We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Sandy Cove is a truly great place to stay. We have returned for a wonderful 4 night stay. We had a sea view room which was great. We had a nice big bed and the room was nice and clean. To wake up every morning to the view of the sea put a smile on my face for the rest of the day. The staff are really friendly and the facilities are great. I loved the swimming pool, we went in it every day to try and burn off our meals! There are some great walks to do in the area and some lovely beaches fairly close. We are going back later in the year with some friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    105
    84
    50
    33
See reviews for
148
292
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived and were thrilled with the wonderful view and location of the hotel. Once inside the Reception was old fashioned with no ambiance, and we had to drag our luggage to our rooms (no lift) up stairs and down loooong corridors with an asylum feel to them. But the most disappointing part of the whole stay was the bedroom. It truly was a timewarp with awful, dated wallpaper, dido rails, and the bathroom desperately needed updating but mostly the bubbly lino flooring. Despite the beautiful view we Hated it. If I had the money I would buy the hotel, demolish it, and build a brand new hotel in this amazing spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LadyJEMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend away at Sandy Cove. Some friends recommended this place to us and we are so glad we decided to give it a try. We will definitely be returning here later this year. The room we had very a sea view room which we were so pleased we paid extra to have, it was very clean and modern. The restaurant was lovely and modern and the food was fantastic, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool area was really good and we loved the relaxation loungers. We had some nice weather which was great as we got to sit out on the decking looking out at the sea while having a bar lunch, which was very tasty. We are looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our third visit to Sandy Cove and again we were not disappointed. We stayed just the one night and enjoyed a lovely dinner in the refurbished restaurant. The views from the hotel are magnificent, it was so nice to sit in the bay window of the lounge, soaking in the view whilst enjoying a cream tea.
Service in the restaurant was a little slow. About 40 minutes from ordering until the starter arrived but as we were not in any rush it really didn't matter too much and the food was delicious and so made up for the wait.
The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna and steam room but we didn't use any of these facilities.
There are a few little cosmetic things that let the place down but we didn't let them effect our stay.
Hopefully we will be returning for another stay in November.

Room Tip: You would be disappointed if you didn't have a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PO33816X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Views are spectacular and in the sunshine it really is beautiful. The best part for me was the food which was very good. Unfortunately a fair few quibbles though. In general the bed was not at all clean and there were many hairs including one large clump which made me shiver with disgust. Called reception and they replaced the bedding but there was no apology. My biggest gripe however is with some of the staff - a few of them really are horrendous - one young guy was not nasty in any way but clearly had no clue about service and professionalism and one young girl was very rude to us not once but twice. On the second occasion she told us we sat at the wrong table at Breakfast even though the restaurant was empty and we sat at the table for dinner the previous night! Nice feature to have a pool and small spa but the pool area is absolutely filthy and there is a weird wall in the pool which because i have poor eye sight I swam into and bruised my hand.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Returned to sandy cove having been here before. View was as ever, amazing!
Impressed with the new decor and the modern feel to the restaurant.
However, when we visited the restaurant was pretty quiet which doesn't explain the slow service. Although the waitress was lovely and friendly. Food was ok but lacking seasoning. Appearance was amazing but taste was bland. It was a bit of a let down as when the bill appeared, for that price I'd have hoped for a lot lot more.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raynus31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stop here with some friends..who have stay previously,rave so much about this hotel,we thought we better check it out for ourselves.
Well just brilliant staff and yes the view is breath taking!!
And the food is just outstanding it's delicious and very well presented.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillykatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
7.1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
770 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
753 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
334 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
352 reviews
9.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Hotel

Property: Sandy Cove Hotel
Address: Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sandy Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ilfracombe
Hotel Sandy Cove
Sandy Cove Hotel Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing