We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Sandy Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Reviewed 22 September 2013

First time in Sandy Cove Hotel and not sure what to expect after reading some experiences on TA we turned into the hotel and the view is to die for
The room( No 27 ) overlooking the sea was a good size and the decor to a good standard the bed was very comfortable the ensuite was large only comment the window needs to be obscure or plain glass or you need the blind down all the while and the reason I did not give it 5
The restaurant was very nicely arranged most with views over the sea
The food and choice of daily menu's was very good
We had DBB and was well worth the money
Overall we had an excellent visit and have no hesitation in recommending

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smax307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy our views from your bedroom and that you also enjoyed the food. It is so nice to hear that you thought that the dinner bed and breakfast was good value for money and we hope that you will come and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and myself stayed at this hotel last December 2012 for our Anniversary, The receptionist was frosty to say the least, when I booked I was not informed of a Christmas disco throughout December, she took great delight in telling us "it would not be a quiet evening" also no fine dinning, smorgasbord only, so we went elsewhere to eat, the glasses in the room were filthy, so asked for them to be replaced, they were just as bad....the room was dusty one towel between 2 people, cold brewed coffee was given on two occasions so gave up on that also, really spoilt our Anniversary I was very upset......I did write to the hotel when we got home but they never had the manners to reply.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your review. In December we do do very reasonable and cheaply priced rates as we run christmas party nights - some rooms would be as low as £25 per person for bed & breakfast. Christmas parties are advertised on our website. We are sorry you did not eat with us as we do have an AA Rosette awarded restaurant. The Smorgasbord is only a starter table, we have been doing this for 35 years and are now well-known for it. The Smorgasbord table consists of seafoods, salmon, fish, cold meats & salamis, homemade salads, quiches, cheeses and a selection of homemade desserts and what is unusual with this is that you can visit the table as many times as you like. The Christmas party nights are very popular and we have people that have been coming to us for many years but we are sorry you were disappointed. We are sorry you were only given one towel, this is completely wrong, and if you had informed reception this would have been rectified immediately. We do have feedback forms and a letter in each room asking you to notify us if you do have any problems. We do take all reviews very seriously, but as you have written the review 10 months after your stay, we may well have different staff and so it is very difficult to reprimand them. We have looked through our files and cannot find a letter from you so we are very sorry if we did not receive it. Thank you once again for writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I will start with what a fantastic few days. The hotel offers a superb view, wonderful cuisine and the hospitality from the young staff is to be commended. We met a number of past visitors and shared opinions over a drink and it was clear we all were of the same opinion. This said we also all shared the view that the hotel is a little tired and needed a little facelift. unfortunately one of the guests who had enjoyed the venue on 3-4 occasions informed us that they would not be back. I note a lot spent on refurb and i guess most of it on the extension and new roof, but for a very small cost it would be perfect. The shared opinion was that the passage way doors needed a lick of paint and a new carpet. We and two other couples had superior rooms and the fittings were not secure, toilet roll holder fell off, and shower fitting hanging. The girls highlighted lots of big cobwebs in the lounge, albeit we suggested it adds to the authenticity.. I would not normally comment on such small pointers but it offers so much and with just a little more attention it would 'perfic'. Thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: Sea views wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthamptonWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your review- we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is really nice to hear how helpful our staff are- we will be sure to pass these comments on to them. We do also take all negative feedback on board and we are in the process of refurbishing the entire Hotel. We have also informed the relevant departments of the other points that you have addressed and do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A friend from work recommended this place to me she kept going on about it at work so I took her advice and booked a 3 day break. I'm so glad I did the view is stunning, the food is wonderful and the staff are so friendly and helpful. I'm now telling all my other friends how great it is. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, to me it's a 4 star hotel at 3 star prices. There's not a hotel in the world that you can't nit-pick about but to me it's location, food, service & surrounding area and this ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review- we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it is always nice to hear when people are recommending us. We will be sure to pass on your lovely comments regarding the staff and the food and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arranged a last minute vacation in north Devon with some relatives that had come over from Canada as we love the Woolecombe, Ilfracombe and Lynton area. The cost of the hotel is more than I would spend which at first was an initial downside, BUT, it was so worth while. First off, I spoke to a lovely lady called Barbara who could not be helpful enough on the phone.

We loved the fact that it was set up on the hill overlooking the Coombe Martin Bay and just 10 minutes from Ilfracombe. The hotel was `oldy worldy' but clean and the rooms were well maintained and fresh. Our Canadian family loved it. The views were amazing, the staff were fantastic given that we had a party of 16 including 5 children. The food was spectacular and the staff were down to earth and could not have been more helpful. The chef even cooked the Mackrel we had caught for our lunch and served it with chips without charging any extra.

When we consider the above and the breakfast and four course dinners (which were lovely and menus changed daily) were included, the price paid was more than worth it.

Look forward to going back, thank you.

Room Tip: Phone the hotel rather than book via internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xmasinnywiththekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is so nice to hear the lovely comments regarding our staff and I will be sure to pass these on. It is also really nice to hear that you thought it was good value for money and we hope that you will come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Beware the cost doesn't stack up. We had a broken venetian blind in the bathroom when you sat on the loo you could be seen from the footpath by people passing by as the window was clear glass . The lock on the bathroom door was faulty when leaving the bathroom you had to knock to be let out. We reported this to reception but no one repaired the blind or door. In the restaurant we had sausages we could not slice through as they were so hard. A plate that had not been washed properly and still had food and a long hair attached plus dirty cutlery and stewed coffee.
The hotel has an excellent view and good walks to Combe Martin or Ilfracombe.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the part of the hotel that has been slightly refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry for any problems you had, we think this has been lack of communication on our part. When you reported the problems you had, the maintenance team did visit your room to see the blind, a new blind was ordered immediately and the lock on the bathroom door was signed off as repaired - we do have a maintenance book for all problems. We are therefore very sorry as this was an error on our part. We had a meeting with the Chef immediately after reading your review and she has now changed supplier with regard to the sausages. As to your other comments about crockery and cutlery we have had a meeting with the Restaurant manager who has now introduced new systems to ensure that this does not happen again. We very much hope you would give us another chance and visit again in the future; if you did want to visit again, please ring in advance and speak to a manager and we will ensure that your stay is a comfortable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

had a lovely three course meal on mother's day,the chef made the best food ever,beautiful food, cooked perfectly was so stuffed. Amazing views, must ask for a sea view as it is a view to die for,in such a beautiful quite location.,

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiemays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of our food- Our Chef has won an AA Rosette for her food and it is so nice to hear that people do enjoy it so much. We will be sure to pass on your comments to her and we hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
3.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
860 reviews
9.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
902 reviews
4.8 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Hotel

Address: Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Price Range: £65 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Sandy Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ilfracombe
Hotel Sandy Cove
Sandy Cove Hotel Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing