We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sky-high” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pilatus-Kulm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kriens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pilatus-Kulm
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kriens
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sky-high”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed overnight in the suite. The inceredible view by day, is topped by the view at night. All rooms have awesome view in the morning, very tidy, newly renovated. Wwith a bit luck spot wildlife in the dawn. The dinner was very good, apero included. Enjoy the full beauty of this place after all the tourist left!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillor1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beat F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pilatus-Kulm, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Chillor1291

I thank you very much, for your kind feedback. The changing of the daylights and weather situations is always a spectacular sight on top of a mountain. We are happy if you could enjoy your stay at our historic mountain hotel.

We wish you a nice summer and we will be happy to welcome you back on mount Pilatus very soon!

Best regards

Beat Füglistaller
Leiter Hotels & Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    82
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
150
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

What a pleasent surprise to find such a nice, well managed Hotel on 2100 meters above sea level. The Hotel has been beautifully renovated, wooden floors and nice, practial furniture. We love good mattresses, duvets and nice crisp Linnen and we were fully satisfied with their offering.
Dinner is served in the beautiful dining room, which matches modern comfort with the ancient style. From our window seat we could watch the changeing colours on the mountains, it was spectacular. Our waitress was very professional, attentive and always with a smile, the pacing of the service was absolutely perfect. Food was very good, we had ordered lactose free and vegetarian, the chef created a very nice special menu for us. Beat Füglistaller, the GM is surely one of the best hosts I have seen in quite a while. Always around his guests, making sure all services work flawless and each and every guest is well taken care off. Unfortunately most Hotel Managers spend their time in the Office and are rarely in contact with the guests. Well done for the entire team on the Pilatus, we will come back

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beat F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pilatus-Kulm, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear FrankandChristine

Wow! What a nice and positive feedback regarding your stay at our historic Pilatus-Kulm hotel. To be good hosts is the goal of the entire Pilatus team and it makes me happy every day we reached this point. I will happily share your feedback with my team in order to show them, what positive reaction we get with our work and as a motivation to continue our way.

I thank you very much for the time you took in order to write us. We are looking forward to welcome you again on top of mount Pilatus.

We wish you a pleasant summer and send you the best regards.

Beat Füglistaller
GM Hotels & Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great views; lovely staff very helpful;big kids play ground half way down Mt makes it the best of relaxation at the top and thrills just a short ride away; clean nice room; would go back tomorrow! I booked on a tour trip so I dont know the indivual price of this stay but what I paid for two days in the Mt I am very happy with the experiance I got. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beat F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pilatus-Kulm, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Hayley131

The entire team of mount Pilatus thanks you for your friendly feedback. We hope you had a good stay in Switzerland and save journey back home!

Since a few weeks we have a new booking engine on our homepage so booking a room directly is even easier as before!

We are looking forward to welcome you back at 7000 feet above sea level. Meanwhile we wish you a wonderful summer!

Kind regards

Beat Füglistaller
GM Hotels & Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here last weekend for one night as part of a weekend trip to lucerne. We arrived by boat and then funicular railway which were both really fun and enjoyable. Our room was beautifully furnished with all windows enjoying the breathtaking view. We were invited for a pre dinner welcome drink which was a nice touch and the four course meal was really good, the pork fillet melted in your mouth. We mentioned to the Manager that we were going to get up to see the sunrise and he was very helpful telling us the best spot for taking pictures. Breakfast was continental and there was plenty. The views from this hotel are spectacular. We ended the weekend by going back down on the cable car and gondola.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beat F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pilatus-Kulm, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear tinker0

I thank you very much for our very kind feedback regarding our stay at our historic mountain hotel. The entire team at Pilatus is working daily in order to organise a nice experience for all our guests. A special thank for our nice comment on our four course menu we serve every evening to our hotel guest!

We are looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Switzerland! Meanwhile we wish you a warm and nice summer!

Best regards

Beat Füglistaller
GM Hotels & Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent 1 night at the Pilatus-Kulm, the view was excellent and on Sunday morning we event had a alp horn concert. The hotel is great with an amazing view. We got up early to see the sunrise over the Lake Lucerne. Just be careful when you want to get back to Alpnachstad in the afternoon. We had to wait over 45 minutes as it was very crowded. I definitely recommend staying there for a night. The view is breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissgirl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beat F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pilatus-Kulm, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Swissgirl

We are happy to read that we reached our goal in organising you a pleasant stay at mount Pilatus! It’s always a nice motivation when we receive so good feedback like yours!
We hope your stay at our historic mountain hotel will not be the last one! We are looking forward to welcome you back the next time.
Meanwhile we wish you a nice summer (despite of the actual weather… ;-) and send you the warmest greetings from 7000 feet above sea level.

Beat Füglistaller
GM Hotels & Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stopped in at Hotel Pilatus Kulm in April and must say this hotel has the best location ever. Service is fabulous and everyone went out of their way to help, even when it wasn't a typical request. Food was great, nice presentation and reasonable value considering the place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beat F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pilatus-Kulm, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Mal D

I thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback on your stay at our historic mountain hotel. Most of all I am happy to read, that we managed to make your stay a memorable one!

The team on mount Pilatus is looking forward to welcome you on another occasion at 7000 feet above Lake Lucerne. We wish you a sunny springtime and send you our best wishes from the very heart of Switzerland.

Kind regards

Beat Füglistaller
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed there for one night in the end of March. We purchased a package which includes cable car, room, breakfast and 4-course dinner.

The room we had is a corner room so we has a nice view from the room's window as well as the bathroom. Although the hotel was built during 19 century, it was recently renovated. So the room is very nice and clean.

4-course dinner wasn't so pleasant. We had to wait for quite some time between each course. Dinner started at 7pm, by 8.30 main course was just served. I was so tired due to jet lag that I had to skip dessert. The taste of food was ok....not too bad and not very good neither.

On the other hand, breakfast was fantastic with various choices of bread, all kind of yogurt and musli, cold cut, salmon and omelette.

Don't miss the sunrise!

Room Tip: A corner room to get a view from your bathroom! We had the room 301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oh-no-tabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beat F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pilatus-Kulm, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear oh-no-tabi

I thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay this spring! I am sorry, that we could not give you entire satisfaction regarding the dinner. This month we started a new evening menu, where our guests have the possibility to choose from two different main courses. To serve a 4 course menu takes some time and our guests normally enjoy a relaxed evening. But of course we can serve the dishes faster, when we know that our guests want to go to bed earlier.
Nevertheless we will take care of your feedback in order to assure that such a situation is not going to happen again.

To be welcoming hosts, that is the goal of the entire team on Mount Pilatus. We are more than happy when we fulfilled your expectations. We would be happy if you give us a second chance to welcome you again at 2132 meters above sea level!

Friendly regards from top of Mount Pilatus

Beat Füglistaller
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kriens
2.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#8 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.7 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pilatus-Kulm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pilatus-Kulm

Property: Hotel Pilatus-Kulm
Address: Schlossweg 1 | Kriens/Luzern, Kriens, Lucerne 6010, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne > Kriens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kriens
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pilatus-Kulm 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The successful conclusion of the complete refurbishment in August 2010 marked the beginning of another chapter in the vibrant history of the historic Pilatus-Kulm Mountain Hotel. The heritage-protected Hotel Pilatus-Kulm once again stands for the uniqueness that characterised it when it first opened in 1890. The generous hotel rooms and suites herald the dawn of a new era at Hotel Pilatus-Kulm with its distinguished tradition. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Pilatus-Kulm Kriens, Canton Of Lucerne, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing