We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet elegance with a lovely view looking out on the beautiful sea coast”
Review of La Cameline

La Cameline
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Plougasnou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 October 2018

This is the place to go if you like delicious food served with care and elegance in a lovely setting. You start with an amuse bouche of cucumber and herb flavored crème fraiche. For appetizers, we had small baked scallops in garlic sauce and a scallops and shrimp in a croissant pastry wrap. Our main courses were a rack of lamb with salad and a potato and cheese mold and a beef tournedos with baked apple in a prune/cherry/pan drippings sauce along with a potato and cheese mold. Our desserts were an apple tart with calvados ice cream. We had a nice glass of Muscadet white wine with appetizers and a half bottle of red wine with the main course. Reservations are required, probably well in advance. We would definitely go back in the future. Note: in Brittany, it seems to be the rule that there is only one sitting so the table is yours for the night.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DownhillSkier67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2018

We have been coming to this area for 6 years as we have a house locally and have only just visited La Cameline. We certainly will be coming back. A lovely welcome from Madame who must be the owner. We were given a nice sea view table. Not overly busy considering it was a Sunday lunchtime. We had booked ahead. We chose the 36 euro menu and were not disappointed. Really tasty food. We were given a nice amouse bouche before our starters. My husband had terrine to start and I had scallops which were in a pastry case with a lovely sauce. For our main course I had Lotte with Sauce Americaine, my husband had the lamb . All very good. Hoping to return as soon as we are back in Brittany.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Raven0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

We recently had a 2 course meal at La Cameline. There was a complimentary appetiser of cucumber and yoghurt/cheese mix, I had duck and my husband had the lamb rack. Both were excellent and very tasty. We had the apple pie for desert which we enjoyed. The ambiance was very enjoyable being able to look out at the sea. Joelle was able to converse in English with us which we appreciated. We stayed at the chambre d'hote there and we can also recommend.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank howham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

A small but immaculately kept hotel by the sea in Plougasnou in Brittany. The whole place is spotlessly clean with TV in each room and free Wi-Fi.
However the biggest selling point of this hotel is the restaurant serving excellent food. Don't eat all day so you have room for the three course meal in the evening. All three courses that we had during our two night stay were superb, fresh ingredients beautifully cooked and stylishly presented. I can wholeheartedly recommend this as a place for a stay. If you are arriving at or leaving from Roscoff, treat yourself and allow some extra days so you can try this hotel. It could also be an ideal base to explore the northern coast of Brittany.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank EyewhyBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We have been eating at this restaurant for several years as a couple and a family when on holiday in Northern Brittany. Never disappointed. The menu is not extensive but is very good and wines are reasonably priced. Jorge and Joelle are excellent hosts. If staying in the area as we do it is worth asking whether they will have any ormeaux (abalone) or wood pigeon available. Reliably very good.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SheffieldKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cameline also viewed

 
Roscoff, Finistere
Plougasnou, Finistere
 

Been to La Cameline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing