We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE balcony spa, the snow capped mountains and the buffet 5*”
Review of Nisshinkan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nisshinkan
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“THE balcony spa, the snow capped mountains and the buffet 5*”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

WOW what a great place to be - serene, hot natural spas - you soon forget your nakedness (although women and men are separate) - I cannot describe the beauty of the environment, the journey there, the room, view, food - quite remarkable!

Room Tip: We were upgraded as there was a TV crew, filming the venue1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyholidays444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    148
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
139
70
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We took the Yen22,000 package deal which included the return bus ride from Shinjuku n meals. The ryokan is at an altitude of 1,800m with great views of the surrounding snow capped mountains n ski slopes. The room was large, clean with attached toilet. There are 3 Onsen locations, each with rotenburos, and total of 8 baths for each gender. Water quality is very good, milky white from the sulphur and hot. Dinner was buffet style with very good selection of food including pretty good roast beef, karaage, tempura and good choice of desert.
We took a walk along the trails but had to turn back as the upper sections were still snow bound.
This package deal was very good value compared the similar priced one we took earlier to an Edo period historic but derelict ryokan in Shima which served bento box meals.
This ryokan is worthy of a revisit in autumn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Second trip to this wonderful hotel. This time was a group of us going there for our Yoga & Dance Retreat. We stayed for two nights. The staff were very helpful and provided us with a room for our yoga and dance lessons. Peaceful and quiet, just the place for our retreat.
Fantastic hot spring bath after our yoga lessons with plenty of onsen pools.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singaporean_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed in a twin room with tatami area for 1 night on 9 March. The view from this room is fabulous!

The hotel has 9 hot spring baths. Being shy, we booked the private onsen bath for an hour and it was cool. The water was slightly murky, with a strong smell of sulphur. A dip in this bath relaxed and soothed our tired muscles. Do book as soon as you can, since all the good time slots are quickly taken up. We only had the choice of a last slot of 7pm for our 1 night stay there.

The staff were friendly, and even though not many could speak English, all tried their best to help us whenever we had a query.

The room is clean and large. The only gripe is the size of the television set in the room. It is small and you can't really lie on the bed and watch clearly. Sitting at the tatami area would be good but after sitting there for a while, everything from waist downwards tends to get numb.

Breakfast and dinner were buffet style and included in the price. The variety of the food is great and the food is delicious. For lunch, if you wish to eat, you pay at the check-in counter and you will get a food ticket which you pass to the restaurant staff as you enter. When we were there, japanese curry, stewed beef slices, fresh salad and miso soup were on the lunch menu. Lunch is similarly a buffet style and you can re-fill as much as you like. For 1000 yen per person, that is a good bargain.


Since our room was located near to the large open air bath (万天の汤), during the day and in the evening, you could hear people walking along the corridor outside on their way to the bath. Inside the room, sometimes we could hear some gas sounds and clicking sounds. No idea what caused the noises but it is not really apparent until you turn off the TV and turn in for the night.

The hotel offers a paid shuttle bus service (3000 yen per person) which stops near to Tokyo Shinjuku station. This is convenient, though the trip takes around 4 hours with 2 stops at rest areas. The difficult part is the timing of the shuttle bus. It departs from the hotel at 3pm. Check out is at 10am. So between 10am - 3pm, you'll have to find something to occupy your time. Go skiiing or sledding or to the onsen. If not, you have an option to extend your check-out time (subject to room availability), payable at 2100 yen per hour of extension. We were told there is a general room for everyone to sit in at level 2 but we didn't go there. We just extended for 2 hours, then had a leisurely lunch and spent our remaining time waiting at the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel has 4 indoor hot springs and 2 outdoor hot springs. Private hot spring is also available. All the hot springs in this hotel are large and very spacious.
The room we stayed was spacious and has very good view of the mountains. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel also provides performances and a lucky draw every night.
The hotel provides transport which is less than 10 minutes to the ski resort and it takes only about 15 minutes by walk.

Room Tip: Rooms near the entrance of the main building provide easy access to various hot springs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimplyDelici0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsumagoi-mura hotels
Manza Onsen
Manza Kogen Hotel
Manza Kogen Hotel
#2 of 27 in Tsumagoi-mura
138 reviews
Manza Onsen
Manza Prince Hotel
Manza Prince Hotel
#3 of 27 in Tsumagoi-mura
291 reviews
Manza Onsen
Manza Hotel Juraku
Manza Hotel Juraku
#4 of 27 in Tsumagoi-mura
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manza Onsen
Manzatei
Manzatei
#8 of 27 in Tsumagoi-mura
87 reviews
Tsumagoi Prince Hotel
#15 of 27 in Tsumagoi-mura
49 reviews
Hotel Karuizawa 1130
#5 of 27 in Tsumagoi-mura
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisshinkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisshinkan

Property: Nisshinkan
Address: 2401 Hoshimata Manza-onsen, Agatsuma-gun, Tsumagoi-mura 377-1528, Gunma Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Gunma Prefecture > Agatsuma-gun > Tsumagoi-mura > Manza Onsen
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tsumagoi-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Booking.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN and Ctrip TA so you can book your Nisshinkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisshinkan Japan/Tsumagoi-Mura, Gunma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing