We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and Tranquility”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon R
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Three families shard a wonderful weekend at the end of April 2017 to celebrate a 40th birthday. The children (4) are aged 7 and 10 and all fully enjoyed the chill out area as well as the local countryside of course. The owners were exceptionally helpful both before our arrival and during our stay - helping us get birthday cakes and candles etc for the occasion. The wood burning stoves in the hot tub and sauna were easy to get going and within a couple of hours both delivered sensational heat and provided hours of relaxation for adults and children alike. The Kota hut with integrated BBQ station was just lovely and cooked our food to perfection.

There were plenty of toys and games for the children in the main house so we needn't have taken our own :-)

We had a food delivery by Waitrose just 20 minutes after our arrival so everything just worked well for us.

Overall we had a fantastic weekend and would love to return sometime to take in more of the beautiful countryside right on the doorstep of the Coach House - if only the kids would entertain the walking....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Hot tub delight ”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

5 adults and 3 children stayed here for a mid week break over Easter for a family celebration. I was apprehensive after the lack of reviews but need not have worried. The owner David welcomed us upon arrival (3pm) and advised us to make our selves at home. There was plenty of room for all of us, a well equipped kitchen, freshly made beds with towels in each bedroom. Stair gates, cot, ironing board....home from home really.

We had some lovely evenings in together playing games and catching up but the main attraction for us was the amazing hot tub, sauna and BBQ hut. The hot tub is heated with the logs provided but takes up to 4 hours to reach a comfortable temperature. You can connect and play music from out here using Bluetooth and it's totally self contained so no need to nip back to the house for glasses, cutlery or even use the toilet. We were lucky with the weather so we spent lots of time outdoors.

The surrounding area is very picturesque and it has a long drive way so secure and private with no one overlooking. We ate in the local pub a 5 minute drive away called the Lime Kiln - recommended.

The only negative for some was that the wifi is non existent. Not a major issue but it really shouldn't be offered if it cannot be provided.

Thank you Suzanne and David, we would love to stay again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz O
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for friends to catch up”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at the coach house recently. There were 5 couples and two babies. The space was just enough so we wern't treading over each other. The fridge/freezer and pantry was a good size for all our food. It didn't matter there was only one TV as we were too busy catching up with friends, playing board games or reading. The bbq hut, hot tub and sauna was just amazing, this is where we spent most of our time; Drinks, roasting marshmallows and bbq food with music, we couldn't ask for much more! The house isn't overlooked and there's plenty of parking. The coach house is local to small towns and tourist attractions.
However, the house would benefit with a downstairs toilet, the wifi connection was very poor, we had to pay extra for towels and robes but some of us brought our own. There was an issue over giant flies coming in the main bathroom but the owner soon visited and sorted the problem (he taped over the air vent with sellotape).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A property of two halves upstairs accommodation very nice but let down by ground floor and courtyard.”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Overall this property was very disappointing. The downstairs rooms are very dismal, especially the kitchen and the downstairs bedroom and wet room which desperately needs refurbishment. There is only one TV in the property which is poor for 10 people especially if this covers a wide age group. The outside space is good for parking but there is no garden to speak of. There is a very small grassed area which slopes down onto the gravel, the back of this area drops away into woodland and there is a metal frame which has been discarded and left going rusty. There is also a garage to the side of the accommodation which houses the dryer but also has discarded outside furniture and step ladders which again is not safe for children as there is no door to close it off.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The children enjoyed watching the alpacas and the horses.
Liked least: The lack of cleanliness, only one television in the property and lack of safe play area for children.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing