We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts, beautiful rooms, heavenly food, and all with an amazing backdrop of Indian village life.”
Review of Casa Susegad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Susegad
Ranked #1 of 2 Loutolim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Casa Susegad is an amazing and beautifully renovated 17th century mansion, right in the heart of a village in Loutolim, South Goa. When you arrive here, you are greeted by the wonderful owners Carole and Norman, who are so friendly it instantly makes you relax, and after a few minutes, makes you feel like part of the family. Carole and Norman are truly, the most wonderful hosts you could ever hope to meet and will do everything to make your stay the most special and wonderful experience. We were introduced to some of the staff, who were smiley, warming and unbelievably helpful.

We had opted to stay in the 'The Turquoise Room', a beautiful, calming room, with a large double bed, table and chairs, AC and a huge bathroom with hot water. The room was beautifully decorated, all running with the turquoise theme. The bathroom was huge, with a good shower and shampoo, body-wash etc all for use. The room leads out onto the pool, with the backdrop of trees, flowers, and the occasional monkey!! There are plenty of sunloungers and tables with chairs outside. There are only 5 rooms here, making the stay feel comfortable, and never overcrowded.

Casa Susegad is a massive place, with a large dining room, a massive living room area with TV, games, and sofas under the windows, where you can wish away the hours staring at the wildlife. At the time we were staying, Carole and Norman were awaiting their bar licence, so instead they were operating a 'bring your own bar' area, where their very own barman Peter will make you any cocktails you fancy if you supply the alcohol.

Whilst we were there, we were lucky to experience some of a new menu Carole and Norman were working on. I have to say that the food was the best food i had on my entire trip, and the chickpea curry i had on one the evenings was literally the best curry i've ever eaten. The layout of the food was spectacular, with every attention to detail.

On one of the days, my boyfriend and I went on tour of the village and local area. It was amazing to be able to photograph village women in the rice paddy fields, men herding cows and many other wonderful scenes of sleepy indian village life. There are lots of other add-on activities you can do while here; there's fishing with the locals, yoga, relaxation therapies such a massages etc.

In the few idyllic days we had there, both my boyfriend and I left feeling, re-energised, recharged more relaxed than we had in months, happy and yet also incredibly sad to be leaving so soon. I will be back to stay with Carole and Norman again i hope, and have already recommended it to family and friends. If you want somewhere to go to forget about the world, relax and unwind, in beautiful surroundings, while eating good food and lazing in the sun, this should be your only booking this year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minimeanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Casa Susegad is a lovely, lovely place to stay, and Carole and Norman, the English owners, are really wonderful hosts. There are very few places in the world where you arrive as guests and leave as real friends, but this is what we felt at Casa Susegad. I would give this many more than 5 stars if this were possible.

The house is large and beautiful, the food is really fabulous. I even enjoyed the optional morning yoga (having not tried this for around three decades). Casa Susegad is in a quiet location, where you can hear the birds and the frogs, and village life; its like returning to a previous way of life.

The bedrooms are not large, the bed was a bit hard, and the shower could have been stronger. But these aspects miss the point entirely. We were treated as friends throughout our stay: Norman drove out into the village to find our wandering taxi when we arrived, and on the second day Carole and Norman took us out for a day trip to see the heritage houses and the beaches of south Goa. We were very lucky to have this amazing privilege, as we were the only guests at the time, and the day was a public holiday. I hope you reading this will not all expect this, but I wanted to tell you of it to demonstrate the extent to which Carole and Norman are prepared to engage with their guests. (Actually, I feel a bit bad talking about them in public like this, as I feel that we really did develop a good friendship when we were with them.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This place is a 17th century mansion hidden away in a sleepy hamlet of South Goa called Loutolim. The couple who run the place, Carole and Norman are the most wonderful hosts you would meet anywhere in the world. We stayed there for two nights and three days and we got just what we wanted- an idyllic place to sit back and relax. They make sure you’re always at ease, the staff is really friendly and the bar is really nice.

Everything about the place from their friendly dogs to the elegant furniture in the dining hall to the customised meals, they all add up to the warm experience of living at Casa Susegad. Leave it up to Norman and Carole to give you ideas for exploring Goa, they can really help you experience Goa the way it should be experienced.

I hope to visit Casa Susegad many times in the future and as a young traveller I can say that the place is going to be the benchmark for any place that I go and stay in.

P.S - Oh! And I forgot to mention that Normal and Carole are absolutely great company!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shivanshuN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Casa Susegad is a beautiful Portuguese mansion located in Loutolim, South Goa.
If you're looking for a serene, blissful experience, nothing beats a stay at Casa Susegad.

Located in a quiet and peaceful area, the majestic mansion is run by a lovely couple, Carole and Norman. They are kind and warm and made us feel comfortably at home.
Our flight landed at 6.30 am on a Friday and we were received by the driver. We were welcomed home by Basil, Blondie and Lisa, 3 of their 6 dogs. I am afraid of dogs, but these sweet dogs are friendly and lovable. However if you call up in advance to tell them that you're not comfortable with dogs, they'll take care of it. Norman, the host, was waiting for our arrival and we spent some good time talking with him at the bar. We met Carole later that day and she's a charming lady you'd love to talk to.

The house has 6 beautiful rooms. We stayed at the host's suite which is a gorgeous room with a huge bathroom. The rooms are very beautifully arranged and are peaceful. They have a lovely ambiance at home, perfect for an idyllic stay. The mansion is unspoiled by the tourist crowd and maintains it's tranquility. Bonita served us food, which was great too.

Overall, our experience at Casa Susegad was beautiful and flawless. Carole and Normal are lovely hosts who will make your trip a fabulous one. We returned from Goa absolutely revived. This would be an experience you would never forget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pareen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We chose to stay at Casa Susegad as a holiday within our family sabbatical trip to India whilst my in-laws visited us. Carol and Norman at once made us feel very welcome, special and part of the family. The decor, food and atmosphere suited very well, as did the individual jewellery making sessions, yoga and menagerie!
I have very fond memories of Casa Susegad, wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and would love to go back at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeCousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Goa never fails to amaze me, there is a so much tranquility, nature, yoga, party...you name it.

Casa susegad is one of the best places I have ever seen/visited and I travel every month. Beautiful done up, tastefully decorated. The food is excellent and the staff is very co-operative, warm , friendly. Must see place.

Room Tip: each room is very unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerudra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Very beautiful experience....Though faraway from beach but you wont miss it as the property is done in a true portugal side... its a quaint cottage and a very homely feeling to it and the owners Norman and Carole are such a lovely couple and its literally home away from home :)
Food is very delicious and absolutely home made......
All the staff were very friendly and made a very comfortable stay for us....
I loved the idea of all the pax dining together.
The rooms were very charming and didnot gave a feel of hotel room.....
All the ART Pieces were of put up with nice Aesthetic sense it really added to the beauty of the property....

Definitely will re visit the place :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kShaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casasusegad, Owner at Casa Susegad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Thank-you so much for taking the time to write a review. We remember your visit well and had such a lovely time with you both. We do hope you are able to visit us again some time soon and hope that things are good for you both in the meantime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loutolim
13.6 mi away
MAYFAIR Hideaway Spa Resort
20.1 mi away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#11 of 119 in Calangute
549 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Dudhsagar Spa Resort
Dudhsagar Spa Resort
#2 of 2 in Mollem National Park
285 reviews
10.1 mi away
Casa Menezes
Casa Menezes
#1 of 3 in Goa Velha
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Susegad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Susegad

Address: House No. 589, Orgao, Loutolim 403718, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Loutolim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Loutolim
Price Range: £101 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Susegad 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imaginatively restored colonial mansion house only 20 minutes drive from beaches, with all of the friendliness and charm of a rural village setting. Set in one and a half acres of beautiful grounds we are surrounded by forest and jungle in what is often described as Goa's most beautiful village. Enjoy being pampered, well fed and thoroughly spoiled and find your own meaning for Susegad. Car and driver arranged on request; spa therapies, snooker, home theatre, local walking maps, wi-fi and yoga available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Susegad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Susegad Hotel Loutolim
Casa Susegad Goa/Loutolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing