We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent burger. Overly hyped. ”
Review of Porky's Bar-B-Q

Porky's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #6 of 107 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent burger. Overly hyped. ”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The burger was ok. Not sure it was worthy of some of the other reviews. It was really not all that large of a patty. Buns seemed like they may have been home made.

Potato wedges could have been cooked a little longer.

Communication a bit difficult if you don't speak Spanish.

If you are close, give it a try, but don't go out of your way just for this.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eyefly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    73
    19
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasil de Santa Ana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a Nice Surprise!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I will say right off the bat that we were pleasantly surprised with Porky's. We knew it had been in Pozos for a couple of years and decided to give it a try. It was some of the best service I have had in Costa Rica (for a bar/restaurant), the burger selection was outstanding, the restaurant was spotless and nicely decorated and the staff super friendly and helpful. The complementary chips and salsa were some of the best we have had - great recipe! Beer specials and rum specials and burgers for all of us and we were not disappointed. It is now on our list of favorite places to eat when we are in the mood for a good burger. I will try the ribs on my next trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Costaricamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Superbbb!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Top notch quality & service. Highly recommended. You won't be dissapointed! The best you can find in the Santa Ana town area ;)

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“BEST HAMBURGER SELECTION ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD"”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had so many neighbors and friends here in the Santa Ana area who bragged about the
hamburgers in this restaurant so we decided "We must go there and find out what this is
all about!" So yesterday our Driver who takes us around grocery shopping every Tuesday,
always wants us to stop to get lunch or dinner before we return home. So we decided this
would be the appropriate time to give it a try. And what a pleasant surprise! First of all, the
menu here has THREE full pages of nothing but Hamburger selections - There is absolutely
nothing you can't do with a Burger at this great eating establishment and if you decide you
will love the Burger you choose but you want to perhaps eliminate one or two of the ingredients
on that choice - No Problem. Or if you want a really deluxe Burger but just want it served
on your plate without the Bun - No Problem. Or if you want a different dressing than what that
particular recipe calls for - Again, No Problem. These people just want to please you and will
take whatever time is necessary to prepare your dish to your satisfaction. Now, if Beef
Burgers are not "your thing" - Again No Problem because they can also fix your burger
recipe with Chicken. They also have BBQ Pork Ribs, Fish Dishes, even a Pizza offering
along with a huge selection of Appetizers. Now the Fried Potatoes are a real treat.....the
best I have ever had anywhere. Flavored just right, cooked to perfection, and so filling, I
couldn't even finish the ones that came along with my burger. Now when is the last time,
(or for you it may be the first time) that you ever found Fried Ice Cream on the Dessert
List - Well they have it here!

The outdoor parking space is somewhat limited but everything else is so wonderful, that
you can definite ignore this slight inconvenience.

Oh, and I almost forgot - they have a full selection of Wines and Beers here at a lovely
well appointed bar along with a big choice of cold drinks, fruit drinks, etc.

One of the nicest things too, is the lovely gal, Oriana who waited on us yesterday. So
pleasant, so patient and so very helpful in helping us make the right selection. The prices
are right, the atmosphere is clean and attractive and it certainly is not a place you would be
ashamed to take even your "snobbiest" of house guests

Prices are very reasonable and they even have a separate kid's menu that is even more
affordable if you want to take "Nino's" along with you.

I just can't say enough positive things about Porky's and we can't wait to go back again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinglegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Excellent value for money, good setting for a quick burger. Parking not the best but will definitley go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archieavfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porky's Bar-B-Q also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Porky's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing