We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay”
Review of Sandy Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a brilliant stay at this hotel a couple of weeks ago. The views from the decking are amazing, the weather made it even better, so we could sit outside until 10pm. The food was amazing, I particularly enjoyed the burger. All the family loved the bar menu. Woolacombe beach was a great place to visit and I would recommend that. Can't wait to return next Easter and hopefully the weather will return as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next Easter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location just outside Illfracombe with amazing views over the water, lovely garden, covered outdoor pool and spa area.
We arrived on Saturday morning knowing our room would not be ready, the lady at reception let us leave our suitcases there so we could go and explore in the car.
On our return after what had turned into a a very stressful drive (flat tyre). We went to our room a double room with a view the bedroom was very nice with ample wardrobe space.
The bathroom was large but in need of a makeover.
We then went to the bar for a drink where there was no one to serve us on asking at reception a young man appeared who seemed in different to the words customer service.
We asked for two pimms and lemonade and that is exactly what we got , no lemon etc..
However, we found this to be the only time during our stay we had poor service. Perhaps he needed more training.
We ate dinner in the hotel that evening and it was excellent. Although as I my husband pointed out the fish and chips would have been at bit pricey at £19.99.
The dining room is well laid out giving all diners enough room to relax. The views are stunning.
The bar area has lovely sofas to lounge on aswell. We had our coffee in the adjoining lounge.
On retiring for the night we found the bed to comfortable.
The cooked Breakfast was good but not excellent and in my opinion the continental breakfast choices a little underwhelming.
The next day we were out and about the area is beautiful, the mix of typical British countryside with Exmoor on the doorstep and amazing beaches.
We were incredibly lucky with the weather enjoying some of the hotest days of the year.
Overall it was a very pleasant stay I would certainly return but do feel the hotel does need some more areas to be refurbished.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Bring in the hotel inspector, they need her wealth of knowledge and experience. Firstly it has just cost £180 per night for 2 adults DB@B, for one night, in a so called sea view superior room, therefore you would expect great service and quality.

the best thing about this hotel is the fantastic position, and amazing views, this is what you are paying for. Brilliant, but then take a closer look
Cleaning - not up to scratch, carpets need a good hoover, throughout the hotel, wooden floors feel sticky, bathroom floor in 52 needs re grouting, long black hairs on the floor and behind the doors. Dirty marks on the walls, outside area, weeds, etc
Room - no biscuits, fridge or complimentary water, bit tight given the cost of the room !! no bedside lights or comfortable chairs to sit in, only high bar stools !! loo had dirty marks in the toilet bowl
Fire doors propped open by cleaning buckets and big bunches of keys left unattended

Staff are young, lad with pony tail, in the restaurant, needs a customer services skills training course, we waited for a smile, but he had the look, that said I just don't want to be here !

Food ok, but were told at check in 8pm for dinner, no choice, we arrived at 19.50 and were told to go away and come back at 8pm, not a hint of customer service !!!!!!!!!!!!! coffee cold and stewed, had to ask for a clean cup. Quality of breakfast ingredients poor, no tongs to serve food, watched kids picking up food and putting it back!!

Check in, very bland, big fish tank with sign, saying don't tap on the tank (why put it there!!) very brisk lady checking us in, nothing pleasant about reception area

In conclusion, if you want an over priced hotel, with fantastic views, with lots of crying babies, noiseyng kids, lots of stairs , no lift, poor customer service, this is the place to go, such a shame, bring in the hotel inspector and all could be resolved

Room Tip: Beware every where is stairs and grubby corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brierdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry you did not like the Hotel, although as you will see from other reviews you are in the minority. We do take all feedback very seriously and have looked into all your points. We do welcome families with children and babies and this is obviously the time of year that is most popular with them, so if you do not like children being in a Hotel we would suggest that you stay in Hotels at a different time of year, or in fact choose a Hotel which does not cater for families. We are sorry not to have come up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband I have just spent two nights at Sandy Cove. Our room was one of two king sized bedded rooms with a lovely balcony overlooking Coombe Martin and the sea. It was fantastic particularly as the weather was beautiful. You could have been on the Italian coast. The staff were very courteous and the food was great although my husband's steak on the second night let things down just slightly. The bar prices were very reasonable and my husband enjoyed the wine list. I enjoyed the pool too as it was so hot. I will definitely put it on a list to revisit in the future. Wifi was very troublesome.

Room Tip: The large rooms (slightly more expensive) on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mandylifeboats57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. The balcony rooms are extremely popular and we have now applied for planning to convert 5 more of the superior rooms into balcony rooms. We are sorry for any problems you had with the WiFii, it is available throughout the public rooms on the ground floor, it is not officially supposed to be available in the bedrooms (although some do get it) but we do not advertise this and the WiFi is completely free of charge. We very much hope you will visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just back from 5 days at the hotel. Had a lovely time overall. Lovely big room with seating area and wonderful view. Lovely big comfortable bed. Bathroom was large. Had one or two minor problems. Curtain came off the rail and was fixed the next day. Bathroom light cover broke and fell down. The shower head did not fit properly in its holder.

The restaurant was nicely decorated and the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was generally good but they did run out of things sometimes. Our complaint is that the menu never changed the whole 5 days we were there. They did have a special main course one night but it soon ran out. We have stayed in this hotel before several times year's ago. It has obviously changed owners as we were disappointed that the seafood buffet on a Saturday night was no longer available.

Would have liked the swimming pool to have opened before 9.30 as we enjoy swimming before breakfast.

Overall it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view as back of hotel overlooks a bank.i
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenGreen1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are still the same owners at the Hotel and it has been under our management for 37 years now. We do take all feedback very seriously and are having meetings with the chef about the points you raised. We very much hope to meet you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A very lovely and relaxing place to stay for a couple of days. The food was very nice and staff were so helpful and accepted our woof like a normal guest. Would definitely return. The lovely tall bar chap originally from the Mids was awesome!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LexiSmexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will pass your lovely comments on to the staff and we hope to meet you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had a couple of nights stay on a big discount on advertised price. Location Excellent, Food and restaurant Excellent, view from room Outstanding. Creaky bed and creaky floor and ceiling - bit of a nuisance. Mould on bathroom walls and ceiling - not nice! Hence the difficulty to give a fair review. I am sure that other bathrooms would not have the same problem, so I was probably paying for the discounted price. Location would not suit anyone with mobility problems, as a bit hilly. Would I stay there again - probably not. Would I recommend hotel to others - yes but only in a decent room !

Room Tip: Sea facing, but not room 45 unless bathroom is modernised and sterilised
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RetiredCongresbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recommendation to others. We do take all feedback very seriously and have had meetings with all the heads of department. We do try to reflect the room grades with the price and so do have different options. We have done a lot of refurbishment to the rooms and have an ongoing program, two thirds of the hotel rooms are now all refurbished but this is reflected in the price. If you do wish to visit again, please contact us and we will do our best to upgrade your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
9.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,797 reviews
7.1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
845 reviews
4.8 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Hotel

Address: Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Price Range: £88 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandy Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ilfracombe
Hotel Sandy Cove
Sandy Cove Hotel Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing