We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I noticed this hotel on Cheapair.com and it had the best reviews. Not to mention it looked so charming so I just had to check it out. To my surprise it was even better then I imagined. The staff was remarkable!!! Especially, my friend Heiner (AKA Angel) who went over and above to help me out. Everyone made me feel really comfortable. I was also amazed by how clean the place was. They have care takers around the clock. I just had to take pictures of the place! The owner, who is from Italy, had the place so beautifully furnished ... you almost feel like you're in someone's home. It's a little out of the way and therefore it's a great place to start, or even better, end your trip. It will leave an everlasting impression on your mind. Love the place can't wait to visit my friends, especially angel, at Hotel Posada Canal Grande. I give it a 5+ stars!!!!

Room Tip: They all have a great view!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank SacredLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Posada Canal Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2011

I really have no reason to go anywhere else. Its the only place for me in San Jose (Santa Anna). If you want an intimate, non-chain, place of beauty and piece, go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank kikirico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

The hotel is in beautiful secluded gardens at the end of a private drive; it's very hard to find, so print out all the clues on their website. The public areas and rooms are spacious and clean. Heina and the staff were charming and very helpful. The surrounding area has little to offer tourists. Apart from an expensive and in our view snooty italien restaurent, there aren't any acceptable restaurents nearby. We recommend you ask at reception to have a pizza delivered. There are frequent and cheap buses for San Jose, about 30mins.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Bryon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

The room that I stayed was incredibly clean, accented by very nice furniture. The view was also incredible.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank flebed333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

enjoy the clean air on the mountain-side of the San Jose valley, in beautiful Santa Anna.
well manicured gardens nestled away from traffic.
Safe and secure.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank kikirico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the Posada Canal Grande. It has the best hotel staff. They will treat you like family. It is close to many activities in C.R.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank James0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We couldn't have asked for anything more. Upon entering the hotel you are greeted by the most kind hearted staff imaginable. The lay out of the hotel is so homely and tropical. In the middle of the U shaped design lies a beautiful common area with pool, cabanas, swinging chairs, and a view the truly represents the finest Costa Rica has to offer (which is SO much). Breakfast is served every morning whenever you stroll out of bed and may include fresh native fruit, black beans (a staple food of the region) scrambled eggs, feta cheese, and tasty fruit jelly and bread. Hotel staff are extremely personable and helpful. Whether you are looking for a beautiful romantic getaway or a peaceful sanctuary to rest your head and get some work done, this place has everything you could ask for, and if they dont they'll get it for you. Hotel Canal Grande is my favorite destination in all of Costa Rica. Ask if room 4 is available. The view from the balcony is breathtaking and absolutely astonishing. You will NOT be disappointed. Stop looking, stay here.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Jambaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
2.2 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
996 reviews
2.3 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
575 reviews
5.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
575 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
116 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Address: Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range: £24 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Canal Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great and very family hotel, come , enjoy the warm atmosphere at Posada Canal Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Posada Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Canal Grande Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing