We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandy Cove Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Imperial Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Osborne Hotel(Ilfracombe)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
US$138
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Bay Hotel(Ilfracombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Darnley Hotel(Ilfracombe)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveller rating
345
127
100
62
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
345
127
100
62
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewfood was amazingsteam roomswimming poolsuperior roomrestaurant managerwedding venueexclusive usea la carte menuwedding breakfastroof terracedaughters weddingthe main hotelbed breakfastbar menufamily roompower shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
627 - 632 of 677 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Couldn't believe the price for our long weekend break. An excellent deal to brighten up a dismal November and we were lucky with the weather too!
Staff very professional and helpful, all aiming to make our visit as good as possible with hints about where to go and what to do without being overbearing.
Only reason for not giving the full five was the standard of decor in our room, which was perfectly comfortable but not luxurious or plush and pet hair on the carpet which was not good. The glorious view of the cove more than made up for it. Very cosy bed and good quality linen helped too.
Food was plentiful, well presented and mostly generous. The Swedish Smorgasbord on Saturday night was expected to be a bit of a messy bun-fight as the hotel was full but it was a magnificent spread which was never over crowded and kept looking good until the last guests arrived. I would have been happy to have just made return visits to the buffet all evening as there was so much there to choose from that it was impossible to sample even a quarter of the dishes on offer. By contrast my duck main course was a bit small, but as part of three courses proved to be more than enough.
This is a lovely spot for walkers to enjoy the coastline and not have to bother with the car at all. Plenty to see in the local area if you do want to travel further afield.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We have passed all your comments on to the relevant departments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a three night break at Sandy Cove in one of the balcony rooms and it was excellent. The minor additional cost for the balcony room was more than worth it to be able to sit out in the fresh air and enjoy the amazing stunning view. The staff were wonderful especially the two male waiters that were on for the first couple of days (from Acocks Green & Redditch - sorry cant remember names!). Nothing was to much trouble and they ran the dining room with amazing efficiency! A real assett to the hotel. The food was very good and extremely well cooked. It was a brilliant few days and we would definately recommend Sandy Cove!

Room Tip: Definately ask for a balcony room even in the winter months!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rinaandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and have passed all your lovely comments on to all staff. We hope to meet you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had two nights at Sandy Cove and really enjoyed it. We stayed one of the balcony rooms which had spectacular views. We sat out there even on a freezing cold day (wrapped up of course) just reading, chatting and looking at the view. All of the staff we came across were friendly and helpful. There was a very comfortable lounge which also had an amazing view of the sea and Combe Martin beach. Some of the decor was a bit dated but on the whole this is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for one of the balcony rooms, worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We do have a constant rolling refurbishment program. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We recently spent two nights here on a bed, breakfast and evening meal package which we booked through the hotel's website. At £150.00 per night for both of us it was reasonable value, however this was a 50% off package and I definately would not want to have paid full price.

I will try and give a detailed review of the hotel and dining.

Check in - fairly smooth although the reception area could do with an update and be made more welcoming.
Tip: You need to park your car and carry your bags up a bit of a slope, ok for me but could be a struggle for some people. If you need help I would suggest checking in first and ask for assistance.

Room - we booked a deluxe seaview with balcony. Room was nicely decorated and clean, lovely bathroom and the views were great. Room has a large screen TV and coffee making facilities, bed was very comfortable. We had room 49 which is one of the recently added rooms, the only let-down was that the walls seem to be very thin and you can clearly hear the people in the room next door. This did not present a problem whilst we were there but could be annoying if you had noisy neighbours!
Tip: The hotel does not have a lift and has narrow staricases and corridors, don't be afraid to ask for assistance with luggage if you need it.

Dining - As previously mentioned we had a meal package which seems to be the norm for this hotel. When you enter the dining room you are given a table which is then yours for the duration of your stay, OK unless you are sat in an area with a lot of young children as we were, however it was half term. Would be nice if they offered family or couples areas.

As our stay included a Saturday night they have a Smorgasbord (buffet) from which you choose your starter and desert - this is something that the hotel has been doing for years and some people love it. Personally I think it is very dated.
One of my main issues was the lack of serving utensils - the aforementioned children were picking things up and putting them back and spilling things into different bowls. Also as most of the items were seafood I would have expected them to be chilled or on ice. There was a reasonable choice, however we sat down at 8pm and a lot of the items such as salmon were already finished.

You then choose your main course from the menu, be aware that there is a limited choice (about 6 items) such as lamb tagine, fish and chips, steak and chips etc. Fish was good but the lamb had been cooked for so long it had disintegrated.
On the Sunday it was a full 'A la carte' menu but the choice of main courses was again quite limited and is all fairly standard fayre, not fine dining. The food is good but does not reflect the way it is presented on their website, more upgraded pub food than fine dining. none of the items pictured on the website (scallops, mussels, lamb cutlets, nice deserts etc) were actually on the menu, there was no fresh fish.

There did seem to be a lack of staff on the saturday night and, as some previous reviewers have said, we had to get up and find somebody to take our order.

Wine - a decent selection, we had a reasonable pinot grigio which was £19.00, a bit overpriced for a basic wine. No house wines.
Bar - they have a small bar with a couple of sofas where a pint of beer is about the same as a pub. A bottle of water was £4.00
Dining staff - the barman and waiter were excellent, a credit to the hotel. There was a waitress who was disinterested and looked like she did not want to be there.
Breakfast - good, reasonable choice and a nice cooked option.


Lounge area - dated but comfortable, several sofas where you can sit and relax while enjoying the views.

WIFI - intermittent signal, however we were on holiday so not a problem for us.

Pool - didn't use it. Pool is in a greenhouse type building and is not actually connected to the hotel.

Summary:

I have tried to give an honest appraisal of this hotel to help when deciding to book. We had a great time, however if you pay full price you could definately get better value elsewhere.

This is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms and great views. If you book a discounted break it is reasonable value.

If you are expecting a fine dining experience you may be disappointed.

We would stay again but would just book B & B and go out to dine in the evening.

Room Tip: A room with a view is a must, balcony would be nice in summer
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garrytev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry if you have misunderstood our pricing, our mineral water is £1.70 per bottle or £3.90 for a 1 ltr bottle and we do have a house wine which is priced at £16 per bottle. We have passed all your comments on and are glad to hear that you would stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I looked at the Sandy cove hotel for a 1 night stay in November as a suprise for an anniversary. Our room was a superior sea view room with balcony. Not great if you dont want stairs as two flights but for us it didnt matter. The view from the room was stunning and the room itself was clean. We had an offer for this night which included a 3 course meal which was lush. Buffet style starter al acarte main but stil plenty and a variety of desserts very impressed. In the morning we used the heated pool and had it to ourselves. Maybe the one area that needs a bit of a clean but the water was warm and had a good swim sauna and steam room nice extra to the pool area.
staff are very friendly would come back

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johunkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and also that you would visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews