We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Audleys Wood Hotel(Basingstoke)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
86
90
53
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
90
53
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef and brewerroad noisethe pubmain roadgood sizestayed for two nightscontinental breakfastfunction rooman evening mealone night staytea coffeedouble bedfollowing morningfull englishbasingstokecrematoriumstopover
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed overnight at this inn and found it very acceptable. The bedrooms were fine and good value . Evening meal was very acceptable and breakfast at the connecting Wheatsheaf was really outstanding. To be honest much better than in some 5 star hotels I have stayed in. What really sold the Inn for me was the staff. Exceptionally friendly, a good sense of humour and could not do enough for us all. The whole place was full of character. Outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamBelfast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We could not fault our stay.

The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, the staff were first class both in the hotel and the Wheatsheaf below the bedrooms where we ate a most enjoyable dinner.

Be warned - Premier Inn's guest satisfaction survey is best avoided. It takes a long time to complete, asks far too many detailed questions. The result is that I shall not complete any future ones!

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the front to avoid motorway noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AESPGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is an older Premier inn - probably dates from before the brand itself.
Rooms are well maintained, good size and incredibly clean.
I honestly don't know how Premier Inn can maintain the cleanliness standards across hotels - but this was right up with the best - well done. Clean and clearly well maintained.

No air/con, or phone and windows are locked to a small gap - so the room stayed over hot all night.

Downsides - it's noisy. At the front the rooms are near the road - not busy but fast. And across one field the M3 runs on an embankment - so you get road noise all day and night. I had a rear room - but that one overlooked the Courtyard Beer garden, so until 11:30 you get the noise from guests chatting downstairs. But on the hotels good side, they closed the garden at 11:30 and I could clearly here them telling guests they had to leave to reduce noise into the bedrooms above. A thoughtful professional touch, except that 20 minutes later I think the kitchen team went out, opened drinks and spent 20 minutes chatting. Don't get me wrong no one was wild or shouting - but clearly the walled courtyard causes the noise to echo and carry upstairs. At 6:20am the staff arrived and again used the courtyard - so waking me up again.

Room Tip: Back room, perhaps over looking the car park. Others are noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tig121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife and I just spent an evening at the Premier Inn attached to the Wheatsheaf.We had a fantastic time.
The room was very clean and comfortable.
The food was really good in the restaurant.
The reason for the review is to commend the quality of staff we encountered.We had a really good laugh with all of the staff especialy(in no particular order)James,Karen,Dawn and Joanne.
We have stayed here five times now and really enjoy the friendly banter we encounter on every visit.Well done to all.Even the woman who hit me!!!!You know who you are..............Only joking

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms nearer the front of the hotel as they can be a bit noisy as they are closer to the road.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Our first time in a Premier Inn, we were in the area for a friends wedding.
very old pub called the Wheatsheaf was attached to the premier, this was full of character, proper low old beams and creaky staircases. excellent feel to the place, the staff, service and the food was outstanding, brilliant value for money.
and so to bed. our room was at the front above reception, the busy road outside and motorway just beyond was busy all night, how do we know? because we could hear every vehicle.. also the nice big light shining above the door is on all night as well.. how do we know that? because the curtains didnt cover the window .. so Mr Lenny Henry whilst they are blackout curtains, if they dont completely cover the window it does not work!!! other guests are not very considerate either doors have polite ssshhhh notices on but it doesnt matter.

so not a great nights sleep, then a day of celebrations!! yet another noisy night, but as we were tired we slept better! until some lovely children decided if they were up then everyone else should be and decided to run up and down the corridor and knock the doors!! thanks for that.
not the hotels fault is it?
overall a lovely room, shower is awesome, and there is ample room for clothes etc..
just change the curtains and turn the sign light off!!!!
oh and please find my phone charger????

Room Tip: not room 16/17 thats on the front
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews