We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Relays du Chasteau
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed longer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

If Brousse was more accessible this place would be overrun, but that's the joy of rural France! Amazing setting in the heart of this stunning village, I opened my windows to a scene that has probably changed little in hundreds of years. Free and reliable Wi-Fi makes it easy to keep in touch with the wider world if you have need. Obliging staff and lovely food in the restaurant. My room was nothing flash, but met my needs perfectly well, clean and with decent shower.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasDevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was one of the highlights of our tour through south France. The location and ambience of Brousse le Chateau is magnificent. Located in Aveyron Department in the hills east of Albi and west of Millau on the Tarn River. The owners, Sybille and Philippe, are both very professional, very personable and it was a pleasure to stay in their beautifully kept apartment at Le Relays hotel. We would recommend this to anyone who wants respite from big towns/cities and who value nature, walking, good home made food, and a very historic site to stay in.

Room Tip: Select the apartment. It usually is E350 for 7 days, but if available you may (up to the owner) be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilandAnnSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybile S, Propriétaire at Le Relays du Chasteau, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for your feelback!
We hope you enjoy your trip in the north!
Bes regards
Sybile and Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We ended up at the hotel by accident when the place we were heading to was closed, and what a pleasant surprise. The rooms are comfortable which amazing views of the chateau out the window and the only sound of the river running past.

The hotel staff put their washing machine at our use which was awesome after 5 days on cycle tour.

Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Fresh local produce.

Truly a great stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbys Dales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

As a simple Relais, this hotel punches well above its weight, especially in the restaurant.
The choice offered on the Half Board option is excellent and the quality of the cuisine is of a very high standard. Typical local dishes in generous portions with good value, well chosen local wines gets a 5 star rating from me.
Friendly and very efficient service.
The rooms are fairly basic and on the small side but are clean and tidy and ours had a lovely view of the chateau and village..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caraxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We had the good fortune to dine here on two occasions during a recent holiday in the Aveyron.
The food and wine were excellent and reflected the produce of the local area.
Particular mention must go to the wonderful lamb hotpot which was absolutely delicious and to the trout which tasted as if it had been caught minutes before it was cooked.
The staff were extremely welcoming and more than prepared to allow us to indulge in our faltering French rather than speak in English.
All in all, a wonderful experience and Le Relays is certainly on our list of places in France to revisit during our post retirement Grand Tour of the country.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We received a very warm welcome when we arrived hot and tired from a day's walk. Our room, which overlooked the chateau, was small but clean and comfy with a good shower. We were grateful for the fan in the room as it was very hot. The food was really delicious and the restaurant was packed. Breakfast was good too. The hotel has a lovely little outside area for drinks.

The tiny village on the Rivers Tarn and Alrance is absolutely stunning with a medieval chateau and many beautiful buildings. We decided to stay a little longer than originally planned so we could explore, and Sybille very kindly telephoned the taxi company to rearrange our pick up, and came out to wave us goodbye when we left. We would most certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieHerts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybile S, Propriétaire at Le Relays du Chasteau, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Google Translation
Ce message est très sympathique et nous touche particulièrement; en effet, au coeur du mois d'Aout quand il y a beaucoup de clients, nous avons l'impression de ne pas être assez disponibles pour chacun;alors, merci!
Si notre modeste auberge vous a séduits, nous en sommes ravis et nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous revoir chez nous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

It's well worth the journey to seek out this out-of the-way place, run with quiet efficiency by Sybille and Philippe. Our visits here span over thirty years and we will always incorporate' le Relays' into our intinerary if possible. The demi-pension rate of E 86 is excellent value and our non-meat requirements are accommodated with imagination and goodwill in the four course dinner included.
All rooms have a fairy tale view of the Chateau and, though fairly basic, are comfortable and convenient, because of attention to detail, e.g. somewhere to put the wash bags and bedside lighting one can actually read by.
Local walks are not that well sign-posted but the climb up to a private garden, newly opened this season, is well rewarded and the garden owner very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peony42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybile S, Propriétaire at Le Relays du Chasteau, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear madam, dear sir,
Thank you so much for your message and hope to see you again!
Yours fathfully
Sybile and Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brousse-le-Chateau
6.2 mi away
Les Magnolias
Les Magnolias
#1 of 1 in Plaisance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel les Raspes
Hotel les Raspes
#1 of 1 in Saint-Rome-de-Tarn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.2 mi away
Auberge de la Planquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chateau de Creissels
17.1 mi away
Residence du Rougier
Residence du Rougier
#1 of 1 in Camares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Carayon
Hotel Carayon
#1 of 1 in Saint-Sernin-sur-Rance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relays du Chasteau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relays du Chasteau

Property: Le Relays du Chasteau
Address: Le Village, 12480 Brousse-le-Chateau, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Brousse-le-Chateau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brousse-le-Chateau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Relays du Chasteau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing