We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor of love”

Refugio Herpetologico de Costa Rica
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Labor of love”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

They really do a labor of love. They take injured animals and help them to be safe and more comfortable.

Many of them are strange animals but all of them have a faithful story they are trying to change.

Hope there are more places like this one in CR.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ByronCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Neat Little Refuge”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Our flight had us into San Jose much earlier than we could check into the hotel. Since we were staying in Escazu, we decided to check out this place and it was pretty cool. They have a nice little cafe as well and lots of animals to check out. The animals a rescued from people who privately owned them and were not recieving great care so it felt good to put our money towards their rehab.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank arb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
246 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“An interesting couple of hours.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Clean well maintained and easy to spend a couple of hours seeing a variety of wildlife from Costa Rica.. Most are being rehabilitated from homes of past "owners of wildlife" who were caught with illegal ownership.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank islandjerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Great work”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

If you can talk to the people here to get some of the back story about the place and the work they do. They work with rescued animals from illegal pets through to injured wild animals. the animals on display are the ones which need to stay here permanantly (such as the croc with his front feet missing). Off display they also have many animals they release... your entry money goes to good use here!

The birds (especially the tucans) are a real treat in beautiful surroundings and the grison was the first one of these i ever saw and it is a real cutey.

There is a gift shop and coffee shop. i did not try this as we had no time but the coffee smelled good! Please visit this place for a nice intro to costa rican animals

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Small but animals well treated”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is an animal refuge - not a zoo. Our tour guide was a volunteer and she seemed to care a lot about the animals and the goal of the refuge. We saw birds, snakes, monkeys, crocodiles, and turtles at the zoo. It's good for a couple of hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Refugio Herpetologico de Costa Rica also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Refugio Herpetologico de Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing