We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Los Candiles(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Studio Hotel(Santa Ana)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luisiana(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Out of Bounds Hotel(Escazu)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartotel Don Francisco(Escazu)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
155
39
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
39
6
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

A nice, recently refurnished, little hotel -peacefully located centrally in Santa Ana- in a quiet street away from the traffic. Nice and friendly staff, clean rooms with fridge and air condition, very nice garden in the backyard with a little bubble bath pool (new in 2011).
It is almost like coming home! The staff is helpful and serviceminded.
It takes only 20-25 minutes to the airport with a taxi, it is therefore a nice alternative to stay and sleep at this hotel if you plan to travel around, instead of an expensive hotel in the crowded and more noisy big town, San Jose. Bus transport is also no problem from Santa Ana to the surroundings. Staying at Casa Alegre is quite cheap, too!
I have a daughter who attends the international school, United World Colleges, nearby the hotel - and thats one of the reasons I have stayed at the hotel twice during 2011. And I have already booked a new stay at the hotel in May 2012. I am very satisfied with Casa Alegre/Posada Nena where I feel like home.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllenBod_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very nice hotel and excellent service by the agency: Gustavo and Volker who work the tour company are really outstanding. They helped organize our entire tour including trips to Tortuguero and Bananito, and we stayed at the Posada in-between and after our tour - it’s a fantastic place to relax after the tours. They even drove us to the airport! They made us feel very welcome; the garden was lovely, food delicious and a nice hot Whirlpool. Hotel offers also free internet, Wi-Fi and free calls to USA. Thanks for a lovely stay. Michael and family

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelDC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is located outside of San Jose, in a nice quiet town, so very good if you are avoiding the city, and still be close. Very good to stay if you are arriving from abroad and need a place to hang and relax the first night. Rooms are very clean. It doen't include breakfast, and I don't think it's worth it buying it there, for the price they are giving it, unless you really don't want to care of walking around a bit. So, if you like, I recommend walking to the town center park and find a small eating place.
This place used to have a nice pool. Now it has a small jacuzzi. Depending on your preferences. I preferd the bigger pool. I guess it happend when it changed administration.
Have a nice stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the back or in the secund level, they are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank costaricantraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The Casa Alegre is one of the best value for your money when visiting San Jose. Completely modern and up-to-date, it is a locally owned hotel that is comfortable and well maintained. You have wifi which helps when it comes to staying in touch or looking at and booking things to do in San Jose. I highly recommend it. Located in Santa Ana, you will discover they are in the same area as the larger chain hotels, so the location is good. The hotel could benefit from additional signage as they are hard to locate, even for taxi drivers, so walk the area and pick out landmarks because you may have to give directions to get back. Conveniently located for local transportation which I relied on heavily. ps. reading the other reviews, this a locally owned and operated hotel not a 5 star hotel, so luxury standards are unfair.

Room Tip: Room was spacious, modern and clean with Double beds; very comfortable. My room (#1) sliding window had a rattle with the wind, fixed it by tucking in a piece of paper.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed in the „Posada Nena“ at the beginning of our roundtrip for 2 nights and at the end for one more night. At the first stay we`ve got a big nice room on the first floor and for the second time we`ve got a brand new garden room with a hammock on the terrace, I think we were the first guests.

The location of the hotel is very good, it`s close to the airport and the perfect place if you plan several more day trips. You can leave your big baggage there and only take a small bag with the basic needs.

A shopping center is close by and some good and cheap restaurants/pubs are reachable by foot.

All the rooms are very clean, tasteful and well appointed. They have A/C, cable TV and fridge. The breakfast is very rich. Volker, the owner, is very mindful and has a solution for every problem. We booked our hole roundtrip with his tourist office alautentico, (www.alautentico.com) which we found in the web. From the first contact on we were impressed about his service, know how, expertise and friendliness. The prices are really fair, we would even say they are a bargain. All in all we were very excited and for sure it was not our last trip to costa rica.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews