We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing retreat to see spectacular scenery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killarney Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killarney
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing retreat to see spectacular scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Killarney mountain lodge is situated in one of the most scenic areas of Ontario. If you want to see dramatic rock scenes (pink granite slabs with slivers of black ) this is the place to go. One can kayak, canoe , boat tour, fish, swim in clean lakes or the lodge pool or hike the numerous trails that lead to stunning vistas. Plenty of outdoor activities here.

The lodge itself is very simple...not for those who want luxury. The internet connection is sketchy at best and there are no t.v.s or A/C ( don't worry for the evenings are cool). The beds are comfortable but the washrooms are in dire need of upgrading. There is a bar for those who want to be entertained in the evenings.

Nevertheless, Killarney mountain lodge is a great place to unwind and get away from the speedy modern world and enter the spiritual realm of nature . This is the 5th time I've been here and I always leave feeling so relaxed. The food was very good this year, the best ever so I hope they can hang on to this new chef.

Room Tip: The cabins are the most private and there is a small airport nearby for those who don't want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaygirl059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    72
    30
    13
    12
See reviews for
53
83
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
421 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here after a week canoeing with the great guides of Beautiful North through a series of lakes in Killarney Park. Despite my week's growth of straggly facial hair and back country clothing and soiled looks, they welcomed us.
The rooms are sweet and charming , as my wife said -- a long shot from 5 star luxury, but then who needs or want that up here? Authentic wood floors, old furniture and ample windows to let the view in and walls showing great local art are just right.
The meals are excellent and staff are friendly and helpful; who cares if they lack a bit in polish--this is what back country integrity and charm are all about.
I would make two constructive suggestions. One, the landscaping should better portray the real landscape and plants of the area, which are beautiful in their own rugged and northern way.
Two, the food could better reflect the local area's traditions and resources.
I couldn't help but notice that the provincial government paid for installation of solar panels used to heat the pool. Why can't the government do the same for energy savings of more local and less processed food, instead of Kraft packages of jam and packaged creamers for coffee? How about some local jams on the table, and then sell them in the craft shop? How about more local meat besides fish (not to knock the pickerel, which was fantastic).
As I argue in my e-book, Food for City Building, food is where the local jobs can be created, and where the identity of a place can be enriched beyond pure geography. I'd love to see that notion developed here as a model for all tourism in northern Ontario.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne300944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from a fantastic 4 days at this inn. The rooms are very basic but clean and comfortable. Our kingsize bed mattress and linens were of good quality and the washroom is very small but clean. The meals were good, the staff was friendly and gave good advice on hiking trails etc. (they will pack you a box lunch for hiking and other day trips). There are no TVs or radios but despite this we were never bored. It really is nice to get away from it all. At night they had a talented/fun singer in their bar, the pool was spotless, there is games room and there is a lot to do in the surrounding area (hikes, kayaking, boat excursions, etc). After dinner each night we would walk into town. I brought a book to read but never touched it. The grounds of this lodge are beautiful with lovely gardens.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 171, great cabin for a couple. Fantastic water view from your bed. Great waterf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Wonderfull located at the end of a 70 km drive through a nature reserve, Killarney is a small village. The hotel consists of a central building with deining room, and a series of lodges. Service is excellent, and so are the meals.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Lodge has been here for years ... and it has been designed and built to fit into the unique features that make Georgian Bay so special. The rooms/cabins are dated ..., but this only adds to your experience here in Killarney. The rooms are clean , the grounds well groomed , the food , service and staff are top notch !!!! This is a great place to to either start / end or day trip from .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

First off, Killarney is beautiful during the fall, that includes both the Village of Killarney and nearby Killarney provincial park.
Killarney Mountain Lodge was a good place to stay after at 9 day back country camping trip.

We stayed in a cabin, which was joined with other cabins by a causeway, but no adjoining walls. The interior of the main room was well-appointed, well maintained and quite nice. The only thing lacking was the bathroom, which was functional, but outdated circa 1981.

The layout of the facility was fantastic and very well maintained. The food was between good and ultra good, but as mentioned before we had come off a backcountry trip of 9 days of dehydrated food, so our first real meal felt extraordinarily scrumptious. All in all the food was good.

The service here was great, staff were really friendly and went out of their way to accommodate you. Our only problem with service was the tipping policy, which basically stated the management would prefer we tip each server directly. I understand the logistical reasons behind this for the management, they don't have to be involved in divying up tips, but I don't agree with it... Primarily because the people who clean the rooms, do the laundry, sweep the floors and stock the shelfs are all service people as well and we don't come into contact with them. These non-customer facing persons support the customer facing staff and inturn make the customer facing staff look good and perform better, so I don't think it is quite equitable or fair to tip out individually, plus that means I have to carry around small bills and distribute accordingly throughout my stay. That said, each invoice has a section to tip a specific server, and one may put a tip on the bill at the end of their stay either for "all" or to be allocated specifically.

The price of this resort was pretty high, and only in the context of the trail we did prior to our stay did we consider the price "worth it". I also think, considering the nightly price, the tipping policy should be even more equitable.

All the negative aside, I have to say again, this resort was fantastic, the service was great and looking at the 2 or 3 other places to stay in Killarney Village, Killarney Mountain Lodge is hands down above and beyond the rest.

Hi highly recommend spending a couple nights here.

Note that there is no fitness centre, at least in a conventional sense, but there is an outdoor pool, sauna, ping pong table, pool table, canoes, kayaks and the great outdoors. I don't really thing there is room service as there are no phones in the rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms are lovely apart from the bathroom fixtures, and more than comfortable enough to spend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

For our second visit in the beautiflu Killarney parc we decided to stay in Killarney for the night instead of staying in a hotel in Sudbury, ~1h30 drive away.

We found this place online and it looked pricey but nice and decided to give it a try.

Pros:
- Very nice location
- Breakfast is great

Cons:
- Rooms are less than average, bathrooms are very low standard (badly painted, broken mirror, spider on the wall, ...).
- Never saw a place charging by guest instead of by room.
- When we arrived we told the receptionist that we were planning to eat in Killarney and not in the hotel's restaurant(we ate at sportmann's inn pub last year and it was great), he told us it was better as the hotel's restaurant was full since 2:00pm. But we soon discovered that everything was closed downtown. He could have told us first instead of having us worrying about finding a place to eat (as the closest not in killarney involved a 3hours round trip drive). We finally ae at the hotel's restaurant.

As a conclusion I would say that at half the price it would have been a great stay. But for the experience we had, it was way overpriced.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killarney
19.8 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
21.4 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
21.5 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
23.4 mi away
Pinewood Motor Inn
Pinewood Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Espanola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Mountain Lodge

Property: Killarney Mountain Lodge
Address: 3 Commissioner St, Killarney, Ontario P0M 2A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Killarney Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to an era of grace and simplicity..... Killarney Mountain Lodge is a casual resort nestled on the north shore of Georgian Bay. Family owned and operated for over 50 years, the lodge is famous for friendly ambience, a distinctive cuisine and a unique outdoor adventure programme. This comfortable oasis features a charming dining room; nostalgic cocktail lounge with live entertainment during July and August; heated swimming pool, sauna and tennis court. The red granite shores of the Bay and white quartzite hills and sparkling lakes of Killarney Provincial Park beckon the explorer. There are Unlimited opportunities for daily expeditions by canoe, kayak, sail and trail in Ontario's most spectacular scenic wilderness. Killarney Provincial Park has always been considered the Crown Jewel of Ontario Parks. It abounds with wildlife large and small, from squirrels and chipmunks to deer, moose, elk and black bear. As a wilderness park, all forms of resource extraction, motorized equipment and hunting are prohibited. Visitors to the park are therefore assured of peace and tranquility. When exploring the intriguing channels and mysterious islands of Georgian Bay by kayak or aboard the lodge's excursion vessels, stunning vistas are at every hand. Sightings of waterfowl, deer, moose and bear are common. During a restful sojourn at the lodge guests can enjoy a quiet poolside read or a relaxing dip in the solar heated swimming pool. When action is the order of the day local wilderness trails start right at the lodge doorstep. They offer easy access to the outback in just a few short steps. Birdwatchers will find a wide variety of birds on both the lodge property itself and along these nearby trails. A few years ago a highly respected, elderly birder sighted 76 varieties during the course of a spring weekend. Killarney has always been a focal point for anglers. The lodge motto is "big waters mean big fish". We have all the equipment and facilities for a successful fishing trip including guides, boats both large and small and rental tackle. Giant northern pike and muskellunge are favourites for anyone seeking these voracious predators. Northern Georgian Bay's least known rod and reel resource is the unbelievable abundance of small and largemouth bass. These fighting fish lurk in the deep, near-shore pools. Commonly they run to four and five pounds. In recent years down rigging for salmon and trout has become a major activity in the Killarney area and Killarney Mountain Lodge has vessels dedicated to this deepwater style of fishing. Just 4.5 Hours from Toronto via Highways 400, 69 and 637, the lodge is easily accessible. If you take this route to Killarney, a circle tour is available to return to southern Ontario via Manitoulin Island, across the Fitzwilliam Channel to Georgian Bay aboard the Chi-Cheemaun ferry, Tobermory and on to the Bruce Peninsula. This provides a rare opportunity to enjoy some of Ontario's less visited backcountry as well as an exciting trip across the wide expanse of Lake Huron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Killarney Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Mountain Hotel Killarney
Killarney Mountain Lodge Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing