We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good”
Review of The Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lion Hotel
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Room was ok but quite cold. The main entrance smelled like wet dog and could have done with a good clean.
Food was ok and well prices, but the staff were a little slow.
Barmaid seemed to be too busy fraternising with her boyfriend and had to be called on more than one occasion.
Room was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Notts1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

I've been to the Lion many times (to eat) before it was taken over by new owners and this was my first visit following it reopening.
The decor, although slightly dated, is traditional and suits the building. The ambiance could have been improved as there was no music playing.
I had lamb shank and the others in the group had fish and chips.
My food was superb and couldn't really be faulted especially at the price paid! However, the fish was not particularly tasty, I think this suggests the quality of the suppliers than the skill of the chef.
The range of drinks on offer, however, as always, is still superb for a pub/hotel in a small village. Local beers/cider on tap as well as your typical drinks.
The staff were very polite and friendly, however I'm not sure how experienced they are.
We were asked by a number of different staff if we were ready to order (after the order had been taken) and asking if our food was ok multiple times and although this shows eagerness, it can become slightly annoying after a while. Hopefully the pub will do well and these little things will improve as Llansantffraid already has a rather dull restaurant in the form of the Station Grill.

They also offer a quiz night and open mic night during the week, and the car park is always busy on these nights, however I have not been to these and cannot comment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hjc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We've been to the Lion Hotel a couple times since an enterprising local family reopened the Lion Hotel just before Christmas 2012. We've always had dinner in the lounge bar, and I can just confirm other comments here. The menu has a good range, thankfully nothing too precious or Foodie. But in mid-Winter the staples like lamb shank and stews were superb, and the portions generous. The beers on tap reflect the wealth of local breweries, and the service really feels like service in a family run establishment. The Lion Hotel has really added another dimension to a surprising quality food culture in Llansantffraid ym Mechain, joining the Cross Keys, the Palace and the humble Drovers Oak Cafe. Good luck to them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank RC_RIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I can only rate the lunch as we were just passing through, and I cannot praise the value for money more highly as well as the service. Just a simple sandwich and chips was £4.95 each , a huge ciabatta (you could have bagette or panini if you preferred) , lots of home made chips and a tasty dressed salad. We ate outside as the weather was nice and we had our dog with us , this is on the main road so the atmosphere isnt great but inside looked nice and homely - proper old fashioned pub look. The barmaid came promptly with our meal , scrubbed the already clean looking table and kept bobbing in and out ensure we had everything we needed. Not fancy but execellent food at a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank WirralLindag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Catered for all our needs. Family run. Restaurant, bar and local bar. Rooms were great with flat screens. Open fires made it feel homely. The locals bar was great with very friendly patrons. Food was really good with home made chips. I would defiantly recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timandjane23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We booked two double rooms for a recent trip to the area. For a hotel, it was a little strange that everything was closed up and you couldn't check in until 5pm.

The room was nicely furnished, and was as stated, light and airy. However we were in Rm 5 and there is a large glazed panel above the door and light pours in, which means that you cannot make the room dark enough to sleep in unless you get the staff to turn off the lights on the stairs and landing. Having this panel boarded or with a blind would have made such a difference - because of it we got almost no sleep on the first night. When we brought this to the attention of the staff, they did what they could to make amends but their options were a little limited, resulting in a better but not brilliant 2nd night

Breakfast was really nice, plenty of choice, nicely cooked and good portions.

The other surprise was that when we returned to the hotel for our second night, the rooms had not been refreshed, not even as far as clean cups on the hospitality tray!

On a general note, the practice of propping fire doors open was a little unnerving, as was the bizarre arrangement of the electrics in our room and the copious use of extension leads.

Overall for the rate we were asked to pay, I feel that things should have been much better than they were. When we return to the area again, I have to say on reflection that I would without doubt, find an alternative place to stay. A shame as it could have been so much better.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 5 if you like a dark room to sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Tourist_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A group of 8 golfers we stayed here for 3nts at the beginning of June in a mix of twin,double and single rooms.

Booked - direct with hotel by email and was offered an excellent rate, All correspondence and requests were dealt with promptly, effectively and when we had problems with numbers within 48 hours of arrival - very patiently.

Staff were friendly, attentive and effective.

Rooms - all our rooms had been recently decorated and were clean and nicely furnished. Bonus was the towels which were of a fluffy upmarket type. The rooms on the front of the hotel could be a bit noisy from the road but no real problem. Good shower, tea/coffee in room, central heating

Public rooms/bars - we were made to feel very welcome by the local residents.

Restaurant - the breakfasts were the best I/we have ever experienced and that includes 4/5 star hotels. Dinner was not included and we only ate there on one evening - hmm our only grudge - it did seem a bit on the expensive side for what we had. Nice little Indian just down the road.

Summary - this is not a 4 star hotel, but it is an excellent country pub offering nice, unpretenous but clean rooms, at great value. If you are kooking for some where to stay in mid wales without spending a fortune give it a try. I will certainly be back in the future.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back, but dont worry too much about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain SY22 6AQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Lion Hotel Llansantffraid-Ym-Mechain, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing