We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We originally arranged to stay at Casa Bella Rita for our first and last nights in Costa Rica. However, we had the wonderful experience to end up staying 4 nights -- 2 at beginning and 2 at end! Our flight plans changed just a few weeks before our departure and Rita was able to accommodate us for an extra night at the beginning our our trip. Steve was waiting for us at the airport and whisked us to their truly amazing home where Rita graciously upgraded our room to the lovely Mariposa, since it was available. The next day, a Sunday, they suggested we visit the local farmers market where we experienced delightful sights and tastes. During our time there, they suggested local restaurants, arranged taxi rides, shared coffee and experiences, but more importantly they quickly felt like old friends. We left on a Monday with plans to arrive back about a week later, however again our plans changed. Toward the end of our trip we were in Tortuguero at Mawamba in a lot of rain and with too many people, so I gave Rita a call to see if she could accommodate us a day earlier than planned. Happily she could and we were on our way back to spend our last two nights in the gorgeous third floor Canopy room! It was a perfectly luxurious way to end our trip. Throughout our trip, knowing Rita and Steve made us feel like we had a connection in Costa Rica, that we could call if we needed advice or assistance. We hope to come back to explore another region of this beautiful country, and of course, stay with Steve and Rita at Casa Bella Rita once again.

Room Tip: All are lovely. Canopy Room is largest, with a sitting area, extra bed and beautiful bath. Maripos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    33
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
166
410
44
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo County, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Whether coming or going through SJO airport, do not consider staying anywhere else! Rita and Steve are fabulous hosts, and you will be put at ease from the moment you meet them. Our room was incredibly comfortable, a wonderful treat after a long week of traveling of around. The interior of the home is just stunning, every corner holds another interesting piece of artwork to admire (right down to the milk & sugar holders for your oh-so-good coffee)! The pets are just as friendly as their owners! I enjoyed having the dogs to fawn over, while Squeaks the parrot developed a little crush on my husband. Rita even took care of ordering us delivery for dinner, as my husband was not feeling well that night. The next morning's homemade breakfast was delicious in a lovely setting, and Steve got us to the airport smoothly (an included service that is very appreciated). It's like staying in your friends' gorgeous house that happens to be in paradise. But I must conclude with the view, that view from the balcony that you're seeing in all the photographs. That view was what made me book, and even after gazing at all the pictures prior to our honeymoon...you will still not be prepared for it in real life. It is simply breathtaking. I kept saying to my husband, "We're actually here, it's right in front of us!" You can hear the river rushing below, and an abundance of wild toucans were flying past in the morning. Absolutely amazing. The view is just as wonderful in person as the quality and service that you will receive at Casa Bella Rita. I would recommend staying here without hesitation...seriously, call Rita now.

Room Tip: Colibri Room was perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skullatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We selected Bella Rita strictly off of Trip Advisor reviews and boy did it pay off! They were so friendly and the rooms were very clean. Breakfast was great and they recommended great places for other meals. The cab ride was only $3-$4 to get to town and meals were very reasonably priced. This was very conveniently located and is perfect for a traveler that wants to stay for a night right near the San Jose Airport. Rita and Steve were great and made you feel right at home. We will definitely be staying with them again!

Room Tip: Pretty sure that all of the rooms here were pretty much created equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is a beautiful homey place to start your vacation. All the rooms are excellent. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. Rita is a wonderful person and she was most helpful with losts of ideas on places to stay and things to do. We would stay there again. We hope to go again next year.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room. We saw them all and stayed in two. We were very happy with the whole place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ByRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Thank you Steve and Rita, for a wonderful last night in Costa Rica! We truly enjoyed your company and hospitality and felt like we were home away from home. You certainly deserve all the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. We are looking forward to returning to CR in a few years when the kids are bigger and we will surely stay with you again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

This review is long overdue - sorry Rita and Steve. We highly recommend Casa Bella Rita as it is truly a gem. We stayed 2 nights in July and were welcomed as if we were old friends. We were in the canopy room which was very comfortable and wonderfully furnished. I loved the living area with the beautiful view of the valley as well as the patio and pool area which were so unusual and beautiful as well. Steve was ready to prepare what ever we wanted each morning for breakfast and Rita had coffee ready and waiting. They gave us a wonderful recommendation for dinner and also arranged for a driver to take us to the Toucan Rescue Ranch. This was one of the highlights of our trip. I even got to hold a baby sloth! Thanks Rita and Steve for a wonderful stay and making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: I would imagine that all of the rooms here would be excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qtpi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here for the last two nights of a ten-night trip in Costa Rica. It had been a great trip, but very on-the-go, and we were pretty travel-weary. Casa Bella Rita ended up being exactly what we needed -- a beautiful B&B with a king bed and air-conditioned room. The living room was also really nice, with a gorgeous view.

Rita and Steve were amazing hosts, going well above and beyond what I'd typically expect of folks running a B&B. Not only did they set up a tour for us, furnish us with recommendations for places in the area, etc, etc, but they also went out of their way multiple times to help us out when we ran into some logistical hurdles (entirely of our own making) at the end of our stay.

I'll concur with the rest of the reviewers here -- both the B&B and Rita and Steve make you feel like you're staying with family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
3.3 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
17.2 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
8.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
3.3 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#5 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: Brasil de Santa Ana, Santa Ana 6100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Central Valley's finest Bed & Breakfast. Casa Bella Rita is private and luxurious and within minutes of the airport, San Jose, Poas Volcano, coffee plantations, botanical gardens and other popular sites. Complimentary airport pick-up and gourmet breakfasts are included. Each room has a cable TV, AC, honor bar, safe, custom furniture, high quality mattresses and bedding and private bathroom. Perfect for your home base while touring Costa Rica, honeymoons, business travel or your first and last night's stay. Breathtaking views of the canyon, WIFI, computer station and friendly dogs on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed And Breakfast
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Hotel Santa Ana
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing