We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tairoa Lodge & Cottage
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Opunake Motel(Taranaki Region)
View Hotel
White Eagle Motel(Taranaki Region)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
One Burgess Hill(New Plymouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
59
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightfamily friendsfelt like royaltygetting readylindaweddingaccommodationgatehouseluxuryverandacelebrationhospitalityvenueretreatsetting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We only chose Tairoa because it was one of few places still available within driving distance of New Plymouth during the 2011 RWC. We had tickets to the USA vs. Russia match, so we had hoped to find something a bit closer to Stadium Taranaki.

While the drive from Hawera to New Plymouth was not convenient to our purposes at the time, the selection of Tairoa turned out to be a very good thing. The lodge itself was charming, and the secluded grounds seemed perfect for a relaxing afternoon stroll.

Linda was an excellent hostess, and provided for all our needs, including a quick afternoon tea on the day we arrived. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and very well presented.

Tairoa is better suited for a romantic getaway than a rugby road trip, but it worked for us. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who’s looking for a peaceful weekend escape in a quaint country setting.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summersjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Such a gorgeous place, and Linda is a fantastic hostess and amazing cook. We were lucky enough to get a decent snowfall during our stay which made it pretty magical.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed for our Anniversary, quiet, relaxing, clean & classy, excellent provisions & the food was beautiful.
Thankyou Linda :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliJ43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Built in 1875, this is an old house lovingly restored to a very high standard inside and out. It is just off HIghway 3 at Hawera.
We were greeted by the owner, Linda with coffee and homemade cakes.
There is a formal dining room and lounge downstairs with 3 large guest bedrooms upstairs. There is an outdoor swimming pool which had just been filled prior to our arrival. The grounds are mostly lawn with flower and shrub beds. The property is shielded from the main road by high trees. There is some minor road noise. Also in the grounds are some cottages.
I can't emphasis enough the high standard of this Lodge and I am not a lover of such places.
Tea & coffee making facilities were available on the landing outside the bedrooms.
The owner and family live in the house, they were really fantastic as were the Staff who appeared in the morning with the super buffet breakfast which was available.
It would be, I guess about a 20 minute walk into the town centre where there are a number of restaurants available.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TairoaLodge, Owner at Tairoa Lodge & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews