We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”
Review of Sandy Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandy Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hotel was very clean and the views are superb, but felt a few little things could have the experience so much better.
They've obviously worked on putting modern furniture in the rooms, but having a little travel kettle that was yellowing didn't really work in a fresh room. Cheap Paint on the walls was scuffed and coming off round the basin. No biscuits with the tea/coffee. I've stayed in b&b's at a third of the price which provided a biscuit!
New carpet wasn't fitted well - fraying in places at the edges
A welcome pack in the room detailing the facilities and times would have been useful as this information was not offered at check in.
Soundproofing - unfortunately I could hear every person coming up and down the stairs, and conversations in the adjacent room and below
Pool was really warm which was very welcome :) but would have been nice if there were no bugs in it. Steam room/sauna looked the part but didn't really deliver.

Food was okay and the waiter was quite pleasant

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 842Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    108
    84
    51
    33
See reviews for
149
298
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having had a terrible year last year with poor health decided to stay here as a treat to attend a family wedding. We thought being that it was a treat and costing £148 for 1night it should be excellent !! How wrong we were, firstly no where to park until a very kind staff member? Moved his own vehicle. Off to reception to hopefully alleviate my fear this was going to be a disaster stay, oh dear ,how rude was the welcoming. After explaining we had had along journey down and we were attending the wedding reception could we get into the room? " No, you have to wait 20MINUTES!" ,How unhelpful. After walking through a maze of corridors which in my opinion needed a good clean, we arrived at our room in the new part. Well I thought we had booked a Travel Inn not a£148 a night hotel. Towels stained,rusty loo cleaner brush holder rec grout missing in between tiles,very dangerous as this was family room. Well off to the wedding that should be good food , oh dear wrong again! Many family members had to send their burgers back as they were raw in the middle,twice mine went back ,I really feel for the bride and groom as they certainly must have felt that was not what they had paid for . Like many family members , I left the reception early as it was far to cold in the marquee ,in fact one of the staff members was actually wearing a parka coat whilst clearing away. The only answer I got was didn't know how to light heaters!! All in all lovely wedding but feel dreadfully deceived and feel for the bride and groom who I think we're let down.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It had obviously undergone some refurbishment and our room with adjoining room for the children was really quite spacious, clean and nicely done. We had a sea view which was a real treat to open the curtains to each morning, and as we were on the ground floor it was really convenient. The dinner was also better than I expected and all three dinners we had there were really good. I booked this hotel really because it had the swimming pool but to be honest we only used it briefly once during the whole 3 days we were there as we were too busy taking in the local attractions. The pool was fine and I would imagine on warm days with the cover pulled back it would be a really nice place to hang out. I would definitely go back to this hotel as we had a really relaxing time and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good position for Ilfracombe and Lynton/Lynmouth with the cliff railway and Barnstaple - all worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a family wedding at sandy cove and all I can say is it was really disappointing, on arriving (15min early) we were rudely spoken to not a good start, Inside the hotel is very dated especially the rooms which are dirty and over priced. the parking is terrible not enough spaces for the size of the hotel. The bbq buffet- chef was serving raw burgers the marque wasn't heated appropriately even the staff were wearing coats behind the bar....and drink prices expensive. The trip to the toilets is ridiculous down a steep slippery hill, id think again about wearing heels ladies. And to top everything off my partner and I were woken up by what sounded like the manager and chef having a talk/argument outside our bedroom window which allowed us to hear everything which included continuous swearing. But one plus is the views are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank x_KJ_x2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
271 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

As your views they are for to die for and breathtaking. It's was great to have a sea view room.
As for the hotel
The hotel is really large and lots of stairs and corridors.
As for the room
The room is a nice size and we paid extra for a sea room. The room was clean and fresh with the sea air so slept well. The bathroom needs painting and the door stop was handing off and had a leak in the bathroom. Just didn't excepts this at a hotel £120 a night.
The breakfast was ok nothing special.
As for the swimming pool I didn't like it really as it was a bit dirty.
The steam room was poor and sauna just look like there cheap and no lockers??
Overall I nice hotel with view but I would say over price and expected more.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked on a 2 night DB&B stay in a superior sea view. The room was very clean & well maintained. Bathroom has a bath & brilliant power shower. The sea view was spectacular.
Service & meals were superb & I couldn't find fault. A special mention for Dan the waiter who was brilliant, friendly & helpful, he did well.
Overall this hotel is in a good location with 1st class food, plenty of choice & friendly staff.
We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Get a Sea view room you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The easiest way to describe this hotel is "okay but rough around the edges".

We stayed there over the Easter Bank Hols 2014 on a 2nt DB&B basis and whilst the overall stay was ok, the hotel is definitely showing signs of aging. Room was good and seemed to have been renovated recently but the bed was somewhat uncomfortable. The sound insulation is not existent and everything everywhere can be heard quite easily.
Dinner ranged from mediocre on the 1st night to good on the second. Breakfast was good. The male guest toilet adjacent to the restaurant never seemed to have any running cold water in the taps or the flush, at least on the day of arrival.
There is newish looking steam and sauna facility and a covered swimming pool which all worked well. The entrance to these facilities and the arched building housing the pool, however, could do with a make over as they look very unappealing from the outside.
Staff were helpful and friendly albeit rather rushed off their feet and peak dinner and breakfast periods.

Room Tip: Probably best to get a room at the far end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heroditus2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
7.1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
9.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Hotel

Property: Sandy Cove Hotel
Address: Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sandy Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ilfracombe
Hotel Sandy Cove
Sandy Cove Hotel Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing