We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house, awful catering”
Review of Bryn Tanat Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Tanat Hall
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went to Bryn Tanat as a large family of 21 - 10 adults and 11 kids. Accommodation was very good with lots of space and comfortable enough. That said, food charges each evening were extortionate and meals were abysmal. Nothing fresh, all frozen and overcooked. Worst food I've eaten and a real shame - and to add to that, service was terrible at mealtimes!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank nick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We are very pleased to know that you think Bryn Tanat Hall is a great house, however, we are very disappointed to know that you did not enjoy the catering.

In our attempt to fulfil your exacting requirements for all the ingredients in each course for each meal our chef adapted our menus for you. We take on board your comments and in future we will not adapt our menus in this way to the detriment of the dishes served.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We all thoroughly enjoyed our 5 days at Bryn Tanat. We had chosen it largely because of all the indoor facilities available. In the event the weather for early March was superb. Sitting outside for breakfast and all Sunday morning was not something we anticipated! We made frequent use of the excellent hot tub. Several people played tennis and we played snooker into the early hours on 3 days !
In summary, Bryn Tanat offers top hotel style quality in a self-catering accommodation. The “extra” facilities, especially the hot tub, are superb. Towelling robes are a brilliant provision. Also relevant, if everyone does not initially know each other, is that the amount of space & number of reception rooms is very large. Even with 24 people there, it is never crowded. The 14 seating dining room, the snooker room and its adjacent sitting room, plus the gardens, all provided exactly the “Downton Abbey” feel we were looking for for our event.

However nothing is perfect, so it would only be fair to point out:
1. Our guests were genuinely shocked to find hardly any en-suite rooms available. Everyone now just assumes en-suite in even the most basic hotels, B&Bs etc.
2. The owners, whilst immediately on hand to help with anything needed, form a noticeable presence across the car park. Plus they have constantly coming and going friends and family. Probably they try to remain discrete but nevertheless Bryn Tanat does NOT offer the degree of privacy we had hoped for.
3. The kitchen, whilst luxuriously appointed, is badly laid out for mass catering.
4. The large function room has zero character whilst having the acoustics of a public swimming pool and would probably benefit from some soft furnishings and additional décor to absorb the sound and add ambiance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Bryn Tanat Hall and thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased to have a very detailed website with extensive interactive floor plans and happily accommodate the wishes of any prospective guests who, like yourselves, may wish to visit prior to booking.
The charm of the Hall is that it dates back to the late 17th century and is luxurious and homely more than a standard B&B or typical small hotel. The majority of our 12 bedrooms are either en suite or have a private bathroom.
We are pleased to be discreetly on hand with anything needed and the Hall has a south facing aspect not overlooked by us.
While pleased you found our kitchen luxuriously appointed we are sorry about your personal opinion in regard for mass catering.
The terrace room brings everyone in the party together for meals and socialising however it achieves much more hosting dance classes and other activities that our guests enjoy. The timber beamed dining room provides a cocooning atmosphere for intimate gatherings.
We are delighted that you found our facilities to a high standard and that the little touches we provide were welcome.

Susan Martin
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The most perfect venue for a small function or for friends to get together.24 of us for a magical weekend.
The whole property has been developed and decorated to a very high standard.The bedrooms are lovely & come with robes & nice linen as you would expect in a 5 Star hotel but Bryan Tanat Hall is much more than a hotel it's your home from home for a short while.
The outside catering was amazing,the staff lovely.Saturday morning archery was a big hit as was the hot tub,snooker room & games room.
Our only complaint was having to leave.
Many thanks to Susan & Peter and their whole team

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Front Office Manager at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We were delighted to welcome you to Bryn Tanat and to know how much you enjoyed your stay. Our partnerships have grown and we are very proud of our new chef and so pleased that you enjoyed his cooking. We continue to introduce new facilities and services and very much hope you will return.

Kind regards

Peter and Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have just returned from a fantastic hen weekend in Bryn Tanat. It was a beautiful house & very relaxed atmosphere that comfortable held 11 of us! We enjoyed a very well organised Charlston evening with amazing hair & makeup tips from Sophie & an equally amazing dance instructor, champagne reception with a lovely cooked meal from our chef as well as enjoying the Jacuzzi. Would definitely visit again, I can not recommend enough!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for choosing Bryn Tanat and the era of the 1920's for your glamorous hen weekend celebrations. It was a great pleasure to look after you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the experience and will pass your compliments to Sophie, Sarah and Tim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Bryn Tanat for a 30th bday weekend - we couldn't fault it. The hot tub and games room are awesome. The dining room is gigantic - perfect for a big group. They've definitely got the right balance of a quaint traditional cottage feel but with modern features like iPod docks in each room, sky tv and decent showers. The location is great - we wandered into the local town at had a pub lunch at The Station pub. We loved it and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a venue for a weekend away

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JessieMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your murder mystery weekend at Bryn Tanat and to know that the Hall leant itself so well to your plans. Word of mouth is certainly the best recommendation and much appreciated. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were a group of friends total of 19 people whom all had children 8 adults and 11 kids - ages range from 3 years to 50years. All our entertainment needs were catered for with boys going to play football on the grounds of the property to the girls wanting to go in the hot tub. The house is large enough not to get under each others feet and all can do their own activity from snooker to air hockey. The games rooms was enjoyable especially to the older children - it gave them some independence.

The owners property is opposite in the courtyard, on the first day you will meet them after that its up to you to make your holiday. The owners are there if you need them you are left to make the most of this wonderful property. We did have to ask for an ingredient to make a chilli, they kindly provided the ingredient we needed so it proves if you don't ask you will not get!

The property is very well equipped with quality furnishings and also enough plates, cutlery, glasses to serve 19 people and still have enough to keep you going.

In summary all had a great time, the property and the company made a success to the time at Bryn Tanat Hall.

We do hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Room 7 is a lovely bedroom if there is a big group going - adults should draw lots to get this roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and wish to return. Your review describes so well all that as Owners we wish for our guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

For anybody looking for an intimate beautifully appointed (wedding) venue in magnificent grounds with professional yet personal service we cannot commend the Bryn Tanat experience highly enough. Susan and Peter arranged our catering and staff for both Friday and Saturday. We were offered and benefited from their advice and network of local businesses (photographers, caterers, musician and additional accomodation) and were absolutely delighted on all fronts. The games room, jacuzzi, all weather tennis court and open ball sports area were a tremendous hit with all our guests and bridal party. Unreserved recommendation - can't wait for our anniversary celebrations there!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

It was a pleasure to be part of your very lovely wedding at Bryn Tanat and to know that you wish to return is the ultimate compliment. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bryn Tanat Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Tanat Hall

Address: Bryn Tanat Hall Llansantffraid, Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain SY22 6BA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Tanat Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5* Visit Wales Gold Award 9 years running and a long established reputation as one of the best country houses providing luxury group accommodation in Mid Wales for 28 people. With 14 bedrooms, 2 of which are on the ground floor, Bryn Tanat Hall accommodates 28 people. Personally run by the family, the Hall dates back to the late 17th Century and is set in 14 acres of landscaped gardens, parkland and woodland, with a sense of history, a warm welcome and a relaxing atmosphere. Our accommodation is luxurious without formality. You will appreciate our attention to detail; log fires, baby grand piano and a well stocked library. Satellite TV, WIFI, Egyptian cotton bed linen, Aromatherapy Associates toiletries in all bedrooms, fluffy towels and bathrobes! Enjoy our games room with table tennis, pool table and air hockey; our tennis and 5 aside football court and 10 person hot tub in a Douglas Fir clad spa. New for 2017 - book an appointment in The Treatment Room, offering Aromatherapy Associates body and massage treatments, beauty essential treatments including CND Shellac manicure and pedicures. By arrangement you can fish the river Tanat from our grounds and enjoy falconry, archery, well being and pampering and much more! We offer comprehensive dining options from buffet to fine dining! The perfect country getaway for family and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Tanat Hall Hotel Llansantffraid-Ym-Mechain
Bryn Tanat Hall Llansantffraid-Ym-Mechain, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing