We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed with changes”

Brechin Castle Garden Centre
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Brechin
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Description: Garden Centre and Retail Outlet with Coffee Shop and scenic 70 acre Country Park. A great meeting place with convenient location to the A90 and ample free parking. Our Coffee Shop offers a spacious and light environment to enjoy coffees with homemade cakes or hot food and snacks for all the family. Our Garden Centre is very well stocked with quality garden and leisure products. We stock a large range of plants, including flowers, shrubs, outdoor plants and trees. Looking for an unusual or unique gift? Choose from a large range of Giftware, Home Lifestyle and Clothing, Fashion Accessories and Jewellery. Our Garden Shop and Home Hardware departments offer a selection of hand tools, power tools, dinner-wares, home textiles, electrical items, decorating sundries, gardening equipment, outdoor living and so much more! Access to our Country Park is FREE (unless for Specific Events) and everyone can enjoy a stroll round our water feature, outdoor children's play area with jumping pillows, go-karts and sandpit. View our majestic Birds of Prey in the aviary. Look out for details of our Events online for flying demonstrations and handling experiences.
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We visited the country park side of the business regularly ten to twelve years ago when our son was a toddler and it was wonderful and for it being local was a plus. People traveller from all over to visit.

But now there is only to bouncy things and a small unkept park. So no petting farm or any animal to be seen. No railway. No mini tractors or trikes. Just nothing. We had a great day planned for our grandchildren as we expected the great service as before. Oh also no Pictavia.

The excuse from the girl. What do you expect for free and they could not afford the upkeep of the animals.

Nonsense. In the past the facilities were mobbed all year now on a Saturday during the October holidays the place was empty apart from OAPs having cups of tea or lunch. We will never return as there is a fabulous place where kids can play and feed the animals.

SO DISAPPOINTED IN YOU BRECHIN CASTLE CENTRE

Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin Castle C, Manager at Brechin Castle Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

I am very sorry you were disappointed with our offer at the Centre. And equally so that you were given incorrect information by our staff member about the Country Park, in what appears to have been an unpleasant manner.
However a few things do concern me regards your visit. Our park is 65 acres in total, we also have a staff member who looks after the grounds on a daily basis.
We have pedal/mini tractors in the court yard, we have also aviaries with birds of prey, we have slides, and swings also, all freely available on a daily basis. Perhaps you were not near the courtyard area and missed them.
Regards, the animals and feeding of the animals, this was not encouraged by our Environmental Health Officer, we also had Safety issues regards the keeping of the animals in an unmanned park.
Pictavia was never owned by Brechin Castle Centre, it was owned by Angus Council, who made the decision to close it well over a year ago unfortunately. The information was well publicised in the press.
The model railway we used to have was very old, and was bought a long time ago, unfortunately we were unable to source replacement parts for it. We have not had the model railway now for around 7 years.
I know that this explanation will not make up for your disappointment, but perhaps may go a little way toward explaining the reasons for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Offers hot meals as well as sandwiches. Self service set up, and a large seating area so no need to book. Lovely home baking so make sure to eave room for a small sample!

Thank Gael999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin Castle C, Marketing Assistant at Brechin Castle Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated by everyone here at Brechin Castle Centre, especially those working in the coffee shop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

what a lovely place to go to for a few hours, went here today had a short walk,went into gift shop and then into coffee shop,lovely place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin Castle C, Marketing Assistant at Brechin Castle Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Garden center, shop, country park and cafe very nice place to spend a few hours, big pond for motorboat enthusiasts and a great play area for children, well stocked shop with everything from jams through to garden equipement and plants. Nice walks round the pond as well. Dogs not allowed in the shop (apart from guide dogs).

Thank berglas71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

I am local to the area and often visit for browsing and lunch or tea and bun break. I found this hard to rate and dithered between average and very good.
What's very good:
The food choice is excellent and portion sizes are good.
The comfort of the dining area is excellent. Plenty space, bright and airy, large tables not crammed too close to one another.
Great selection of cakes and buns and a good cuppa.
What's ok/acceptable:
Meal quality is perfectly acceptable for hot plate serving.
Can get very busy and queues can get quite long, but usually do move reasonably quickly
Room for improvement:
the service can be hit or miss. One day it is great, the next not quite so much. Seems the staff can get busy, then stressed, which is then felt by customer. It's a mighty shame when this happens.
Yes, deserves a very good rating. For hot plate serving it is, well, very good! Can be let down by the inattentive and stressed service though.

Thank AngusApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin Castle C, Marketing Assistant at Brechin Castle Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoy the food in our coffee shop and that you choose to visit us regularly.

We give regular training to our staff and will continue to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brechin Castle Garden Centre also viewed

 

Been to Brechin Castle Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing