We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in an enchanting village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Relays du Chasteau

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brousse-le-Chateau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Relays du Chasteau
Certificate of Excellence
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in an enchanting village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We received a very warm welcome when we arrived hot and tired from a day's walk. Our room, which overlooked the chateau, was small but clean and comfy with a good shower. We were grateful for the fan in the room as it was very hot. The food was really delicious and the restaurant was packed. Breakfast was good too. The hotel has a lovely little outside area for drinks.

The tiny village on the Rivers Tarn and Alrance is absolutely stunning with a medieval chateau and many beautiful buildings. We decided to stay a little longer than originally planned so we could explore, and Sybille very kindly telephoned the taxi company to rearrange our pick up, and came out to wave us goodbye when we left. We would most certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieHerts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybile S, Propriétaire at Le Relays du Chasteau, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Google Translation
Ce message est très sympathique et nous touche particulièrement; en effet, au coeur du mois d'Aout quand il y a beaucoup de clients, nous avons l'impression de ne pas être assez disponibles pour chacun;alors, merci!
Si notre modeste auberge vous a séduits, nous en sommes ravis et nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous revoir chez nous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    29
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

It's well worth the journey to seek out this out-of the-way place, run with quiet efficiency by Sybille and Philippe. Our visits here span over thirty years and we will always incorporate' le Relays' into our intinerary if possible. The demi-pension rate of E 86 is excellent value and our non-meat requirements are accommodated with imagination and goodwill in the four course dinner included.
All rooms have a fairy tale view of the Chateau and, though fairly basic, are comfortable and convenient, because of attention to detail, e.g. somewhere to put the wash bags and bedside lighting one can actually read by.
Local walks are not that well sign-posted but the climb up to a private garden, newly opened this season, is well rewarded and the garden owner very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peony42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybile S, Propriétaire at Le Relays du Chasteau, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear madam, dear sir,
Thank you so much for your message and hope to see you again!
Yours fathfully
Sybile and Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here several years ago and went out of our way to go back to re-experience the atmosphere and the food. We fell in love all over again. The tiny village is a gem. The views from the rooms of the village and Chateau are completely enchanting and the food is outstanding. We were determined to eat here again and did; two nights in a row. Divine! Rustic! Elegant! The rooms are basic and quite small but very clean. Sybil, who welcomes you and serves dinners is a quiet, charming and exceptional host...she came out to wave good-bye to us quite early the morning we left. I felt as if I was leaving home. We've been to France several times...the experience here has yet to be matched.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Le Relais du Chasteau (a "Logis de Frace") is a fine old building in this pretty village on the river Tarn - one of "Les Plus Beaux Villages de France".
It has a small outside terrace above a stream, perfect for a relaxing drink or snack. The rooms are quite compact and all have lovely views of the medieval village and its ruined chateau. Our room was very clean and comfortable and, although quite small, the bathroom looked recently refurbished - very good value at 50€.
Sybile, the proprietor, speaks very good English, and is a welcoming and efficient host who provides a high standand of service.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable and good value meal in the hotel restaurant, which uses local produce. We would thoroughly recommend both hotel & restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybile S, Propriétaire at Le Relays du Chasteau, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for your message to tripadvisor!
We are happy when our guests spend a good stay in our small modest hotel!
It is the best reward!
Yours faithfully
Sybile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We did not sleep here, we had a marvelous dinner.

We opted for the 27,50 a person menu. For starters we both had the foie gras de canard, which was of excellent quality. The sautéed red onions, the maigret de canard and a bit of a sausage from duck completed the dish. It was perfect.

Mains we had a fresh trout which was really fresh and very well prepared with a very fine sauce. I had a piece of veal with a truffle sauce. One of the best pieces of veal I ever had and the sauce was very well balanced.

The choose of cheese was of excellent quality and the creme caramel was one of the best we ever had.

Service is very friendly and very accurate, as in textbook good. You have to wait a bit longer then usual for your food, which is very logical because everything is prepared fresh for you.

The location is superb, one of the most beautifull villages in France with a stunning chateau on the hilltop.

Highly recommended! Excellent food for a price anyone could afford.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pim75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing, west sussex,
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with friends who had been before, and we're not disappointed. A friendly exchange of emails guaranteed our room months ahead of our visit. The English speaking host, Sybil, welcomed us and showed us to our spotlessly clean rooms overlooking the ruined chateau. An excellent dinner followed pleasant drinks sitting outside on the terrace listening to the small stream rushing by. This logis may be old, but is freshly decorated, and has free WiFi. We used the logis as a base to visit the stunning Millau Bridge about 20 miles away.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank berpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybile S, Propriétaire at Le Relays du Chasteau, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank you so much for sending us your feedback.
That is very kind of you
Yours faiyhfully
Sybile Sénégas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Brousse is an amazing place (C9 onwards chateau etc) but Le Relays is a perfect location opposite the chateau from which to visit the Tarn region. The seemingly austere host is in fact a dry wit, and the restaurant took me back forty years to traditional country restaurants - classical French country cooking, done well with a very good local wine list. Not a flash hotel, but perfectly adequate, clean and delightful to visit. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mariategui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brousse-le-Chateau
6.2 mi away
Les Magnolias
Les Magnolias
#1 of 1 in Plaisance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
5.2 mi away
Auberge de la Planquette
8.2 mi away
Hotel Carayon
Hotel Carayon
#1 of 1 in Saint-Sernin-sur-Rance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hotel les Raspes
Hotel les Raspes
#1 of 1 in Saint-Rome-de-Tarn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chateau de Creissels
23.8 mi away
Hotel des Causses
Hotel des Causses
#3 of 17 in Millau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relays du Chasteau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relays du Chasteau

Property: Le Relays du Chasteau
Address: Le Village, 12480 Brousse-le-Chateau, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Brousse-le-Chateau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brousse-le-Chateau
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing