We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace perfect peace”
Review of Cueva Pedro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castillejar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cueva Pedro
Ranked #2 of 3 Castillejar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2009

If you are looking for somewhere very different to chill-out then Cueva Pedro is perfect. Sally and Kate are fantastic hosts, the warm welcome makes you relax instantly and there are so many thoughtful little touches for guests that I felt at home right away. I had difficulty prising myself away from the gorgeous sun deck and cute bar area (still 24 degrees in October!) but if you have more energy, Kate and Sally have lots of info about of what to do in Castillejar and the surrounding area. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllieScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2008

Just returned from our holiday staying at Cueva Pedro (B&B), and can't wait to go back!
We had such a fantastic time and the accomodation was a big factor towards it -
The rooms were very comfortable, air-conditioned and clean, with small refridgerator, complimentry tea/coffee/biscuits and water. The 'Honesty Bar' was unexpected but a great bonus and very handy.
The cave breakfast room is delightful and, again, lots to choose from for breakfast. Fresh, homemade jams/curd every morning too - Delicious!
All the lunches and evening meals we had were also superb - proper spanish cuisine and made using fresh, local produce and homegrown vegetables off their land.
The splash pool is great fun, and a must for cooling off in the hot, hot heat!
Kate and Sally know the area very well and will recommend restaurants for eating out, activities to do and places to visit.
If you are looking for a real, uncommercial spanish experience, quiet and chilled out holiday then this is the place to go. If you want more exciting activites to do, then Kate can arrange these for you (we did an evening horse trek, this was my favourite!).
We flew in to Murcia airport (2.15 hrs away) but Granda airport is the nearest to Cueva Pedro (only 30 minutes away), so I'll use Granda airport next time.
I'll definately be going again and without question will be staying at Cueva Pedro!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank faysiewasie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Well this was our third stay in Cueva Pedro having made previous trips in February and May. As usual Sally and Kate made us really welcome this time putting us up at at short notice when we were unable to stay in out own cave due to unfinished building works. Bad news for me though when I realised I couldn't attend the therapy day (due to a prior arrangement) that Sally and Kate run on a monthly basis, just the job if you fancy a bit of pampering. As usual Sally's cooking was great, evening meals can be arranged in advanced just the thing to come back to in the evening after a day spent shopping too tired to eat out, and if you fancy a drink the honesty bar means you never have to go to far as this is placed just outside your room. Cueva Pedro is in a fantastic location overlooking the village and has just the right spot to enjoy a Gin and Tonic or two before dinner a lovely seating area where you can watch the world go by. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarquina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Myself and my husband have stayed at Cueva Pedro now numerous times since our first stay. Sally and Kate couldn't make you feel more welcome and their hospitality is second to non.

Definately try the home cooking, especially the spanglish breakfast - excellent to set you up for the rest of the day.

Laze round the pool, hire the bikes for a day (with even a picnic hamper included if you wish) or explore the lovely village of Castillejar and the surrounding area (the gorge walk in Castril is our favourite)

We look forward to more stays at Cueva Pedro - a little piece of heaven

You will not be disappointed xxxx

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MiloMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

if you want something different, go to cueva pedro where you will be guaranteed to recieve a warm, friendly reception, from both sally, kate and the gorgeous dogs! a unique, yet homely, holiday experience...stay in a cool cave house in beautiful castillejar ,in fabulous andalucia, surrounded by mountains, lakes and friendly locals, sample original (and still free! tapas) and visit other cave dwellers in the surrounding villages.. happy memories!

debbie and nigel morley. devon.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirk33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We have stayed at this fabulous cave twice. We had a wonderful time, we were made to feel very welcome on both occasions. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. The home cooked meals were wonderful, english cooking with a flare of Spanish. Lots of little touch,s make your stay here welcome, such as tapas and drinks on arrival, and a bottle of cava in your room waiting for you in the fridge.

The surrounding area is beautiful, with amazing scenery. The villagers are very friendly, and the local bar and shops are within easy walking distance of the cave.

We have recommended Cueva Pedro to our friends and they have stayed there twice also

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DevonDotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

I stayed here with a friend on the 24th April 2008, it was fab!
My friend has limited mobility, and besides a bit of gravel in her shoes now and again, the place was do-able for her.
The reception was brilliant, very friendly and welcoming, cool beers offered, as well as coke etc.. and we sat in the sunshine and took in our surroundings with a nice little chat about the caves etc..
There is a little seat for two people with amazing views over part of the town to distant mountains and rolling hills, perfect for "people watching" too!
They offered us an evening meal, 4 courses for 15 euros...and wow..it was lovely! Roast lamb cooked with plenty of garlic...and washed down with a nice bottle of rose...perfect!
They have an "Honesty Bar", you just help yourself, and write it in a book for them to bill you when you leave...a brilliant idea.
The owners had adopted a few dogs..and there were a few more pooches popping round for visits, so it's helpful if you like dogs as i do! There's also a "Mavis"...she seemed to be the local "news person"..very nice lady and supplied much of my laughter!
The room was ample, clean and had an en-suite.
We had a lovely packed lunch made for our continuing journey at a very reasonable cost..there was lots of it too...
Considering i was looking for somewhere with Spanish hosts, this did not disappoint at all...there are also a few Spanish bars within walking distance too..although we didn't venture very far from the cave itself at all.
I would most definitely recommend this place for a short break, or if you're thinking of buying a cave, staying here would be perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmahuggz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BullyAndalucia, Owner at Cueva Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2008

Sally and Kate would like to thank Emma for her wonderful write up after her stay at Cueva Pedro. It's great for us to know that our hard work is paying off!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cueva Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cueva Pedro

Address: Calle Huescar 18818, 18818 Castillejar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Castillejar
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castillejar
Price Range: £44 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing