We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau du Baffy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau du Baffy
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Creully
Bournemouth
1 review
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at the chateau as part of a school trip and I have to say it was overall good. The bedrooms were clean and it was in a nice location. However, the food that they served wasn't all that good and there wasn't much choice at breakfast. Also, some bathrooms didn't lock and the bunk beds' mattresses were not the right size for the bed. But overall it was fine and I would say that it was a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schoolgirlbmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    38
    16
    9
    15
See reviews for
17
23
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Built to house groups this hotel also takes individual guest. This is a lovely Chateau, off the beatern track, outside of Paris in a quiet woodland setting. Excellent for groups that have transportation provided. Located just outside a small town it is a picturesque place to walk and take pictures. The rooms had private baths and though not big there was a peaceful living room downstairs that all guests were welcome to use complete with coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fruit. We had dinner here both nights of our stay and the food was excellent. A simple breakfast is provided each day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxwellkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have stayed here before and am always happy to return. It's a lovely place with a lot of French character. The bedrooms are a bit basic, but I had the pleasure of sleeping very well in one of the new double beds the hotel has recently invested in, along with other small touches in the rooms. Recently renovated areas of the hotel and grounds give the place a fresh feel. Food is always good and plentiful. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the hotel manager Roland is as attentive and helpful as ever. Considering the semi budget prices to stay here, I have absolutely no complaints and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amie_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here as part of a school trip around France, in a room of 8 with only one plug wasn't great but we managed to survive. Food was okay, bunk beds were slightly awkward (they hurt your feet after a few climbs) and the rooms were cramped. Limited light. Wifi was on on the first night but was turned off. There is a playing field next door which is good for evenings. Classroom is an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliemaydalton_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Having just visited the chateau with a group of 40 school children I just felt that I had to comment in light of some of the previous negative reviews. The place is absolutely perfect for school parties, with large grounds for them to enjoy and a variety of rooms with different sleeping combinations. Although it was short, the children absolutely loved their stay there!

Customer service at the Chateau was excellent - all of the staff we met were extremely polite and couldn't have been more helpful! Particular mention should go to Becky and Roland who made our party feel extremely welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvassa314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Chateau and its grounds are beautiful - very quiet and peaceful.

I stayed here with three friends - we had a room each. My room was extremely basic - no pictures on the walls, no side lights, no telephone, and it was so badly arranged I had to climb over the corner of one of the beds every time I moved round the room. The room smelt very musty and the bed was child size so I didn't get a great deal of sleep. However, the bathroom was immaculate - no complaint there.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful (all English).

We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and it was of a good standard though only two choices for each course. However, we decided to have dinner on the third night and asked to see the menu before we booked our table. The menu was the same as the first night!! Consequently we went elsewhere.

The breakfast was Continental and not very inspiring. Cereals, TINNED fruit salad, yogurt, ham and cheese plus bread and croissants. That was it - a toaster would have been a good addition at least.

If you plan to go to the Chateau leave plenty of time to get lost en route. Lots of empty lanes with no one to ask so we went round and round many times - probably reversing more than going forwards!!!

Overall, it was cheap and cheerful - I would probably return but I wouldn't recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richmoonset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandAnderson, Manager at Chateau du Baffy, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Chateau Du Baffy, we welcome customer comments to improve our service and products.

Whilst I am pleased that you were happy with the standard and cleanliness of the bathroom I recognise that the standard of the room was not as you had anticipated. We have acted on your feedback by assessing the layout of the room for ease of the guests. I am sorry if there was a musty smell, please be assured that all our rooms are cleaned on a regular basis and daily when a guest is staying.

We always receive very positive feedback regarding our staff at the Chateau, and I thank you for re-iterating this. We have passed your comments to our team.

On investigation I can see that the two menus to which you refer were similar, however we do offer a different choice every night. I do hope that you found somewhere suitable to enjoy your evening meal on this occasion.

I was surprised to hear your feedback regarding the breakfast. We offer a wide selection including cake, fresh fruit, tinned fruit, croissants and pain au chocolat, brioche, a choice of meats, and a choice of beverages. Of course if there was something missing, we would encourage you to ask one of our helpful staff members who would be more than happy to assist you in finding what you require.

I am pleased to hear that you would return to the Chateau, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Thank you again for your comments and the opportunity to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have recently returned from a 4 night stay here.It looked and sounded great from the website.
We had no idea from the website that the Chateau was set up for school parties. The room we were initially given was so small as was the shower . The single beds were tiny child size . Not fun if you're 6ft ! The room smelt of sweaty bodies and the plug socket was hanging from the wall. No noise insulation through the partition wall...leave that to your imagination! We were given a better room on the 2nd night by the helpful lady on reception . It was more spacious with adult beds but noisy as the floor boards in the next room creaked through to ours when the guests moved about and their loo sounded as if it was next to our bed . This room also smelt grubby . The shower was blocked with hair ,which we removed !
Breakfast was basic . We did not sample the dinner menu as the whole place lacked the atmosphere we had hoped for .
A couple of staff were friendly and helpful ,but there was a general lack of real passion for the property and business from the staff, possibly due to the fact that it is managed by a student travel company .We made the mistake of thinking we'd meet a welcoming Monsieur and convivial atmosphere. We actually had to roam around knocking on doors to buy a drink to take to the patio at 9.30pm..
There were a few inconsiderate guests who were noisy late at night and due to the old floors and doors it was noisy.
The Chateau is in a central location for places of interest and the D-Day beaches and museums . There is no restaurant or bar within walking distance but Courseulle is about 5km away with a great atmosphere and range of bars and restaurants.
We wouldn' t recommend it ..such a shame as it could be lovely !

Room Tip: Ask for adult sized beds and a double. It will be beds pushed together but hopefully they will be fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandAnderson, General Manager at Chateau du Baffy, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
It is disappointing to hear that your stay at the Chateau was not as you had anticipated. Thank you for your valued feedback, which we address below.

We always aim for high room standards and apologise you felt this was not the case. Please be assured that we thoroughly clean our rooms with antibacterial disinfectants and we ensure that rooms are regularly cleaned, audited and checked to a safe standard for all guests. I am sorry to hear that your room was not to our usual high standard: with immediate feedback we would have been more than happy to fix the plug socket immediately. I have addressed the issue about the shower plug with our housekeeping staff to prevent this happening again.

It is disappointing to hear that you did not feel that the standard of food at breakfast met your expectations. We offer a full continental breakfast, and had you raised your concern at the time, staff would have endeavoured to accommodate your request.

I am sorry to hear that you did not find the attitude of our staff to be as welcoming and helpful as our survey results and regular compliment letters suggest, therefore I have noted your comments and will address accordingly to ensure our service delivery is excellent at all times.

Thank you for your time submitting a review for the Chateau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creully
0.0 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
0.0 mi away
St. Martin Hotel
St. Martin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Creully
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camping Les 3 Rivieres
Camping Les 3 Rivieres
#1 of 1 in Creully
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Baffy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Baffy

Property: Chateau du Baffy
Address: Le Bourg, 14480 Creully, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Creully
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Creully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Château du Baffy lies on the edge of the small village of Colombiers, situated between Caen and Bayeux, just 6km or so from the seaside resort of Courseulles. Guests will enjoy the best of both worlds combining a stay in the beautiful Normandy countryside with superb beaches close to hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau du Baffy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Baffy Hotel Creully
Chateau Du Baffy Creully, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing