We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth another visit!”
Review of The Kings Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kings Arms
Witley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well worth another visit!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Visited The Kings Arms for dinner with friends and had a great evening...
Good food at very reasonable prices. Service and and atmosphere were warm and friendly.
Would definitely recommend to friends and will be back for more of the sticky toffee pudding!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had dinner here with 9 others and had a great night. The pub is beautiful outside and inside, chic country with a really warm welcoming feeling. Very reasonable prices and a classic pub food menu.

This is definitley somewhere Id bring friends and family again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyJB-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I had a ideal image of a weekend getaway in the country in my head, and thankful the Kings Arms provided just that. Rooms were very clean and fresh and tastefully decorated, whilst the pub itself was warm and welcoming. It was a little quiet when we arrived in the afternoon for lunch, but mainly due to horrific weather, so we were happy to be sitting by the open fire. Lunch was top notch, and the staff really helpful. Breakfast was good, before we set-out for a walk. In my view this is an ideal location for a couple or small family to come down from London for the weekend and enjoy the fresh air of the South Downs. It manages to strike a balance between modern & fresh, whilst retaining an element of charm and cosiness.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just had a really excellent lunch at this pub with some girlfriends. The atmosphere in the pub is great, country chic in style,with a lovely area to sit and relax in and a very, warm cozy atmosphere to cheer up a horrid rainy day. The staff were delightful and could not have been more helpful, and the menu was very reasonably priced, unlike many others in the area.
Our food was quite delicious, admittedly we were only having a light lunch and chose sandwiches, but they were beautifully made, the chips hot and crisp, salad full of different bits, unlike the usual handful of lettuce leaves usually dumped on a plate, and the whole thing done with style.
I would definitely recommend this pub,The menu is not haute cuisine, just great pub food, but quite the best quality I have eaten in the area,and very reasonably priced and I shall come back with friends and family. Thank you for rescuing this pretty pub, last time we visited two years ago we vowed never to come back, but you have turned it around, and its great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homefarm968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just come home from a lovely 30th birthday lunch for my daughter. Our party of 20, including babies, children and dog were made very welcome. We had preordered food and everything was just perfect. Wish I had ordered the burger though as that looked amazing. Staff could not have been more helpful. Great to have such a good pub on our doorstep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suespiers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A last minute booking- lovely, very clean and comfortable room at a very good rate. Charming and welcoming staff and two very cute pub dogs! We couldn't get a table in the actual pub but were given a table at Banyan, their Indian restaurant in the beautiful barn. We both love Indian so this was a very good surprise and it was 10/10- everything was spot on and very authentic. Very reasonable prices too, pound for pound the best Indian we can remember going to- including Trishna in London. Worth travelling for- a very very good restaurant.

We would 100% go back and stay - loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1jwb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

fabulous meal at the newly opened kings arms, at fernhurst, so glad that we live locally as we will certainly become regulars.
Service was excellent, Food absolutely fantastic, (my husbands fish and chips were the best he had ever tasted) - not bad eh as we regulary visit devon and cornwall.
Couldn't fault anything, the atmosphere was friendly and welcoming and the prices very reasonable.
Well done to the new owners!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laketravellersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernhurst
3.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
5.4 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: Midhurst Road | Fernhurst, Fernhurst GU27 3HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Fernhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Fernhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the South Downs, The Kings Arms is a traditional English country pub in an historic timber framed building, dating back to the 17th Century. This Grade II listed building has been lovingly restored to its former splendour with modern touches offering a taste of how a real pub should be in a relaxed yet professional environment welcoming travellers and locals alike. Why not sit on one of our sofas by a cosy fire in the winter or in our large beer garden with stunning views in the summer months. If you want to extend you stay with us, we also have six en suite rooms in a converted stable block. Why not explore the surrounding area which is home to the Cowdray Estate famous for polo and golf, Goodwood Racecourse and also a number of beautiful National Trust walks and cycling routes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Fernhurst, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing