We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Lovely hotel although it is quite a way from the centre of San Jose. Breakfast is very expensive and the portions are small. Best check the menu for prices prior to ordering anything including lunch. Only 1 restaurant near by so choices are limited.
Staff are really friendly, hotel is extremely clean, feels very safe and it's a lovely stay, they were happy to keep our luggage there whilst we travelled around for a week or so.
Pool is good although no shallow end.

Room Tip: All rooms we stayed in were lovely with ample space, peaceful and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haydemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
g00d2be, Front Office Manager at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
We are very glad that you had a great stay, we are located 12 kilometers from San Jose down town and closer to many of commercial areas of Santa Ana. Our menu is for the convenience and avoid going out for a meal, the are two restaurants accessible from the hotel that you can even walk (they have their schedule and they close on Monday) like always our staff will make from your stay the most enjoyable possible. We hope that your good experience encourage this enormous community if travelers to come and enjoy like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    82
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
67
126
39
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights prior to leaving Costa Rica. It is clean, quiet, safe, and we were surrounded by good people. Our nights' stay included breakfast and on our final day, we drove two hours southwest to Jaco beach and rather than take all of our luggage out with us on the trip, they let us keep it at the hotel until we returned in the evening, even though we had already checked out. Tony was a great help checking in and Elizabeth was wonderful checking out. They really care about customer service. The hotel is located in the foothills outside of Santa Ana and we got a little lost trying to find the hotel but the location is actually perfect. You would never guess you were even near a city. The only improvement I would make are the beds. They are not too comfortable; but to lounge in the chairs around the pool is ideal. If we make it back to Costa Rica, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucerotcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcoybongo, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our staff, they will always make from your stay the most enjoyable possible. We are located close to the #27 highway to the the pacific, so in more than an hour you will be on the beach(Jaco, Puntarenas, Manue Antonio National Park) we look forward to meeting you again in your next visit and hopefully your great experience is read by this enormous community if travelers and encourage them to come and enjoy like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I loved staying in this hotel. It has a beautiful view and simple pleasures that one can appreciate when they are looking for tranquilidad. Things such as: a nice and spacious room with a minimalistic approach to furnishings and decor and a great shower and an additional outdoor bed for lazing about! The hotel is set atop a hill and so has beautiful views of the terrain around it and below it- beautiful views day and night. Depending on your level of fitness and your desire for exercise, it is possible to walk down to the Main Street ( be careful if you do), but I personally would go to and fro by taxi because it's a bit of a hike and Taxi's are not expensive.

The typical Costa Rican breakfast served at the hotel is delicious and filling and is served on the veranda. The staff of the hotel were most kind and helpful.

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms look like, but i did notice the hotel has 2 floors, I was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are more than glad that you appreciated the tranquility of our place; it is always pretty quiet and relaxing environment, ideal for a relaxing and quiet stay. Our staff will always be willing to make form your stay the most enjoyable possible. We hope that you great experience encourage this enormous community of travelers to come and enjoy like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved this place. It was beautiful, calm and romantic. The view is amazing, the rooms and beds are huge, everything is clean, the staff is super friendly and nice and we never wanted to leave. Would recommend it to everyone. Especially for the price you have to pay. Book through Booking.com or expedia.com since it is way cheaper than paying straight away at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I decided to book a night at the Posada to stay with our two young daughters before embarking on a cross-country trip to explore the coasts. My friend ended up arriving the day before I did, and by the time I got there she was raving about what a great place it was and how the staff went out of their way to make their stay great.

After one night there, my daughter and I agreed with all our friends said and decided that it was our favorite hotel in Costa Rica (we've been to many hotels in CR in the past...) and we loved it for many reasons including the staff, the comfortable and large hotel rooms, the beautiful pool area and views, and the small size of the place that made it seem like the staff and other guests were all part of our family after a short time!

We went all over Costa Rica after that, but when we dropped by friend off at the airport we decided to go back to the Posada to see if they had another room available for us. Sure enough they went out of the way to phone up all of the people with reservations one by one to confirm they were coming, until they found out someone had to cancel, and then they gave the room to us (after already inviting us in to hang out and enjoy the pool area and wonderful guest areas in the lobby while we waited.)

This hotel is beautiful and quaint and exactly the right balance of relaxing and near town that we needed on our trip. We hope to stay there again very soon. (The manager Elizabeth is such a gem- my daughter and I will miss her like family! Thank you again for such a great experience.)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kcasper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great location away from the bustle of the city lovely grounds and great staff.
Rooms were spacious but dated and a little tired as far as decor goes.
Investment in some new mattresses would go a long way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We only stayed here for one night before heading to the airport, but the hotel made a great impression. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The decor in the lobby and rooms is excellent. My one complaint, which is not necessarily attributed to the hotel itself, was the level of noise from the neighbors. I'm not sure if it was a one-time event or a regular occurrence, but the neighbors had live music, karaoke, etc. until midnight, which made for a rough night's sleep before a flight. However, I wouldn't let that stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
2.2 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#5 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.3 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
9.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Address: Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Canal Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great and very family hotel, come , enjoy the warm atmosphere at Posada Canal Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posada Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Canal Grande Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing