We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice Place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Wonderful place to stay. It's small and cozy and the staff is warm and helpful. I have been here three times now and each time it is peaceful and restful. A good breakfast and hot jacuzzi comes with the deal. If you want something near the airport and not too far off the beaten path of San Jose. This is the place. Bus service is available between here and downtown San Jose. Taxis are just around the corner.

Room Tip: Rooms on patio are quieter and don't hear the office phones ring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W5KU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPosadaNena, Inhaber at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Hi W5KU,

thanks a lot for your review. I really hope we see you again in 2013 and you will love all the new little things we are making better day to day. You will love our new sun- terrace in the first floor, with a lot of tropical plants. See you soon,
happy new Year,

Volker and Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    36
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
78
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

This little gem is just about 20minutes away from downtown Santa Jose and close to the airport at the same time.
I started my Posada Nena experience more than three years ago before the new owners bought the property. The new owners have steadily made improvements and it gets better every year! Small, yes,safe, for sure,with a very nice courtyard with many plants and flowers and small hammocks for just lying around the patio waiting for the Jacuzzi to warm up. Very family oriented. Clean with very nice people to help you plan tours and such.

Room Tip: Ask for an improved room overlooking the courtyard,it's worth it! Free breakfast in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperACamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Hi Camille,

thanks a lot for your review. And yes, we are going on making new improvements to offer an even better service and more attractions to our guests.
Thanks a lot, welcome anytime at Posada Nena,
saludos Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed there with a group of 8 persons for 24hrs.
The rooms were very clean, friendly and comfortable.
The service an the atencion of the personal were realy kindly.
The food were exeptional:
We have had breakfast, lunch and dinner. Each was exellent and ritch and enough.
Some of the group enjoyed the nearby city.
For this price you don´t find a lot of hotels in this class in Costa Rica.
(I live and travel here since five years.)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilhelm v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Hi Wilhelm,

I very happy that you liked our place and hope you will come back next year. Everytime we are trying to improve our Posada, so I am sure your next visit will be another surprise.
Thanks a lot,
Saludos
Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We took a trip to Costa Rica with my daughter and son in law and three small grandchildren. This was our first stop for three nights and it felt like coming home every night. The rooms had everything we needed. Breakfast was true Costa Rican fare, and was delicious. You could order dinner if you wanted also. The staff was helpful and very accomodating. We enjoyed the smallness of the town and felt very comfortable walking around there in the evenings. We really wanted to stay somewhere that gave us the true Costa Rican experience, and I felt this place really gave us that. They don't actually have a pool, just a hot tub, but it was still refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toni07grantmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Hi Toni,

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed our Posada and the town Santa Ana. Hope we will see you back again soon,
Sunny regards
Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Everyone here was nice and accommodating to our young kids. the breakfast was great and we enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of sight seeing. The location is great...in a quiet part of Santa Ana but still in walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuchofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Hi Familia Chucho,

Thanks a lot for writing a review. I hope you and your nice kids will soon come again to be our guests. Costa Rica is a great destiny and there is so much more to see.
see you soon,

Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here (family, 2 adults one child) for 4 nights and shared a basic, but clean and comfortable room. Very friendly staff, but helps if you have a little Spanish if the owner isn't around. Showers can be temperamental as heat is solar, and water sometimes gets cut-off for short periods over the weekend, but you can't fault the hotel for that. Food as served is good, but as is the way with all of our stay in Costa Rica you can't be quite sure what to expect ! Share a beer and a chat at the bar with the owner for the cheapest beer we were offered in a bar at $2, and he evens buys some back if you have a small 'session' !

Overall, a nice reasonable place to stay...no frills, but friendly and good value

Room Tip: Get a garden room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Hi James,

Thanks for your review. Hope to see you around again. We fixed the problem with the water supply and installed 6 m³ of fresh water- tanks and an electric water pump, so now always water is guaranteed.
Thanks again for writing,

see you soon,

Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had my parents stay two nights in early April. We tried to contact the hotel several times via emails and phone calls over a period of two weeks. NOTHING. I just wanted to some info of surrounding areas, and places that my parents could possibly visit as they are somewhat frail and spoke no Spanish. (I chose this hotel mainly because it had a microwave and a small fridge in the room--which helped my parents as they have dietary restrictions and have difficulty eating out.) Very disappointing for us that a hotel can't even return emails or phone calls. I don't find that professional at all. My parents told me that the neighborhood is a bit loud--which is pretty normal in CR. Perhaps this place works for others. Not for my parents.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulDowers_11, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Hi Anna,

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry, but the same day you send your only contact via E- Mail to us (12th of March), I, personally answered within 2 hours. Maybe because of your Spam Filter you didn't get the answer on time. I hope, you will find it and see the 30 line- answer, with a lot of travel related information to Costa Rica.
And for your parents- they have been very happy in our place and made another reservation for these weeks. So I think, they felt really well in our place.
Sunny regards,

Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#5 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
2.7 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena

Property: Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Address: Av. 5, between calle 2 and 3 | del Pali de Santa Ana 100 norte y 150 oeste, Santa Ana 6510, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Nena/ Casa Alegre is a charming Boutique Hotel conveniently located just outside of San Jose, Costa Rica in the town of Santa Ana. Posada Nena offers first class accommodations at a very reasonable price. Our rooms are fully equipped with AC and ceiling fans, cable TV, fridge, Phone (free national calls and free calls to USA and Canada) hot water showers, and wireless internet service. They are comfortable and tastefully decorated in a classic style. The bathrooms are spacious and airy. A free and tasty breakfast is available all the morning, lunch and dinner are served on request. At our little, cosy bar we offer fresh tropical cocktails and ice-cold beer. Just relax in our tropical gardens with the hot water Whirlpool. We offer a lot of activities and tours, leaving directly from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing