We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jewels in the Premier Inn crown.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Waltham
Reviewed 21 August 2012

On A30 about 2 miles from J7 of the M3 - seemingly in the middle of nowhere - between Basingstoke and Winchester. A small hotel, 19th Century building, with under 30 rooms but if you can't climb stairs, make sure you have one of the half dozen ground floor rooms as there is no lift.Standard Premier Inn fittings (including a fan for the hot weather), tea and coffee making facilities and 30 minutes free wi-fi per day, although this room (No 8) had complete Freeview TV with radio - and a shaver point in the bathroom, but no telephone.

The website says to book in after 2, but when I arrived about 3, the manager said he could book me in - but that the bed had not been made - as the laundry, due at 8.30 had still not been delivered, despite several promises. He said that. 30 minutes before, Sunlight Laundry had promised him delivery - without fail - within an hour. The lorry finally drew into the car park (outside of my room, so I saw it arrive). just before 5 ! After this, the house-keeping staff were dashing from room to room making beds, still cheeful even though they said they should have finished work hours before - the jewels in the Premier Inn crown. All for £19 the night !

I hope that the staff are well compensated for their extra time - and that Sunlight Laundry loses their contract !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_S133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed here overnight and overall the experience was good, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

This premier inn is on a main road but it has good glazing on the windows which shut the road noise out. The room was small but adequate for two people and very clean; there were tea and coffee facilities, a hairdryer and a soap dispenser in the room. Unfortunately the shower wasn't great, either hot or cold and nothing inbetween and the bed wasn't particularly comfortable. There was no air conditioning in the room and I think this would be a problem if the weather was hot as opening the windows at night would not be an option because of the traffic.

The restaurant was excellent. It is a standard Chef and Brewer menu and the food was cooked perfectly and the portions were a good size (all bigger and better than our local Chef & Brewer). Service was also very good. Breakfast is good value, eat as much as you like. Five stars for the restaurant.

With just a few tweaks, this place could be excellent, I hope they listen to the feedback.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77Rosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated by the Management Team at this hotel.

Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

First time at this Premier Inn, but will be returning! From the moment we entered reception to the time we left, we were made to feel very welcome by staff who obviously new what they were doing and enjoyed doing it! Very comfortable and clean room with well maintained bathroom. Premier Breakfast in the morning lived up to it's reputation for high quality and good value for money. No limit on the food or the tea/coffee. You want more, you can have it! Good range of juices, cereals, fruit, toast, to supplement the cooked brekfast.
A visit here is unlikely to disappoint. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stBigDiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This premier inn is about 30 minutes from Poultons Park. The room we had was fab and we really did feel refreshed after staying here. We didnt eat at the pub next door but it looked very nice. I stayed here with my wife and 2 children on a second night after exploring peppa pig world the first being the holiday inn fareham. We had a enjoyable stay here and the staff seemed friendly. We only paid £29 for the room well worth it we shall use this one again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREW2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here in June for 2 nights as we're visiting Mottisfont and a couple of other NT gardens. The room was really nice and comfortable and at the back with its own haherat. There was a convector heater in there which we needed to dry our clothes off as the weather was atrocious. The decorators were in the restaurant but did not disturb the running of this. At least they are keeping up with the decor. I had the same meal two nights running as I really enjoyed it. As we stayed on a Sunday and Monday they were running out of some meals and also fruit at breakfast as they have deliveries on Tuesday. there were a couple of blips but nothing really to mention. The waitress at breakfast was really helpful and one of the friendliest we have ever had at a premier inn. I have forgotten her name but she is also the head housekeeper. We found this hotel convenient and relaxing and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the road at the front is noisy especially if wet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie60Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed here with my 2 children for two nights. The hotel was fully booked and unfortunately there was only our booked room available to us. We had spent the previous night in another Premier Inn and were expecting this to be similar. However, the building is old and the room was very small for 3 of us. The television didn't have reception and the toilet flushed every third attempt. Our room backed onto the pub below's patio and we had our window open, so although the room was non-smoking, we were still smoked out. The previous night had cost me £84.00, but these 2 nights were £301. It was far too expensive for the facility and very disappointing.
The staff were friendly and tried to help but had no alternative room to offer. The food in the restaurant attached was ok and one of the dining room staff was particularly kind and friendly.
I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't have a non-smoking room over the patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soccermum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Many thanks for your review.

At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and we consistently monitor our rates to ensure we are competitively priced, your feedback is very much appreciated and please be assured that your comments have been passed on to our Marketing Team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Arrived and greeted by very friendly and knowledgable staff. Room stop on as always. Restaurant staff very friendly, menu great as ever and very well priced. No problems whatsoever. All staff great. Room was huge and clean. Bathroom was spotless and plenty of towels. Freeview tv in the room and tea and coffee. Beds very very comfy and also a choice o hard or soft pillows. All in all another great stay at premier inn.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazzab140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel

Address: North Waltham RG25 2BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > North Waltham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Waltham
Price Range: £55 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Basingstoke South is conveniently positioned within easy reach of Junction 7 M3. For shops and local amenities, Basingstoke town centre is 7 miles away and is easy to reach the Festival Leisure Park and Festival Shopping Centre. Our Basingstoke South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room, flatscreen TVs with Freeview, WIFI and free parking. We also have the Wheatsheaf Chef & Brewer onsite. The Chef & Brewer pub is part of a collection of charming, traditional pub restaurants with a modern service style and ethos, spread throughout the UK. Offering freshly prepared food and high quality drink at great value, traditional pub values are at the heart of Chef & Brewer. The pub is reassuringly genuine with old beams, nooks and crannies, roaring log fires in the winter and cooling gardens in the summer. With a proper bar area perfect to prop yourself up against while enjoying a pint of real ale or a chilled glass of wine and comfortable and relaxing dining areas, Chef & Brewer is right for every time of day or day of the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing