We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go and find for yourself, you won´t be disappointed! Lovely place, great hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cononley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St John's House B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Cononley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, République Tchèque
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go and find for yourself, you won´t be disappointed! Lovely place, great hosts.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Having visited Enfland several times and staying at different places for B+B I can say that this place was THE MOST BEAUTIFUL ONE, not because of the surroundings or its outer look, which we didn´t have time to examine much, but for the luxurious and very comfortable interior, where one can only appreciate the extraordinary taste (the one of a designer!), sense of detail and effort to treat the guests as royals! :-) Kath is AN EXCELLENT HOSTESS!
This is exactly what makes me happy when travelling - finding the people who make you feel you are welcome, where you can have a good talk and learn something about each other. This is why I would never look for accommodation in a hotel.
Very best wishes for this lovely guesthouse and greetings from Hana Cermakova from Prague

Room Tip: family room was very nice, practically furnished and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansa_cermak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for the super review and lovely comments. We enjoyed your brief stay with us and it was an absolute pleasure to meet you all. Not sure about being a designer though!!!! We're just blessed to live in such a gorgeous house, in a fabulous village in a great county!! Very best wishes, from all of us xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
79
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

One of the best B+Bs we have stayed at. Lovely rooms ( we stayed in both the double and the family rooms). Excellently appointed and equipped and spotlessly clean. Lovely views and very accessible for railway station and village pub which served a very good evening meal. Breakfast was freshly cooked and generous with plenty of choice. Good to see local ingredients on the menu. Welcoming and efficient hosts and a wonderful small waiter at breakfast! Thank you Fergus - star of the show! We missed you on Day 2.
Very good value for money and can recommend wholeheartedly.
We used this B+B to see the Settle and Carlisle Railway and the Ribblehead viaduct. Regular trains from Cononley to Skipton to then pick up the train to Carlisle.

Room Tip: Both rooms very spacious with stunning views - binoculars provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and thank you for the brilliant comments and feedback. We're so pleased you had a very very very good stay with us! Lovely to meet you both, best wishes from the Clarks x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights to watch the Tour de France and it was wonderful. St John's is a beautiful, grand old Victorian house, set in a lovely grounds. Our room was huge and and had great view over the garden and the hills beyond. Our hosts were lovely and every morning they went to the garden to collect our morning eggs freshly laid from their hens. What a breakfast.

The village of Cononley is a good visit in it's own right with a great pub, the New Inn close by. The village and St John's House is a great place to stay because there is so much to see and do in the vicinity. If you love good walks the moors are close by, the cycling is great for cyclists - you can do part of Stage 1 and 2 of Le Tour and if it's culture you are after there's plenty of that too with the Bronte Parsonage, Fountains Abbey and lots more close by.
We will be coming back here again. It was a wonderful place to stay and I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobie-Obie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you so much for a fab review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your Tour de France weekend with us! We did too! Thank you as well for coming to see Cononley Singers on Friday night....what a weekend of entertainment and gorgeous weather!! Hope to see you again soon, Best wishes from the Clarks x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Travelled up to Cononley to watch the Tour de France stages 1 and 2. Cononley was a lovely village and St John's house is well located in the vilage. Off street parking was great. The B&B is a lovely spacious house with great views over the valley floor. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic - thanks to Kath. As an added bonus Doug also took me out for two early morning rides around the tour de france route before the race came through - fantastic weekend.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have been beautifully renovated and have huge velux windows - fantastic veiws ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the brilliant comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your Tour de France weekend! Doug was tired out by Monday morning! It was a brilliant weekend and we're delighted you stayed with us. Very best wishes, The Clarks x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a fantastic time when we stayed to visit friends and to see the Tour de France. It is a lovely family run B&B with nicely decorated, spotlessly clean rooms. The breakfasts were plentiful, good choice and freshly cooked to perfection. The B&B owners, Kath and Doug were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was relaxed. Good off-road parking, great location and views. Lovely home made bread, cakes and biscuits. We definitely plan to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Louise9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you very much for the super review! We're delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us during Tour de France weekend - and what a wonderful weekend it was - we enjoyed it very much too! Hope to see you again soon, very best wishes from the Clarks x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Relaxed family atmosphere in this most comfortable accommodation located conveniently for the village and for striking out to tour the Yorkshire countryside.Excellent breakfasts with eggs from the chickens kept by the B&B owners.Good off-road car parking. .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the super comments. We're delighted you had a comfortable stay with us. What can we do to enhance the sleep quality to score 5/5? Hope to see you next year. Best wishes from the Clarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed unfortunately for only one night at this B&B ,a lovely house in a quiet village in the dales. Our room was just beautiful ,tastefully decorated ,spotlessly clean with excellent facilities. It was hot weather but the large windows enabled plenty of ventilation. The ensuite was really large and the shower top class ,--large ,hot and powerful. The bed was comfortable with plenty of room around it. The hospitality tray was plentifull and included homemade biscuits and fresh milk ! The room was quiet and had such lovely views even when just sitting on the bed ,it had been well thought out.
Breakfast was a delight, with plenty of choice if you dint want cooked. We had a smaller version of their English cooked breakfast but my bacon and eggs were very tasty and very nicely cooked
Thanks for the warm welcome . We will be back .
Excellent value for money !.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath C, Owner at St John's House B&B, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review - we really appreciate it and do hope you will return. I really enjoyed meeting you both - very interesting chats!! Best wishes, from the Clarks x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cononley
1.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
3.0 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#2 of 33 in Skipton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Browside Farmhouse
Browside Farmhouse
#4 of 4 in Cononley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St John's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St John's House B&B

Property: St John's House B&B
Address: St. Johns House Crosshills Road | Near Skipton, Cononley, Skipton BD20 8LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Cononley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cononley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both of our rooms benefit from stunning views across the Aire Valley. The emphasis is on comfort and quality. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided, along with fresh milk and home-made cakes/biscuits served daily. Each room has flat screen televisions and free Internet access. The en-suite shower rooms are spacious, light and airy with high performance showers. We have private parking and secure cycle storage. We are a short walk away from a mainline train station, two pubs serving food, village shop and children's park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St John's House B&B Cononley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing