We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing, valentines break!”
Review of Sandy Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My girlfriend treated me to a night at the Sandy Cove hotel for a Valentines treat. It was lovely! It was in a secluded area and very quiet. The room had a terrific view (see pictures attached)! The room and bathroom was clean and spacious. The bed was soooo comfortable! In spite of the weather, we left the window open all night and could hear the waves crashing on the beach. So tranquil! The hotel itself is quite old but quaint. The restaurant was lush..very modern and clean. The service and food was excellent. We had a 'smorgasbord' for starters...the food was incredible. Giant prawns etc. We didn't use the spa but we took a look and we will definitely use it next time. Overall, a fantastic break. I would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view <3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammysiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

I read all the rave reviews on this place which is why I waited a while before I commented. Yes the views were to die for & yes, the staff were ALL lovely & very efficient & yes, the food was good in the restaurant. But the decor is very dated & this had a concatenation with the rest of the building. It was a bit scruffy & whilst that indeed, did add to the charm (creaky floorboards et al!), no power shower just showed that it was like a rather grand, faded B&B. The TV Ariel was not connected in the room & whilst it was fixed immediately, it just goes to prove my little points. The sink in the toilet in the bar was like being in a third world country which is a deep shame. Would I go back? Probably, but only at the bargain winter price I had via the Internet because if I was to pay what they are asking now, I would have raised the roof. I gave the sauna an hour & ten minutes & it was only just warm although the steam room was most excellent. Too many niggles? Well, the pot holes in the car park were treacherous so I figure if they can't look after themselves, then why would they (really!) care about me? Barbara needs a special mention for being the best receptionist in the whole world! I'm really sorry guys.

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Xanthe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we are glad that you would visit again. If you do book again we would however suggest that you do look at the room types and descriptions before making your choice. We offer extremely competitive rates which include a 4-course A la Carte dinner and full English breakfast and which currently start at £45 per person and go up to £75 per person. We have various different grades of room and this is reflected in the rates. Our superior rooms all have power shower, large flat screen TV, safe, iron & ironing board and are all newly refurbished. We do feel this is excellent value for money, bearing in mind many of the travel lodge type hotels do not include any meals and are not in the sort of location in which Sandy Cove is situated, we also have a rosette award for our food & have a lovely sauna & steamroom relaxation area for guests to use all included in the cost. We are confused by your comments on decor particularly as we have just finished a major refurbishment of the dining room and pictures of this are shown on our website; we have had extremely good feedback on this. We have a constant program of refurbishment and recently added 10 brand new superior rooms, 2 of which have balconies. We are pleased that you liked Barbara as she is a much valued member of our team. We do hope we will have the chance of meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Had a lovely couple of days in this hotel. Once again everything was just perfect. All staff were very friendly. We had a sea view room which was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean with a most beautiful view. The food was delicious especially on Saturday night with the smorgasbord starter. It is nice to see a hotel that is not standing still as it is appears to always be updating with constant improvements. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review and for your lovely comments. We very much hope to have the chance of meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Have just returned from a great weekend at this hotel. The room was comfortable with a great view. The food was delicious, good choice and good size portions, the smorgorsbord starter was amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I look forward to going back again. I cannot comment on the pool as it was closed for refurbishment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellecfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is our second year celebrating New Year at Sandy Cove, and this year was even better than last year! The food was amazing, and the entertainment was great - casino night and disco. The hotel is set in a stunning location and our room overlooked the sea ceasing into the bay at Combe Martin. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Great opportunities for scenic walks if you're lucky with the weather.

Room Tip: Their family room 46 sleeps up to six and has the most stunning views, newly decorated and very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CherylCrossman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your review and your lovely comments. We do get a great deal of repeat business especially for christmas and new year. We are very glad that you enjoyed the casino night and the new year's eve smorgasbord & disco. We very much hope you will come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Sandy cove hotel was amazing, on the day we got there we took our dogs for a walk in the beautiful nearby cove down the little lane beside the hotel. It is amazing and if you do go definately ask for directions at reception. Talking of reception they are extremely helpful and considerate upon arrival and get you checked in and sorted in no-time! Then we walked up to are room and unpacked, the room was lovely a really comfy bed, tv, lovely bathroom facility's including a bath a shower a sink a toilet and plenty of towels. We then went down to dinner at our allocated time spot and we had their speciality the smorgasbord (however this only takes place on Saturdays) anyway it was delicious there was a cold buffet for starter and a choice of three meats and vegetables for main and finally a load of lovely desserts, yum yum! The next day we drove to wilacommbe beach which is three miles long and we all walked there and back so overall we walked six miles! When we got back we treated ourselves to the on-site spa facility's including a steam room a sauna two heated chairs and finally a heated swimming pool but this was not that warm because it was very cold outside. We then went to dinner which had a few options for each course on a menu that was changed every day and they were all yummy! The next morning we went down to breakfast and this consists of a cold buffet including cereals, fruits and yoghurts and also bread and then you can order a cooked breakfast or a continental. Unfotunately we had to then pack up and get ready to go home. But before we did we took a drive to Staunton sands beach which was beautiful there was massive sand dunes here which we climbed and the dogs somehow got up too! We then had a quick bite to eat at a café filled up the car and we were on our way and I will definately be coming back here next year see you soon sandy cove hotel !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 047Nath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We have passed your comments on to all departments and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We arrived for our two night stay the day before New Years Eve. We received a warm welcome and were shown to our room which was very well appointed with lovely furnishing and a super bathroom. The room had a great view overlooking the sea. The hotel was warm and comfortable. The food was fantastic and we throughly enjoyed the gala supper on New Years Eve. I highly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view - our room was 48 - Room 51 was also lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and in particular the new year's eve gala smorgasbord dinner and disco. Thank you very much for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
3.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
471 reviews
9.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,870 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#16 of 20 in Ilfracombe
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
868 reviews
7.1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
906 reviews
4.8 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Hotel

Address: Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Price Range: £85 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandy Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ilfracombe
Hotel Sandy Cove
Sandy Cove Hotel Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing