We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at your own risk!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2007

While the price was reasonable for the room, it did not make up for the owner's lack of professionalism. We weren't given the accomodations we were promised, there was nobody at the front desk for the majority of the day, and the taxi service provided through the hotel tried to scam us into paying the equivalent of $20 for a 10 minute ride. Worst of all, when we tried to check out, the owner immediately became argumentative - using threats and personal insults to intimidate us into staying. Luckily, we were able to leave, and check into a nearby hotel!

Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
4  Thank swite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2006

The hotel itself is located in calm surroundings at the outskirts of San Jose and the rooms are OK (but not more) for an overnight stay. However, the owner (european) practises and strange kind of customer policy. For a broken piece of ordinary glass ( 80x80 cm) he charged me 80$ and threatened to call the police and hold me back agaist my will until I had paid him- in cash of course! Most unpleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susanne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nadinech2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiner U, Front Office Manager at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philippe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiner U, Front Office Manager at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Upper floor (better view, more privacy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lamlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Marie_SEPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
2.2 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
999 reviews
2.3 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
583 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
2.5 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
579 reviews
5.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Address: Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range: £18 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Canal Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great and very family hotel, come , enjoy the warm atmosphere at Posada Canal Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Posada Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Canal Grande Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing