We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay Near San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here on the way into and out of Costa Rica, and were extremely pleased with our experience. Steve and Rita were very friendly and helped set us up with cab rides and hearty breakfasts; Steve even picked us up himself from the shuttle dropoff. The grounds are beautiful with a great view out the back and the two rooms we stayed in (Heliconia and Mariposa) were quite comfortable. Unfortunately due to our schedules we didn't get to stay long either time, but we definitely left wishing we could have stayed.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank TCB_Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

If you want a relaxing and beautiful spot to stay on your first night in Costa Rica, stay here! We spent our first night after arriving (as tired travellers!) at the San Jose airport. From the super easy and friendly pick-up at the airport by Steve, to chilling out in the hammocks with a cold cerveza upon arrival overlooking the epic gorge, to the beautiful and unique Mariposa room (an upgrade!!)..to the tasty take-out delivered right to the house...to the perfect breakfast and coffee in the morning on the patio - we couldn't ask for a better welcome to Costa Rica!! Thanks Rita and Steve!! And, also for your super helpful suggestions in Manuel Antonio - we loved Cafe Milagro and Agua Azul, and brought tons of Cafe Milagro coffee home for ourselves and friends!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mairea8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We originally arranged to stay at Casa Bella Rita for our first and last nights in Costa Rica. However, we had the wonderful experience to end up staying 4 nights -- 2 at beginning and 2 at end! Our flight plans changed just a few weeks before our departure and Rita was able to accommodate us for an extra night at the beginning our our trip. Steve was waiting for us at the airport and whisked us to their truly amazing home where Rita graciously upgraded our room to the lovely Mariposa, since it was available. The next day, a Sunday, they suggested we visit the local farmers market where we experienced delightful sights and tastes. During our time there, they suggested local restaurants, arranged taxi rides, shared coffee and experiences, but more importantly they quickly felt like old friends. We left on a Monday with plans to arrive back about a week later, however again our plans changed. Toward the end of our trip we were in Tortuguero at Mawamba in a lot of rain and with too many people, so I gave Rita a call to see if she could accommodate us a day earlier than planned. Happily she could and we were on our way back to spend our last two nights in the gorgeous third floor Canopy room! It was a perfectly luxurious way to end our trip. Throughout our trip, knowing Rita and Steve made us feel like we had a connection in Costa Rica, that we could call if we needed advice or assistance. We hope to come back to explore another region of this beautiful country, and of course, stay with Steve and Rita at Casa Bella Rita once again.

Room Tip: All are lovely. Canopy Room is largest, with a sitting area, extra bed and beautiful bath. Maripos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Whether coming or going through SJO airport, do not consider staying anywhere else! Rita and Steve are fabulous hosts, and you will be put at ease from the moment you meet them. Our room was incredibly comfortable, a wonderful treat after a long week of traveling of around. The interior of the home is just stunning, every corner holds another interesting piece of artwork to admire (right down to the milk & sugar holders for your oh-so-good coffee)! The pets are just as friendly as their owners! I enjoyed having the dogs to fawn over, while Squeaks the parrot developed a little crush on my husband. Rita even took care of ordering us delivery for dinner, as my husband was not feeling well that night. The next morning's homemade breakfast was delicious in a lovely setting, and Steve got us to the airport smoothly (an included service that is very appreciated). It's like staying in your friends' gorgeous house that happens to be in paradise. But I must conclude with the view, that view from the balcony that you're seeing in all the photographs. That view was what made me book, and even after gazing at all the pictures prior to our honeymoon...you will still not be prepared for it in real life. It is simply breathtaking. I kept saying to my husband, "We're actually here, it's right in front of us!" You can hear the river rushing below, and an abundance of wild toucans were flying past in the morning. Absolutely amazing. The view is just as wonderful in person as the quality and service that you will receive at Casa Bella Rita. I would recommend staying here without hesitation...seriously, call Rita now.

Room Tip: Colibri Room was perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skullatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We selected Bella Rita strictly off of Trip Advisor reviews and boy did it pay off! They were so friendly and the rooms were very clean. Breakfast was great and they recommended great places for other meals. The cab ride was only $3-$4 to get to town and meals were very reasonably priced. This was very conveniently located and is perfect for a traveler that wants to stay for a night right near the San Jose Airport. Rita and Steve were great and made you feel right at home. We will definitely be staying with them again!

Room Tip: Pretty sure that all of the rooms here were pretty much created equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is a beautiful homey place to start your vacation. All the rooms are excellent. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. Rita is a wonderful person and she was most helpful with losts of ideas on places to stay and things to do. We would stay there again. We hope to go again next year.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room. We saw them all and stayed in two. We were very happy with the whole place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ByRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Thank you Steve and Rita, for a wonderful last night in Costa Rica! We truly enjoyed your company and hospitality and felt like we were home away from home. You certainly deserve all the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. We are looking forward to returning to CR in a few years when the kids are bigger and we will surely stay with you again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernard0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
3.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
120 reviews
6.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,483 reviews
3.3 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
343 reviews
0 mi away
Vista Canyon Inn
Vista Canyon Inn
#2 of 5 in Santa Ana
150 reviews
11.7 mi away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: Brasil de Santa Ana, Santa Ana 6100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range: £54 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Central Valley's finest Bed & Breakfast. Casa Bella Rita is private and luxurious and within minutes of the airport, San Jose, Poas Volcano, coffee plantations, botanical gardens and other popular sites. Complimentary airport pick-up and gourmet breakfasts are included. Each room has a cable TV, AC, honor bar, safe, custom furniture, high quality mattresses and bedding and private bathroom. Perfect for your home base while touring Costa Rica, honeymoons, business travel or your first and last night's stay. Breathtaking views of the canyon, WIFI, computer station and friendly dogs on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Hotel Santa Ana
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed And Breakfast
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing