We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, will come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Definite winner! Will recomend to anybody.
Clean, rooms, friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast.

Only thing I recommend, make sure you clear cost and form of payment upon registration. We had a little misunderstanding, all was solved at check-out in a nice matter. Will definetly comeback next time. Staff is well informed and willing to help.

Room Tip: Just check rates vs form of payment at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Cielos25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2011

Every time we arrive in san Sose' we stay at Posada Canal Garnde,it's like to stay a home!!
The place is very quite and perfect to relax.Marco is very heplful .
Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank RobyPlayaSamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We enjoyed the location, the sunsets from the back yard, the pool, the hammock chairs, the serenity of the place, and the personal service! And we brought our small dog! Very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PuraVidaSJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

A beautiful grand 'hacienda' style hotel in Santa Ana, just outside San Jose. Whether coming to stay for several days or a few weeks, or looking for somewhere to stop on your first night in Costa Rica or before flying home, Hotel Posada Canal Grande is a hidden treasure you'll enjoy discovering. My wife and I stayed here for three weeks while I taught at the United Nations University for Peace (UPeace). Having traveled extensively around the world I would highly recommend this hotel to business travelers, families, and couples looking for a romantic get-away. The hotel itself provides a wonderful atmosphere. The staff are both professional and friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful experience. The rooms are large and nicely furnished, set on two floors which open around a beautiful pool. Beyond the pool are the hotel grounds with many types of trees, plants, flowers and a few cacti. For mango lovers you can simply pick them off the trees and have a fantastic treat whenever you'd like. With very nice grounds around the hotel you have a feeling of peace while being within easy reach of the city. The view is breathtaking. Looking out from the rooms you see rows of mountains in the distance. Nearly every night brings a magnificent sunset. A wide range of places to eat, from an Italian restaurant at the bottom of the road to 'Oveja Negra' (The Black Sheep) which has delicious food and excellent margaritas. There's also a very nice little local eatery run by a grandmother which delivers delicious burritos, nachos, ribs and much more to the rooms. The best meals of all though are those made by Marco, the owner of the hotel. After having been to Italy several times I can say his pastas are amongst the best I've ever had. Together with superb red wines available at the hotel it makes for a wonderful culinary experience. For a hotel with an authentic feel, wonderful guests, superb staff, and a beautiful setting, you can hardly do better. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Fantastic views from the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kai_Jacobsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I noticed this hotel on Cheapair.com and it had the best reviews. Not to mention it looked so charming so I just had to check it out. To my surprise it was even better then I imagined. The staff was remarkable!!! Especially, my friend Heiner (AKA Angel) who went over and above to help me out. Everyone made me feel really comfortable. I was also amazed by how clean the place was. They have care takers around the clock. I just had to take pictures of the place! The owner, who is from Italy, had the place so beautifully furnished ... you almost feel like you're in someone's home. It's a little out of the way and therefore it's a great place to start, or even better, end your trip. It will leave an everlasting impression on your mind. Love the place can't wait to visit my friends, especially angel, at Hotel Posada Canal Grande. I give it a 5+ stars!!!!

Room Tip: They all have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank SacredLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I really have no reason to go anywhere else. Its the only place for me in San Jose (Santa Anna). If you want an intimate, non-chain, place of beauty and piece, go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank kikirico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

The hotel is in beautiful secluded gardens at the end of a private drive; it's very hard to find, so print out all the clues on their website. The public areas and rooms are spacious and clean. Heina and the staff were charming and very helpful. The surrounding area has little to offer tourists. Apart from an expensive and in our view snooty italien restaurent, there aren't any acceptable restaurents nearby. We recommend you ask at reception to have a pizza delivered. There are frequent and cheap buses for San Jose, about 30mins.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Bryon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
2.2 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
1,003 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#4 of 14 in Escazu
438 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
5.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Address: Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range: £26 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Canal Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great and very family hotel, come , enjoy the warm atmosphere at Posada Canal Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Posada Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Canal Grande Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing