We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive average lunch ”

Brechin Castle Garden Centre
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Brechin
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Description: Garden Centre and Retail Outlet with Coffee Shop and scenic 70 acre Country Park. A great meeting place with convenient location to the A90 and ample free parking. Our Coffee Shop offers a spacious and light environment to enjoy coffees with homemade cakes or hot food and snacks for all the family. Our Garden Centre is very well stocked with quality garden and leisure products. We stock a large range of plants, including flowers, shrubs, outdoor plants and trees. Looking for an unusual or unique gift? Choose from a large range of Giftware, Home Lifestyle and Clothing, Fashion Accessories and Jewellery. Our Garden Shop and Home Hardware departments offer a selection of hand tools, power tools, dinner-wares, home textiles, electrical items, decorating sundries, gardening equipment, outdoor living and so much more! Access to our Country Park is FREE (unless for Specific Events) and everyone can enjoy a stroll round our water feature, outdoor children's play area with jumping pillows, go-karts and sandpit. View our majestic Birds of Prey in the aviary. Look out for details of our Events online for flying demonstrations and handling experiences.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An expensive average lunch ”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Been here quite a few times now and have come to the conclusion it's just too expensive for what it is, Very simple food at an above average price. The outdoor play area is great for kids but in future think we will be eating elsewhere.

Helpful?
2 Thank Fpauli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin Castle C, Guest Relations Manager at Brechin Castle Garden Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for visiting our Centre "quite a few times" and for taking time to review Fpauli.
Our customer feedback is very important to us as we continually review our product offer and pricing to ensure we provide value and that our prices are comparable in the market.
We thank you for your feedback on our pricing which will be considered in our review.

We are delighted that you enjoy our outdoor play area and Country Park which as you know we supply free of charge in our product offer.
We do look forward to welcoming you again in future visits to our Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    64
    49
    29
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Rubbish Food for Children”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The childrens lunch boxes here are rubbish and very poor value for the money you pay. The bread was very stale and when I complained, the member of staff was not very helpful, so would not recommend to eat here. My food was ok nothing really yummy but at least it was edible and it filled a space. My cup of tea was nice though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArleneD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin Castle C, Guest Relations Manager at Brechin Castle Garden Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your lunch ArleneD69. We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your children's meal quality and the standard of service you received on your visit for which we can only apologise. You do not mention in your review if you asked for our Coffee Shop Manager to alert her to both issues at the time so that she could take action to resolve your dissatisfaction. We are pleased that you enjoyed your food and cup of tea.
With regards to pricing, we do continually review our offer and pricing of our products to ensure we offer value to our customers and are comparable in the marketplace. Customer feedback plays an important role in this review and we thank you for yours which we will consider.
We do hope that you will allow us another visit to demonstrate to you the standards of quality and service which we aim to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Children's packed lunches - rip off”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I wish Brechin Castle Centre could revert to how to used to be - pay for entry to the play park and bring your own picnic...

Would it be wrong of me to think that 4 children's packed lunches from Brechin Castle Centre, costing £18 in total, is a tad on the expensive side?

The kids sandwiches weren't even made up, apparently, according to customer feedback, customers prefer to make their own (I observed plenty of adult sandwiches being made up prior to being served). The sandwiches weren't proper sandwiches but a petit pain, dry, roll.

Each lunchbox box was missing one or more items, resulting in having to go on a hunt for the missing items.

I spoke to the so-called restaurant manager but she wasn't bothered at all and suggested next time we visit I ask them to make the sandwiches for me. Er no, there will be no next time we get ripped off in your restaurant - will be bringing a picnic and eating it elsewhere.

It's a shame as this experience ruins what could be an excellent day out, plenty of space for kids to run around and great play equipment. I'm not sure though about the aviary bit, I've never been keen on birds of prey / owls kept in cages.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin Castle C, Guest Relations Manager at Brechin Castle Garden Centre, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback Clare P and as per your facebook message we have responded to you privately on your disappointment with our children's meals.
Thank you for the positives in your review on our Country Park facilities and play area. We understand that many people would prefer to see Birds of Prey in the wild and our partner providers Angus Falconry Services have ensured the aviary was designed with the care of the birds as priority. The birds in our aviary have all been hand reared in captivity and are fed and checked twice daily by experienced handlers. The birds can be seen at flying demonstrations and educational visits in order to promote awareness and knowledge of birds of prey found in the wild in Scotland. Angus Falconry Services also provide Hawking and hunting experiences here within the Country park for those who prefer to see these magnificent birds in action in their natural habitat.
You can find full details of flying demonstrations and the chicks which are currently being reared in our aviary on our website News and Events page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kids had a blast”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Decided to go in past here on the way back home and took the kids through to play area where they had loads of fun especially on the big bouncy trampolines they have at the play area, even one where the adults can go on. Kids had a good time and enjoyed playing their.

Helpful?
1 Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin Castle C, Guest Relations Manager at Brechin Castle Garden Centre, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit graham m. We are delighted you and your kids had fun in our play area and enjoyed having "a blast" on our jumping pillows.

Remember children 12 years and under can take part in our school holiday Search for the Butterflies competition to receive a FREE juice and biscuit - more details on our website.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced maybe?”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've been to Brechin Castle Centre on numerous occasions. The food is good - I've not been disappointed yet - but I do feel that some of it is a little overpriced (cakes, scones etc). That said it hasn't stopped me going back. And the staff have always been very nice, which is something I value. The cafe is huge so can accommodate a large number of people and there are views over the park for which there is a charge to visit. Guide dogs and hearing dogs are welcome, although if it's busy wheelchair accesscoul d be troublesome. I'm sure the staff would help though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin Castle C, Guest Relations Manager at Brechin Castle Garden Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your continued support and for taking time to review us on your recent visit Valerie C. Our customer service is of utmost importance to us too and we are delighted that you always find our staff "very nice". We continually review our product offer and pricing and have taken on board your comments on the bakery pricing. It is true we could possibly source a cheaper product however we do prefer to offer home baked cakes and scones to ensure our customers receive the freshest and best quality we can provide.
As a busy destination we try hard to ensure ease of access for all and staff are only too willing to offer help with carrying food or ensuring freedom of movement for customers with wheelchairs, assistance dogs, children's pushchairs and high chairs.
We do hope you will visit again soon Valerie C and enjoy our Country Park which is FREE of charge to visit. We only charge for admission when we are holding an event, with nominal entry charges to cover costs. These events are advertised in the Centre and on our website and social media. At all other times you can enjoy a stroll through our scenic 70 acres, watch the wildfowl on the water, the birds of prey in the aviary and use the children's play activities for FREE.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brechin Castle Garden Centre also viewed

 

Been to Brechin Castle Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing