We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Poppies

Poppies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Poppies
Kitchen/dining area Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Poppies
Kitchen/dining area
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Shower room
Double shower
Floor plan
Garden
Garden with decking
Berrynarbor, Village Centre
Berrynarbor, Pub and distant sea view
St Peter's Church, Berrynarbor
Berrynarbor
Watermouth Harbour
Little Hangman
Ilfracombe Harbour
Verity, Ilfracombe
Lantern Hill, Ilfracombe
Great Hangman (from Holdstone Down)
Woody Bay - winter scene
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alan W
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

On arrival there was a very friendly greeting from the owner. On entering the cottage it was immediately noticeable that everything was clean and tidy. On the kitchen counter was a welcome basket with scones, jam and cream (they didn't last long!) and a pint of milk in the fridge. A good size TV with a Sky topbox and use of the owners wifi made for easy planning of days out and keeping in contact with family and friends. Unfortunately BT Mobiles do not work but that is where the wifi came into it's own. We would not hesitate recommending this property and plan on returning ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just a great cottage
Liked least: I prefer a slightly deeper, softer mattress. But not a complaint!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review, and for being so complimentary about our little cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel G
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“everything a holiday cottage should be and more”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

step inside poppies and you have the wow factor its everything you want for the perfect holiday stay. equiped with everything you need from bin bags to wifi, you are also spoilt with flowers and the most amazing cream tea. Andy, Alison, and Sophie are very warm welcoming people, it feels as though you have allways known them, and of coarse the lovely maybel is adorable, whilst on your stay take a walk around Berrynarbor and see how many flowerpot peaple you can find, weve had a brilliant holiday hope you enjoy yours .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2014
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Poppies. Thank you for such an amazing review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B
Devon, Pennsylvania
1 review
“the nicest, cleanest & best equipped holiday rental we had been to in 50 years of winter holidays.”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

the nicest, cleanest & best equipped holiday rental we had been to in 50 years of winter holidays. poppies is a little gem set in Berrynarbor the jewel in the crown village of the stunning North Devon coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2014
What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for your comments. We do hope you choose to come back to Poppies soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasonedT...
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

As all the other reviews have said this is a little gem, in a great location and everything you need to make a great holiday. Andy & Alison couldn't do enough for you and have put a lot of hard work into the property and it shows. Thanks for the very enjoyable week, we hope to return sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotlessly clean home from home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Many thanks for such a fabulous review. So glad you enjoyed your stay - you were wonderful neighbours!! Love to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could not have wished for a better place to stay, lovely cottage.”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a lovely holiday at Poppies. The cottage was beautiful, very clean, cosy and comfortable, with a lot of thought and care having been taken by the owners to ensure that their visitors really enjoyed their stay. The fresh flowers, scones, jam and Devonshire clotted cream wer ejust a few of the personal touches which made our arrival very welcoming after our journey, and we had a lovely welcome from Allison and Sophie on our arrival, not to mention Mabel, their lovely chocolate labrador. Andy and Allison were extremely helpful with their local knowledge and we found the information booklets extremely interesting and useful when planning our stay. Having wi fi was a real bonus, as was the extra Sky channels. There were lots of walks for us to take Shep our Border Collie, but a real bonus was the dog exercise field a short distance up the lane, which we used everyday. We made good use of the Community Shop and found that they had a really good selection of most things that we needed, and that they were able to order in specific items ready for the next day. Shep also behaved very well, especially when we went out for lunch. Most of the local pubs allow dogs in the bar area which is not a pastime which he is used to I might add, but he took it all in his stride, which was an added bonus for us, and meant that he could always be with us. We would certainly recommend Poppies to anyone looking for a nice relaxing holiday in North Devon, and very much hope to return in the not too distant future. Good Luck Andy, Allison, Sophie and Mabel you are a lovely family and made exceptionally good neighbours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was really good, no complaints whatsoever.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
What a fabulous review, thank you so much. We are so pleased you (and Shep) enjoyed everything North Devon has to offer. Look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M
U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

So many previous visitors have said how lovely Poppies is. The cottage, the location, the very helpful owners, etc., etc. I completely agree with everything that’s been said before. All I can add is that the tech provision at Poppies is particularly impressive. The comprehensive Sky package includes Sky Sports and Sky Movies, the Wi-Fi signal is strong and fast throughout the property, and the iPod dock is a nice additional touch.
We had such a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly and helpful owners.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review; we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in North Devon and hope to welcome you back to Poppies soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south east
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom
Liked least: No bath [a personal preference although shower excellent]
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back to Poppies soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$64
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing