We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Guests”
Review of Bryn Tanat Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Tanat Hall
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding Guests”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at Bryn Tanat Hall early in July as wedding guests. We were very welcome by Susan & Peter and made to feel so at home, by the end of the weekend we felt almost as if it was ours (and our fellow guests) and spent much of our journey thinking of reasons we could come back and stay again with friends. Our friends wedding went so smoothly, and in such lovely surroundings, the gazebo/summer house was a fabulous setting for a wedding. The food for the wedding breakfast prepared by the chef was outstanding. Our room overlooking the terrace at the rear of the house was large, beautifully decorated with a compact shower ensuite. The bed was so comfortable I didnt want to get out of it. Cant recommend Bryn Tanat enough. Susan & Peter, thank you for the use of your beautiful house.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocaholic_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very proud to share Bryn Tanat and to know our guests have felt so at home is a greatly valued compliment both for the family and our staff. Your appreciation of our service, food and surroundings is also greatly valued and we thank you very much for your recommendation. We very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    4
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Early Aug, An extended family visit, venue, services, accommodation excellent. Plenty to do facilities meant we could play our own sports (to suit all age ranges).
The differentiator for our visit was the Gluten free, Vegetarian and Vegan meals that were prepared.
We had two evening meals prepared and served with the above requirements. We had a birthday cake prepared which was gluten free, egg free and vegetarian.

Both meals were unbelievable, we didn't think gluten free food could taste this good.
The reason for this was the owners research and attention to detail, they tested the food beforehand on their own family to test the "eat ability" of the food they would make. Also one of the staff has a child who is coeliac therefore there was first hand knowledge of the issues.
Any other family with our requirements need not worry.

The stress free nature of our break , meant it was actually a break (without the constant worry of preparing the next meal).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singh-Cov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
When we read your review it made our day. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

We have worked closely with our chef and local suppliers to create varied menus and are delighted that you were so impressed not thinking that gluten free food could taste this good.

It means a lot to our staff and the family to know that we met your requirements and that the catering provided a stress free break which was actually a break.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime and if you have not done so already if you like our Facebook page it will keep you up to date with Bryn Tanat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

In early July, 22 of us spent a weekend at Bryn Tanat for our wedding (the ceremony was held in the Summer House) .
Everything was perfect, and our guests were all more than happy to travel from London for a weekend, for such a wonderful venue.
Susan and Peter were superb hosts, quietly going about their business in an efficient way, and their Chef produced superb food for our wedding breakfast.
The weekend was all that we hoped for, and more.
We hope to return - we are all thinking of future celebrations that we could hold at Bryn Tanat Hall.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that your wedding weekend was all that you wished for and thank you for your appreciation for our staff, family and the Hall. We very much hope that a reason for you to return to Bryn Tanat is not too far away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

25 of us stayed for a weekend in March earlier this year and had a great time. Plenty to do and to keep everyone entertained. Susan was always very accommodating and helpful. A lovely place and grounds, excellent value for money when fully occupied. We would happily return for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pope15jasmine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bryn Tanat and especially pleased to know that you wish to return sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I organised a Hen Do here this weekend, and what a joy it was! The house and grounds are beautiful and everyone was completely taken aback by the place. We did the Archery which was great fun, and had Tim, the Chef, cook us a gorgeous Spanish Tapas dinner on Saturday which everyone loved (particularly the sausage and bean casserole which was a bit special).

A great time was had by all; the Bride was delighted and I'll be back as soon as I have a good excuse! Thank you to Susan and Peter for making it all so easy for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We are so pleased that you had such a lovely weekend and enjoyed the house and your activities and very much hope you will return to stay at Bryn Tanat again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We went to Bryn Tanat as a large family of 21 - 10 adults and 11 kids. Accommodation was very good with lots of space and comfortable enough. That said, food charges each evening were extortionate and meals were abysmal. Nothing fresh, all frozen and overcooked. Worst food I've eaten and a real shame - and to add to that, service was terrible at mealtimes!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are very pleased to know that you think Bryn Tanat Hall is a great house, however, we are very disappointed to know that you did not enjoy the catering.

In our attempt to fulfil your exacting requirements for all the ingredients in each course for each meal our chef adapted our menus for you. We take on board your comments and in future we will not adapt our menus in this way to the detriment of the dishes served.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We all thoroughly enjoyed our 5 days at Bryn Tanat. We had chosen it largely because of all the indoor facilities available. In the event the weather for early March was superb. Sitting outside for breakfast and all Sunday morning was not something we anticipated! We made frequent use of the excellent hot tub. Several people played tennis and we played snooker into the early hours on 3 days !
In summary, Bryn Tanat offers top hotel style quality in a self-catering accommodation. The “extra” facilities, especially the hot tub, are superb. Towelling robes are a brilliant provision. Also relevant, if everyone does not initially know each other, is that the amount of space & number of reception rooms is very large. Even with 24 people there, it is never crowded. The 14 seating dining room, the snooker room and its adjacent sitting room, plus the gardens, all provided exactly the “Downton Abbey” feel we were looking for for our event.

However nothing is perfect, so it would only be fair to point out:
1. Our guests were genuinely shocked to find hardly any en-suite rooms available. Everyone now just assumes en-suite in even the most basic hotels, B&Bs etc.
2. The owners, whilst immediately on hand to help with anything needed, form a noticeable presence across the car park. Plus they have constantly coming and going friends and family. Probably they try to remain discrete but nevertheless Bryn Tanat does NOT offer the degree of privacy we had hoped for.
3. The kitchen, whilst luxuriously appointed, is badly laid out for mass catering.
4. The large function room has zero character whilst having the acoustics of a public swimming pool and would probably benefit from some soft furnishings and additional décor to absorb the sound and add ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Bryn Tanat Hall and thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased to have a very detailed website with extensive interactive floor plans and happily accommodate the wishes of any prospective guests who, like yourselves, may wish to visit prior to booking.
The charm of the Hall is that it dates back to the late 17th century and is luxurious and homely more than a standard B&B or typical small hotel. The majority of our 12 bedrooms are either en suite or have a private bathroom.
We are pleased to be discreetly on hand with anything needed and the Hall has a south facing aspect not overlooked by us.
While pleased you found our kitchen luxuriously appointed we are sorry about your personal opinion in regard for mass catering.
The terrace room brings everyone in the party together for meals and socialising however it achieves much more hosting dance classes and other activities that our guests enjoy. The timber beamed dining room provides a cocooning atmosphere for intimate gatherings.
We are delighted that you found our facilities to a high standard and that the little touches we provide were welcome.

Susan Martin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bryn Tanat Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Tanat Hall

Property: Bryn Tanat Hall
Address: Bryn Tanat Hall Llansantffraid, Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain SY22 6BA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Tanat Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5* Visit Wales Gold Award 9 years running and a long established reputation as one of the best country houses providing luxury group accommodation in Mid Wales for 28 people. With 14 bedrooms, 2 of which are on the ground floor, Bryn Tanat Hall accommodates 28 people. Personally run by the family, the Hall dates back to the late 17th Century and is set in 14 acres of landscaped gardens, parkland and woodland, with a sense of history, a warm welcome and a relaxing atmosphere. Our accommodation is luxurious without formality. You will appreciate our attention to detail; log fires, baby grand piano and a well stocked library. Satellite TV, WIFI, Egyptian cotton bed linen, Aromatherapy Associates toiletries in all bedrooms, fluffy towels and bathrobes! Enjoy our games room with table tennis, pool table and air hockey; our tennis and 5 aside football court and 10 person hot tub in a Douglas Fir clad spa. New for 2017 - book an appointment in The Treatment Room, offering Aromatherapy Associates body and massage treatments, beauty essential treatments including CND Shellac manicure and pedicures. By arrangement you can fish the river Tanat from our grounds and enjoy falconry, archery, well being and pampering and much more! We offer comprehensive dining options from buffet to fine dining! The perfect country getaway for family and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Tanat Hall Hotel Llansantffraid-Ym-Mechain
Bryn Tanat Hall Llansantffraid-Ym-Mechain, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing