We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brechin
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The second time in 8 days the Northern Hotel restaurant provided an enjoyable dining experience. Arriving at 6.45 on a friday evening the room was quite busy but we were seated quickly seated unfortunately it was some time before we had our order taken and disappointingly there was only one of a particular starter left. However both starters and main courses were very tasty and again the Northern proved to be worth eating out in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ihammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    77
    20
    6
    9
See reviews for
51
69
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here in a double room with my husband for 3 nights. Whilst medium in size and en suite, our room backed onto a brick wall so if it's a view you want (in the Scottish countryside...), request one.

Though lacking in any traditional charm, it is very clean with with all the necessary amenities: TV, hair dryer, iron. The weather wasn't good however and the hotel were unable to lend us an umbrella - this would be a nice touch to heed for future visitors. Breakfast buffet is cooked and filling. Weekdays the buffet closes earlier than the weekends - we were not warned of this so made do with a low fat yoghurt and 1 cup of tea this morning which was unfortunate. This was after a 6.30am fire alarm which woke us and had us running to the rainy street in pyjamas for which we didn't receive an apology.

The restaurant is fine - though even as hotel guests we were warned that it would take half an hour just to take our dinner order, let alone cook and serve it. We weren't wiling to sit the wait, so went for a great Indian, opposite.

The hotel is large and clearly takes parties. We arrived whilst a wedding was in full flow. Whilst amusing to witness the many drunken guests - they were loud, as was he Hudsons bar music. If peace and quiet is what you're after - request a higher room and check dates with functions.

Overall, perfectly fine stay - good for big parties, but won't find the rustic charm other local b&bs could offer and they need to work on their communication with guests.

Room Tip: Avoid noisy rooms on ground and first floor and request a room with a view otherwise, you may get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LettsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelNorthern, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Lettie, thanks for your stay at the Northern. I am glad you found the hotel very clean with all necessary amenities. A lot of our guests are pleased with the refurbished decor but we are sorry if you felt it lacked charm. We do normally have a brolly at reception, I will ensure it is available.
The breakfast is a cold buffet and a hot full breakfast menu with waitress service. During the week it finishes at 930 and this should have been pointed out at check in - we can be flexible with these times however and will often serve earlier and later times. It is my understanding that you stated you were 'fine' with tea and yogurt but if this is not the case then I apologise. We could have offered a plated breakfast even if it was later, perhaps this was not communicated strongly enough.
It doesnt take half an hour to take a dinner order. I am very disappointed that this was your understanding.
We occassionally have functions but they are not usually as loud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice location. Staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived late but were still able to get dinner at the restaurant. Food was very good. The room was very comfortable and handicapped friendly.

Parking was limited and somewhat hard to find, especially if you arrive later in the day. Wifi was available but very slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoutmomskf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I had the pleasure of eating here with my daughter today and was overwhelmingly impressed by the foods quality, portion size & the reception from the staff.
We had chilli n cheese flatbread & coronation chicken baked potato. Both came with the most fresh and delicious salads n dressing, crunchy flavourful coleslaw. Both in light moreish dressings. The food was perfect and such great value for money. My daughter also enjoyed a sticky toffee sundae which rendered her silent for it's duration and our lovely waitress had the consideration to provide two spoons! Coffee and mints finished the experience and the bill was a pleasant £20
We will return!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sarahm391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went to the Northern as part of graduation celebration. The main guest was running late, this was explained to the staff however we were still asked to consider moving to a smaller table!!!! This was completely ridiculous as the restaurant was very quiet. Five of the guest ordered meals that came with chips. When they came to the table we were expected to share a small bowl between all five of us. We asked for another bowl and were charged for it. As for deserts well when asked if one guest could have simply ice cream and fruit the chef declined to do this claiming they had no fruit. Surely the Norther offer their guest fruit as a breakfast option so I find it very difficult to understand why they claimed to have no fruit!!! And even more so since the rest of the deserts came out with fruit on the plates!
One person from the table ordered a drink which they only got after asking again for it. I know these things happen however as mentioned the place was not busy so I fail to see why this was a problem. Also they lost a lot of money that evening by not asking the rest of the table if they too wanted more drinks.
Due to being from Brechin I thought it was good to be supporting local businesses however I really wish we had taken the celebrations elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Vikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelNorthern, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
As the manager I can assure you that your business is very much valued.

I am very disappointed that you did not feel this was the case at your celebration. I will bring your comments to everyone's attention to ensure that this does not happen again.

I have spoken to our kitchen who would have been happy to have offered fruit and ice cream. I am sorry that this has not happened.
Also, you should have received a large oval dish of chips which hasn't been carried out correctly with your order.

I can only apologise sincerely for these errors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Very relaxing time, hotel was lovely and clean, spacious room with large bathroom, and the food didn't disappoint either, service was abit slow due to a lack of staff but as there's nothing to do in Brechin there was no rush, 2nd morning there was no hot water but we were compensated for that, would l visit again yes l would.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here with 3 friends whilst on a golfing trip in the area.
The staff I dealt with were friendly and courteous.
Rooms were clean and comfortable and modern.
Although the shower was cold in the morning we found out during checkout that the hot water system had broken down that morning so not the hotels fault.
Evening meal in the hotel was fantastic with varied choices and good value for money. Breakfast was also very good.
Would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brechin
5.1 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
7.5 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
22.6 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
13.8 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Property: Northern Hotel
Address: 2 Clerk Street, Brechin DD9 6AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brechin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Hotel Brechin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing