We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lagartero
Certificate of Excellence
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful Oasis”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were completely relaxed after three days of hammock time, beach walks, and delicious foods at Hibiscus Garden. Simon and Rosie, the managers, were excellent hosts and even surprised us with champagne and dancing to celebrate our honeymoon. For a little more activity, we took a classic beach horseback ride with guide, Alberto, and loved hearing about the local floral and fauna. I highly recommend a stay here to relax, recharge, and just enjoy life.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kryan22016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    39
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
33
98
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is a beautiful place to chill and relax in a hammock or on the lonely beach. The beach is not the greatest in the area but it is still very nice and there are not many people around. There are different room sizes like family suites incl. a private terrace and also smaller rooms with shared bathroom. All rooms have a cosy interior and feature fans (AC as well I think, but I'm not sure as I never use AC). You can use the communal kitchen or you can rely on the cooking skills of the chef in the restaurant. All dishes were very tasty and well presented but also quite pricy, still good value for your money.
The one point that makes this place really special is the management. Very very friendly, helpful and obliging. The personal touch that Simon, Rosie and the rest of the crew give the place make you feel at home. We really enjoyed staying here.

One hint: If you come to Santa Catalina to surf and don't have your own car this is most probably not the right place for you as it will take you some time and money to get to the waves. In this case you might prefer a guesthouse in Santa Catalina.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We just spent 5 fantastic days between Playa Lagartero and Santa Catalina. Hibiscus Garden has it all: unique location at the beginning of a very long and beautiful beach where you can walk, ride a horse, find amazing shells, swim, wakeboard, do some paddle board...depending on the tide.
You can relax on a hammock, watch amazing birds, enjoy great meals meanwhile talking to charming hosts, Rosie and Simon, just adorable.
The road to Santa Catalina is easy, so you can go surfing or diving to Coiba or just enjoy the peaceful and lovely atmosphere of the village. We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfamilyMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salta, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hibiscus garden 2 nights and could easily have stayed longer even though we don't surf.

Simon, the manager, was absolutely charming and spent lots of time socialising with us and making us feel at home.

The food was impeccable and pretty reasonable considering the remoteness and quality. There is also a satisfactory kitchen to use if you want to cook for yourself.

A brilliantly chilled 2 days, I look forward to going back!


Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisgeorge89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The place was great, rustic and nice for us with two kids in a family room with bunk beds. And the cost for the room was reasonable. I agree the food is quite expensive, but Sven is an incredible chef with some amazing concoctions. Rosi and Simon are amazing hosts. The beach is great for beach combing, but remember it's the Pacific and it's brown/muddy. There's tons of space and there's a well-equipped kitchen. The road sucks and you should have a 4WD to get there. It's 10km from town, but we were very happy to stay outside of town than in Santa Catalina which didn't seem like it was worth the raving.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at Hibiscus Garden because we wanted to dive Coiba, and this looked like the nicest place around Santa Catalina. I was worried at first about being "out of town", but it turns out "town" wasn't much to speak of, so I was really happy with our choice. The place has a nice vibe, we met and swapped stories and tips with a bunch of friendly fellow travellers during the two nights we were there, and I'd have happily stayed longer if we weren't so pushed for time. Simon and Rosie were charming hosts, and Fred (apparently a stand-in for the regular chef) cooked excellent food.

There are several buildings, dotted around a rambling property, nestled among trees between a mangrove creek and a long, deserted beach with views of islands and mountains. Rooms are pretty rustic but cheerful, ours had a balcony with hammock, and a decent bathroom. There's a communal kitchen/dining area if you want self-catering, and a lovely outdoor bar/restaurant area which is a really nice place to sit, eat, drink and chat, I could have stayed there all night.

The only slight niggle is the dirt road getting into the property, which I was a bit worried about tackling after some heavy weather the day before we left. But I managed to get out without any trouble in my rented Hyundai, even with four people and luggage, and I'm sure it's not a problem in the dry season. In any case, if you want off the beaten track, you have to take the rough with the smooth.

Thanks to everyone at Hibiscus Garden... I wish we didn't have to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Nice place in the nature with all you need to chill out... walks, horses, nice view, beach, river
Simon and Glenn are greats hosts, they offered us amazing nights...the english-kiwi "duetto" is perfect!

Fred prepared us excellent food ... I'm italian and hard to pleas :)

Simon's projet about organic agriculture, and creating new cabanas more merged in the nature are great ideas for this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Concetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagartero
4.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
430 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 23 in Santa Catalina
124 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Reina
Hotel Playa Reina
#1 of 1 in Playa Reina
33 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Santa Catalina
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Santa Ca...
#2 of 23 in Santa Catalina
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hibiscus Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hibiscus Garden

Property: Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Address: Playa Lagartero, Lagartero, Panama
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Lagartero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lagartero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hibiscus Garden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hibiscusgarden Hotel & Restaurant is owned by a German family and run by an exellent German chef Sven and also by very nice Italian Managers. It is situated right on the Pacific coast in the province of Veraguas next to the little fishermen village called Lagartero and 10 km from the touristic town of Santa Catalina.The hotel has 9 individual designed guestrooms of different comfort- and price levels, which are decorated with natural accessories like driftwood, shells and mosaics, as well as a camping site. We offer the use of a clean and well equipped communal kitchen as well as a Restaurant, which offers a fine selection of regional and international specialties. You can enjoy a wide range of leisure activities around our remote beach, like horseback riding or SUP and we will be happy to help you to arrange trips to our famous Nationalpark Coiba for snorkeling, diving and wildlife watching. We hope to see you soon! Your Hibiscus Garden Team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hibiscus Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscusgarden Hotel Lagartero
Hotel Hibiscus Garden Panama/Lagartero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing