We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to start/end your stay, with very personal and attentive service”
Review of Vista Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vista Canyon Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Wonderful place to start/end a stay in CR.
Prior to arriving in CR we had exchanged quite a few emails with Eleazar regarding logistics, driving, car rental etc. and each mail was replied to quickly and helpfully. Eleazar met us at SJO with a very warm welcome as if we were old friends. The Inn is well located and not too far from the airport (and the city center) so we were quickly there after a long day of travelling, and welcomed with a complimentary cold beer and milk for our 3 children. It is surrounded by a high wall which feels a little fortress like initially but the seclusion is lovely, very peaceful and the view is stunning.
We arrived in the dark, so when we woke the next morning and came out of our room, it was a memorable first view of the country.
The room we stayed in was basic and a little small for our family of 5, but Eleazar went out of his way to ensure we could be accommodated in one room and be as comfortable as possible, and seeing that we were barely in the room other than to sleep, it didn’t really matter. It was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable enough.
After a freshly made breakfast including fresh coffee and a big serving of fresh fruit on the terrace which commands a great view over the canyon, our rental car company, which was organized through Eleazar, was delivered making for an easy and quick getaway on our travels. Driving is relatively stress free in CR and after leaving the Inn, we drove to Manuel Antonio in around 6 hours, but that included 3 leisurely stops (including one at a roadside fruit stand which was great). Roads are in excellent condition, driving standards good and whilst we had a SatNav, we didn’t use it. Just watch out for some turn offs that are not signed!
We returned to the Inn at the end of our trip for 2 nights and were glad we did. Again Eleazar was welcoming and went out of his way to ensure we had all we needed. After a fairly active time, our children particularly enjoyed playing with Eleazar’s kids and swimming in the pool. Again, we felt like we were with old friends.
We drove in to the city center which is recommended if you want to experience the capital – it is bustling and noisy (in comparison to the rest of the places you will stay) but we enjoyed its character, especially the Central Market where you can eat good local food at a great price. The cathedral is also nice to walk and the traffic isn’t really that bad at all.
Eating options nearby to the Inn are limited but Eleazar helped us to order some food which was delivered and fine – saving us the hassle of carting the kids around anymore.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKCrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Vista Canyon Inn on our last night in Costa Rica. We liked that it was relatively close to the airport and Eleazar was a wonderful driver (which was complimentary). The driving in San Jose is a little crazy so we were happy to give up our rental car a day early and not have to deal with it.
The Inn is very clean and comfortable. You would never know you are so close to the city. The view is spectacular and the pool/hot tub were lovely. The room was very large and the bedding nice.
We didn't meet Marsha but we loved Eleazar. He couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. He ordered carry-out food for us, had it delivered and set a beautiful table on the terrace. What a wonderful host!
My husband and myself would stay there again if ever we return to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We had the corner garden suite which had a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinmariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stay at Vista Canyon for 1 night only and I regret not booking my whole stay there while in San Jose. I really did my research on TripAdvisor for hotels, motels etc. We ended up there by pure coincidence because the first place where we had booked was that "mostly booked" so our last night in San Jose was at Vista Canyon. What an amazing place. The view is exceptional, the rooms are very spacious, fully equipped, and with A/C. Breakfast, which was included was Yummy. Marsha, the hostess is an amazing persona and she will make sure you are 101% satisfied with your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afiroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Situated close to San Jose Airport (with free shuttle on request). We stayed at the start and end of our vacation although this is so much more than a stopping off place, located overlooking a beautiful canyon. We stayed in the owners suite on our return from touring Costa Rica and it was the best room of our whole stay including some quite expensive hotels. Marsha and Eleazar are the perfect hosts who provide advice and information or just a chat in the lounge in the evening over a glass of wine. The breakfast on the terrace overlooking the canyon prepared by their attentive staff was excellent. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent although the suites are obviously roomier. The canyon view rooms and sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillandtimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our extended family group of thirteen stayed here for one night after traveling from Uvita over the mountain pass and before venturing on to La Fortuna. What can I say? The reviews are all spot on and we could not have been happier about this choice.
We did not get a GPS and did get lost coming through San Jose. (Marsha had suggested getting a GPS in our communication, but we had been before and knew we would only need it through San Jose.) I was on the phone with Dave for quite a while and he patiently worked to get us to them. Of course, I was a bit frazzled after getting our group of three vehicles lost. But, Dave met us out at the road and followed us to the inn all the while on the phone with me. He opened the gate and from that point on we were pampered. They have truly thought of everything you might want or need.
We had planned to go out for dinner, but it was nearly dusk and after a long day we all agreed we didn't want to leave their oasis. They helped us get settled and told us they would be glad to pick up dinner and bring it back for us. We told them we wanted authentic Costa Rican food and they brought back delicious Chifrijo. It was just perfect as we all sat outside under the starry sky enjoying our evening with our new found friends, Dave and Marsha. (Eleazar and his family were away visiting family and we didn't meet them) We stayed up late visiting with several of us taking turns to go get a massage from their excellent massage therapist. They were very gracious and genuinely enjoyed our 7 teenagers. They told them to make themselves at home in the office area which is stocked with DVDs and a tv and sitting area. They put our leftovers in the fridge and told the kids to help themselves if they got hungry before bed.
The kids enjoyed the pool and we loved the hot tub. They were in no hurry to send us on our way and we stayed the next morning until almost noon enjoying their company, our breakfast, and the hot tub some more. Everything was in tip top shape and clean as can be. The linens were very good quality and the beds were so comfortable.
We are so glad to have found this inn and have already recommended it to my sister and her family. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Eleazar and Marsha were terrific. We spent a wonderful evening chatting in lounge with them swapping stories. Marsha took us to the market and Eleazar helped find ATM's and helped phone our bank in Canada when we had banking problems. The location overlooking the canyon is terrific. Make sure you follow their directions and you will arrive no problem.
Hope to return soon

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were on our way back from our son's wedding on the Pacific coast in late January 2014 and we simply needed a place to stay for the night before leaving for the airport in the morning to return to the States. What we got instead was simply a completely unexpected delight!! We were referred to the Vista Canyon Inn (VCI) by another hotel in the area that was already full. We arrived after dark, very tired, and at first were not sure that the GPS in our rental car had brought us to the right place.

Just as I, as the lead driver, was wondering whether I was in the right place and considering whether I should turn around - we had two cars full of people - a large door opened and out popped Marsha and Eleazar as our hosts to welcome us. They were a very welcome sight indeed! Their graciousness and down-home hospitality began immediately. If the rooms had been simply 'adequate', with their hospitality - that would have been enough, but there was much much more. They took care of all our requests right away with complete professionalism and warmth.

But then there was the physical layout. There is a stunning view of the canyon (which we saw the next morning), a nice pool and hot-tub. The rooms are exquisite, and I don't use that term lightly. We stayed in a number of places in Costa Rica during this trip, from a nice chalet in the central valley, to a beach hotel, to a resort-area dwelling, and none of them could really compare with the quality of our rooms at the VCI. The bathrooms and showers were certainly the best ones we had used in the country on this trip. But I think what I liked best was the attention to detail. The walkways, the architecture, the use of space in creative and beautiful ways - these had all been looked after by a careful eye, always looking to improve.

The only 'negative' thing I can say (and I don't even like to use that word since this place is such a gem) is that it is best to arrive in the daytime and not at as we did at night, since, as noted earlier, in the dark we weren't sure at first that we were in the right place. But once we 'connected' with Marsha and Eleazar, it was like that old movie scene of going from a forlorn location on the outside and then entering Shangri-La!

We definitely plan to be return customers and to be part of the greater VCI 'family' of returning guests. During our various trips to Costa Rica, we have not yet had an opportunity to just spend a couple of days in San Jose to see the sights. But this is certainly the place where we will do that in the future! Very very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha W, Owner at Vista Canyon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Your family was a delight to have with us. I was thrilled when the girls said they wanted to watch the Final Batchelor on Tv that night. It was fun to have them to watch it with.

So, glad you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accommodate you last minute.
Celebrating a child's wedding is a big deal. Know it was hard to say goodbye when they left.

Please know you and your family are always welcome at Vista Canyon Inn when ever you
are in Costa Rica visiting with your family. Congratulations on your retirement. All I can say is have a great time and enjoy every minute. Hugs to you and your special family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
3.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
600 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
343 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
591 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Canyon Inn

Address: Copey Street , Santa Ana, San Jose | On Copey St. Go 60m West, Then 100m North. Vista Canyon Inn Is on Left Side, Grey Door With Logo, Santa Ana 10901, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range: £73 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport transportation available, hot water and air conditioned, english/spanish speaking staff, tour desk, free calls to US & Canada. Private and secluded location with spectacular views. Owners live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vista Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Canyon Inn Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing