We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Full-Day Preah Vihear, Koh Ker and Beng Mealea Private Tour
9

Book in advance
from
£155.90
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Koh Ker Temple
from £155.90
More Info
from £61.55
More Info
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
261
94
7
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
261
94
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews koh ker siem reap wooden steps central america pyramid shape long drive pyramids linga temple visitors stairs structure condition countryside distance sr
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We combined Preah Vihear, Koh Ker and Beng Mealea temples in a two day trip from Phonm Penh to Siem Reap. We rented a big car that fitted our big family of 6 for 110 usd per day (pay for own gas). It is so relaxing to visit temples where no other visitors travel. We slept close to Preah Vihear. Roads are fabulous everywhere now. No need for a guide in Koh Ker except maybe for Preah Vihear. You can climb Koh Ker pyramid temple via a newly built wooden staircase at the back. Fantastic experience and great views.

Date of experience: July 2014
5  Thank 800lievenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a complex of temple ruins about an hour's drive from Siem Reap. One you arrive in the vicinity, with good organisation, you could joy a few hours' hike to different locations to savor the atmosphere, soak in a thousand years of history, and even give your legs a good workout by climbing o the top of the pyramid temple.

In one of the temples, a film set of village huts was still standing and this spoilt the scenery a bit.

You would need to hire a car for just over $100, including petrol and driver, to see all the temples. Heng was a professional guide and he showed me the best pots to take photos from.

I recommend this visit if you have a second destination to choose, after a day at Angkor Wat, Ta Prom and Bayon. Make it t least three days in Siem Reap.

Date of experience: July 2014
3  Thank Bornean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We took a taxi out to Koh Ker and Beng Mealea for $100, which I think was about $10 too much. It took right at about 2 hours to arrive. The temple was pretty cool - a way different style than the ones near Siem Reap. While at Koh Ker was stopped at Prasat Pram, which is the first one on the left as you enter the complex. It was really cool - as roots were overtaking the building. If you go during rainy season, the path around Koh Ker might be water covered. We were wearing sandals, so no big deal. It was a good drive through the rural countryside as well.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It is worth the climb on the pyramid temple. New wooden steps make it easier to climb the 35 meters pyramid. The view of surrounding forest is good from the top.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank abkale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Koh Ker is about 80 miles NE from Siem Reap and it was briefly the capital of the Khmer Empire. It is not a single temple but former city with a group of temples scattered over a wide area (qv Grand Circuit, Siem Reap). It can take most of a day to look at all the accessible temples. Trying to combine Koh Ker with Preah Vihear is like trying to combine Musee d'Orsay with the Louvre in a day. Even combining it with Beng Melea is not recommended unless you are thinking about a visit to 2-3 temples only.

Prasat Thom is the best known temple with Prang, the magnificent stepped pyramid. The main car park is near and there is a ring road around Rahal, the huge baray. Going clockwise, there is a group of temples with the largest lingams remaining. Take care as the names of the temple known to the locals, sign posted on the road and on maps are not consistent.

Prasat Banteay Pichean Prasat Chrap, and Prasat Damrei are definitely worth a closer look. All are in bad condition but there are still some interesting carvings. Also these temples being brick, have a different atmosphere to stone ruins.

Prasat Pram, the last temple before leaving Koh Ker, is also worth a stop. As the name suggests, it is a goup of 5 towers with 2 towers covered in roots.

There are some facilities at the main car park, but nothing elsewhere. You should make sure that you have enough water, etc before starting for the satellite temples.

Date of experience: May 2014
3  Thank E150A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews