We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location, gorgeous view but AVOID if you have food allergies” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, gorgeous view but AVOID if you have food allergies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at the Sandy Cove Hotel. Our stay overall was pleasant and after having read many of the reviews below before our arrival, I would describe the hotel to be as I expected. The location is fabulous, the view from our sea front window was fab, and staff were friendly-ish. However the bedrooms, bathrooms, public WC's and swimming pool area are all very tired looking and are in desperate need of a deep clean/swifter renovation programme. The thing however that disappointed me the most about the hotel was the complete LACK of interest/catering for my severe food allergies. We notified the hotel at the time of booking of these allergies, I emailed them again a few days before our arrival with a really simple basic food plan (consisting of everyday ingredients), informed the receptionist upon arrival, and informed the waiting staff on the first day half an hour before supper. I was very disappointed to learn that no special provision had been made whatsoever and the staff were unwilling to really divert from anything that wasn't already included in their set menu (which was the same menu for the whole of our stay). I ended up eating the same dry salad to start each day (obtaining a dressing for this was easier said than done too!) and then had to have the SAME children's plain tomato pasta for main course every day too! When I asked if various other items were dairy free, e.g the vegetable based soups each evening, I was informed by staff simply that they were not, there was never any suggestion that perhaps they could rustle something else up or they would prepare something for the next day instead. I strongly recommend that the management team at Sandy Cove have a look at how things are done at 'Sands Resort, Porth, Cornwall' particularly in terms of catering for food allergies (knowledgeable restaurant staff, different menus for allergies such as gluten free/dairy free etc). This is where we have holidayed for the past few years, and unfortunately after our experience over the past 4 days, is where we shall be heading back too in the future! Sandy Cove - over 150 million adults in Europe suffer with a food allergy, I suggest you educate your staff and your chef in particular about this and change your attitude, it is 2014 after all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    104
    83
    50
    33
See reviews for
148
286
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My first trip to Sandy Cove for a business meeting, lovely place and lovely owners.
The terrace area offers some spectacular views and it really is such a calm escape and certainly an area I would love to come back too- for a short break this time! Just a shame it was a short visit but definitely shall be back & can't wait!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here recently on our way to Cornwall and have to say were disappointed with everything except the view (although the receptionist when I was checking out was very nice and friendly)

Most of the staff looked completely disinterested and could barely raise a smile, and the food was dreadful. My husband had Slow Roasted Pork Belly and it was absolutely solid and couldn't even be cut, to be honest we really should have complained but we just couldn't wait to get out of there.

The room was really not very pleasant, cheap furniture and not that clean - with only the basics left for you (tea bags and milk sachets, no water or biscuits which is generally the norm when you're paying £195.00 for 1 night)

Really disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie1234162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do take all feedback very seriously and have had meetings with the heads of department. Thank you for your comments although, as you can see from other reviews, we have a great many positive comments on both service and food but we are sorry not to have come up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Don't think we've ever been so disappointed with a hotel after its website promised so much. We stayed here for two nights (at a cost of £80 per person per night), and frankly I'd have felt the room was too expensive at half that price. Granted, there was a lovely view of the bay below, but that's not enough to compensate for peeling wallpaper, a grubby bathroom, and a room that was more Fawlty Towers than 3* 'luxury'. The excuse for this seems to be a 'rolling programme of refurbishment', but that's not a good enough excuse when you're charging £160 a night for a double room: either get them all to the same standard or price them accordingly.

One saving grace was the restaurant - very nice food. The service at breakfast left a bit to be desired though; I get the impression this isn't deliberate laziness on the staff's part, just a lack of training. One member of the waiting staff - young lady in glasses - deserves congratulations for her good customer service, however, and seemed more professional than the rest of the staff put together. On arrival, we were casually directed to our room by a lady on reception, which included a narrow staircase, with no offer of help in carrying any luggage.

Be aware that if you stay here during school holidays, as we did, the place is more like Butlins than a luxury, quiet hotel (as the website seems to imply). If the hotel and its rooms were up to the standard advertised, I'm sure this would be lovely, but as it is I'd recommend you spend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you call and ask if you'll be allocated a refurbished room if you decide to stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you liked the restaurant and enjoyed the food. We are sorry that you have not understood our website as all rooms are indeed graded and priced accordingly; you booked a standard room rather than a superior. We have 5 different grades of room to choose from which offer a range of prices. We do try to give good value for money, the price of £80 per person includes a 3-course A la Carte dinner of rosette award standard, followed by coffee and full English breakfast, which we fee,l compared to lodges offering no food, is good value. Along with this, people have use of the swimming pool, sauna & steam room. We are sorry not to have come up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

When booking, I was reluctant to build up my expectations too much in case the usual let down occurred, but no, despite an initial problem finding the hotel, my wife and I have been blown away with , the facilities, our bedroom with a balcony was well worth the extra few pounds. The room and facilities are second to none. The staff are very kind and helpful, The staff in the Restaurant Although young, display very professional traits, they couple this with a cheery and welcoming disposition.
The hotel and grounds are well maintained and we will definitely be returning in the future . This 3 day break was a ' chill out ' prior to our daughters wedding at the end of the weekend, and this was the perfect location to Chill.

Room Tip: We are in room 49 which is on the second floor and at the end of the hotel. There are stairs to cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenduncan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments. We are delighted you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay and very much hope to meet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Visited this hotel recently on a family holiday, for an evening meal. The views were amazing but thats the only good thing that can be said. The meal took over an hour to arrive after we complained over the long wait. 2 of the 4 meals orders didn't match to what it said on the menu several items were missing (we were not told about this beforehand and the items were not substituted for). Although the meals and plates were hot, one of the meals was burnt and inedible. Considering the long wait and the price of the meals we were expecting better than this. We would of complained about the state of the meal if a member of staff had been available, the restaurant was very understaffed, I dread to think how long the wait would of being if the restaurant had been busy. We would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmokeyJoe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry not to have come up to your expectations. We do take all feedback very seriously and have taken your points up with the Restaurant Manager and Head Chef. The Hotel was fully booked when you visited and we did have approximately 80 covers on that evening so we were busy (contrary to what you thought), we do have an AA Rosette award for food, but once again we are sorry not to have come up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a short family holiday and was pleasantly surpised by this hotel. Booked at last minute in holiday season.

Excellent views from sea view rooms This was a pleasant hotel with good food and pool. Ilfracombe also was a surprise and much improved from when last visited a decade ago. .may be the Damien Hirst affect

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandycoveDevon, Manager at Sandy Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review and we delighted that you liked the Hotel and enjoyed your stay. We do agree that Damien Hirst's influencence has had a very good and positive affect on Ilfracombe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrynarbor
7.1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Hotel

Property: Sandy Cove Hotel
Address: Old Coast Road | Combe Martin Bay, Berrynarbor, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berrynarbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sandy Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Ilfracombe
Hotel Sandy Cove
Sandy Cove Hotel Berrynarbor, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing