We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tacobar Santa Ana

Tacobar Santa Ana
Ranked #8 of 107 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Get to know Tacobar, the beloved Costa Rican chain that brings the beach to the city! Try our world famous tacos made to order from the freshest ingredients, prime Costa Rican coffee, all-you-can-eat exotic salad bar, and lots of other delicious options on our ever growing menu! Our unique design invites customers to enjoy our famous bar swings and cool music in a beach like atmosphere. As Costa Ricans like to say: Estamos para servirle - We are here to serve you! Pura Vida
Nosara, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We go to the Tacobar whenever we travel to San Jose. It is very close to the Hotel Luisiana where we stay and it is on the way to access the highway to get to all the shopping areas and Hospital. The food is excellent and affordable with a good variety. It is also relatively fast service if you are in a hurry to get where you are going. It has a very pleasant atmosphere. We look forward to going there when we are in town.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    106
    33
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for smoothies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Their Huevos rancheros have slices of fresh jalapeño on them that compliment the flavor and texture. We also tried the fresh fruit platter that is served with granola and yogurt.

The protein smoothie is very filling, it's very large so enough for two people.

Cappuccino is prepared by their barista and good too.

The seating is a mix of tables with chairs and long bars with stools, but there are 2 tables that have swings for sitting that are suspended from the ceiling.

In the center of the outdoor seating area is a large tree and a trampoline for kids to play in.

Helpful?
Thank Strllradvsoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Good variety at the salad bar for add-ons. Reasonable prices for having a full meal. Good ambience: sit outside or on "swings" inside.

Helpful?
Thank Anil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go to food spot whenever in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I first tried Tacobar when we lived near Jaco and were pleasantly surprised to find one near our favorite hotel: Luisiana. This place serves breakfast, which is a huge win with me, and even runs daily discount breakfast options. The salad bar is a very inexpensive way to fill up on good food for lunch, and if you like smoothies they make a good one. And yes, they have coffee, and yes it's good. This is Costa Rica man.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank damonre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Three dollar breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Ended up getting the rancheros instead. They wet ok but nothing extraordinary. The staff are very focused on wiping down anything in sight. So at least the place looks clean

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tacobar Santa Ana also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Tacobar Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing