We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food ”
Review of The Caledonian

The Caledonian
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Brechin
Price range: £5 - £30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Brechin's foremost real ale pub & restaurant. In CAMRA's Good Beer Guide since 2005. Great food freshly prepared by our chef Stephen Field served in the relaxing and welcoming environment of our large wood-and-stone open-plan bar/dining area. A great selection of quality drinks on offer including wines, Belgian beers, Scottish cask ales and malt whiskies ideal to accompany a meal or to enjoy on their own.
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

We visited the Caledonian tonight and what a lovely experience it was ! Lovely fresh food and perfect service we will be back. The food was fresh and well presented 😊

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank suebF4850TD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2018

First time in here and we were given a friendly welcome in the bar. It's cosily decorated and the menu has all the things you want to see on a nice pub table (steak & ale pie, fish and chips, home made burgers etc) as well as a bunch of other choices. The traditional food we had was good - well cooked, seasoned and tasty. We also tried a couple of the specials which weren't quite so good - maybe out of the usual comfort zone? But they were cooked right and I'd still visit again.

Definitely an asset to the town.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FuelledByRowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Myself and my partner agreed this is one of the best burgers we've had.
Huge fresh handmade burgers with superb toppings.
Generous portions also.
Can't wait to be back up this way to visit again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jeno166c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We stop in a farm cottage not far from Brechin on a regular basis and so it's always good to have a lovely local place to eat like this. The food is always of a very high quality, very tasty and plenty of it. Real ales are on offer and a good range of Scottish malt whiskies and craft gins. Worth seeking out if you are in the area.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LJH_Worcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Macaroni ( cheese penne) like my granny made and my auntie Norma had haddock & chips for a Sunday tea - excellent food and great price

Date of visit: May 2018
3  Thank Fglwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Caledonian also viewed

 

Been to The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.