We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and breathtaking views!”
Review of Sandy Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I stayed with our son in room 46. What a lovely fresh, clean room with the added bonus of a separate room for our son to settle down in. The facilities in the room were ample and the general decor of the room was in good order. The only thing that let our room down for my husband was the rather firm mattress, but I was fine!

The hotel has clearly undergone a recent extension and there is a clear difference between the old and the new, hopefully this could be rectified in time.

The pool area was perhaps one of the best parts of our stay, however it could have done with a little tlc around the pool are and maybe a basket that you could deposit your used towels. The roof does open, however we had a hot day and the roof was not open so it was like a sauna, it could do with some ventilation, however my son really enjoyed himself.

Being a foodie family we were really looking forward to the experimentation in the restaurant. The food was excellent, my husband being a chef himself was extremely pleased with the quality, overall appearance and also the value for money. Our food was fantastic and the kitchen staff went out of their way to accommodate not only our needs but our sons as well by even seating us earlier for dinner and preparing quality cooked food for our son. The only issue we had was that we acknowledge that the staff were working as hard as they could and were immacuatly turned out and polite, they were terribly understaffed. The waiting staff knew our preferences and would accommodate our needs.

The view from the restaurant was fantastic!! Which only enhanced the wonderful food. Well done to the chef!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hampshirehenry1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much for writing a review and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Sandy Cove is a truly great place to stay. We have returned for a wonderful 4 night stay. We had a sea view room which was great. We had a nice big bed and the room was nice and clean. To wake up every morning to the view of the sea put a smile on my face for the rest of the day. The staff are really friendly and the facilities are great. I loved the swimming pool, we went in it every day to try and burn off our meals! There are some great walks to do in the area and some lovely beaches fairly close. We are going back later in the year with some friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you will visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived and were thrilled with the wonderful view and location of the hotel. Once inside the Reception was old fashioned with no ambiance, and we had to drag our luggage to our rooms (no lift) up stairs and down loooong corridors with an asylum feel to them. But the most disappointing part of the whole stay was the bedroom. It truly was a timewarp with awful, dated wallpaper, dido rails, and the bathroom desperately needed updating but mostly the bubbly lino flooring. Despite the beautiful view we Hated it. If I had the money I would buy the hotel, demolish it, and build a brand new hotel in this amazing spot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LadyJEMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend away at Sandy Cove. Some friends recommended this place to us and we are so glad we decided to give it a try. We will definitely be returning here later this year. The room we had very a sea view room which we were so pleased we paid extra to have, it was very clean and modern. The restaurant was lovely and modern and the food was fantastic, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool area was really good and we loved the relaxation loungers. We had some nice weather which was great as we got to sit out on the decking looking out at the sea while having a bar lunch, which was very tasty. We are looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our third visit to Sandy Cove and again we were not disappointed. We stayed just the one night and enjoyed a lovely dinner in the refurbished restaurant. The views from the hotel are magnificent, it was so nice to sit in the bay window of the lounge, soaking in the view whilst enjoying a cream tea.
Service in the restaurant was a little slow. About 40 minutes from ordering until the starter arrived but as we were not in any rush it really didn't matter too much and the food was delicious and so made up for the wait.
The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna and steam room but we didn't use any of these facilities.
There are a few little cosmetic things that let the place down but we didn't let them effect our stay.
Hopefully we will be returning for another stay in November.

Room Tip: You would be disappointed if you didn't have a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PO33816X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Views are spectacular and in the sunshine it really is beautiful. The best part for me was the food which was very good. Unfortunately a fair few quibbles though. In general the bed was not at all clean and there were many hairs including one large clump which made me shiver with disgust. Called reception and they replaced the bedding but there was no apology. My biggest gripe however is with some of the staff - a few of them really are horrendous - one young guy was not nasty in any way but clearly had no clue about service and professionalism and one young girl was very rude to us not once but twice. On the second occasion she told us we sat at the wrong table at Breakfast even though the restaurant was empty and we sat at the table for dinner the previous night! Nice feature to have a pool and small spa but the pool area is absolutely filthy and there is a weird wall in the pool which because i have poor eye sight I swam into and bruised my hand.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Returned to sandy cove having been here before. View was as ever, amazing!
Impressed with the new decor and the modern feel to the restaurant.
However, when we visited the restaurant was pretty quiet which doesn't explain the slow service. Although the waitress was lovely and friendly. Food was ok but lacking seasoning. Appearance was amazing but taste was bland. It was a bit of a let down as when the bill appeared, for that price I'd have hoped for a lot lot more.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raynus31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
9.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,800 reviews
7.1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
846 reviews
4.8 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Hotel

Address: Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Price Range: £88 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandy Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ilfracombe
Hotel Sandy Cove
Sandy Cove Hotel Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing