgence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanLouisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

As a seasoned traveler, you've likely stayed at many of the "top" resorts around the world. With such a vast array of knowledge in the hospitality industry, and considering you've probably seen most everything the industry has to offer, we were delighted to read your very admiring review. Furthermore, you're spot on with your assessment of downtown San Jose. The center of town offers very little in terms of tourism attractions, and overall its a very dirty place. The dog issues have been taken care of, and the pool is warm and perfectly heated for our guests thanks to the new heating system. Thank you for staying with us and please come back to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Since my experience is not typical I must qualify this review with two points: (A) I planned a wedding at a hotel down the street and my wedding party stayed at this hotel and (B) I am an extremely organized planner.

The venue is beautiful, perfectly located in the mountains in Santa Ana. It is an extremely peaceful area, the rooms are very nice and the pool and restaurant are so beautiful (and the restaurant has good food too). This is not the place to stay if you are looking to be "in the mix" on a party scene (but you can reach busier areas with a quick taxi), but is excellent for a romantic getaway, or if you have a small party that you want to stay in 1 place and get some relaxation and time together.

We reserved the entire hotel for our wedding party which ended up being a LOT of fun and the more importantly the Ringle made our guests' stay memorable. Katia (the manager) is a really sweet person and was great to work with. We had a great understanding regarding our contract early on and about 2 weeks before the wedding she out of nowhere tried to quadruple the deposit. I feel like she got pressured by the building owner because he was scared we would back out or something, but everything ended up working out fine (all of my guests showed and paid and the hotel was happy). Katia worked very hard to make sure the hotel was ready for such a large group (~18) and everything went off without 1 problem.

Luis in the restaurant is a really cool guy and was nice to work with. Natalia, the events manager was tough to work with over email but when we arrived she was very kind to us and easy to work with.

Overall, planning events in Costa Rica is difficult (with the Ringle being no exception) because (A) culturally they are not as urgent in business so they move at a slightly more relaxed place (can't completely blame them for this, Americans can be high strung) and (B) getting money to them is extremely difficult (via credit card or wire).

Lastly, the spa was not open during our stay at the hotel but Katia happily called in an outside service to do a hot stone massage in my room. The prices were very competitive.

All this being said, everything worked out for the best, my guests were EXTREMELY HAPPY and I felt like we got a fair deal that was agreed upon by both parties. I would recommend this hotel!!

THANK YOU RINGLE RESORT FOR YOUR HARD WORK! Your hotel is beautiful!

Room Tip: Family suite is beautiful, has a really nice balcony with a nice view. The Master Suite is also inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

We truly appreciate your decision to select Ringle Resort as your home base for the wedding. We know you had many options to choose from, and we were thrilled to be able to cater to you and all your guests, providing them with a pleasant and memorable stay. Your entire group was so courteous and upbeat, and we enjoyed seeing all you folks having such a great time around the property, pool, and restaurant. We worked very hard to deliver the best possible service, and we were very sad to have to say goodbye. From the entire staff, we want to thank you for staying with us, and please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 14 in Escazu
435 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
999 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
579 reviews
3.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,800 reviews
4.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Alto de Las Palomas, Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range: £90 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is perfectly located in the Beverly Hills of Costa Rica-the Escazu-Santa Ana hillside offering the best in views and convenience to shopping, dining and local attractions. We have 10 luxury rooms with the finest design and furnishings. Our restaurant and spa along with our gigantic pool make for an accommodating oasis for those who wish to stay on site. We make for a great event venue and have been host to weddings, yoga retreats and more. We are the perfect destination for the business, medical or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing