We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Traquair Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Innerleithen
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Me & the missus had a couple days walking in the Borders & after looking at a few places we chose the Traquair Arms as we had our dog with us. Friendly staff & a lovely setting in the centre of Innerleithen. Kristian behind the bar was great, pulling pints, serving meals & booking in guests. Poor lad was run off his feet.
We had room 10 with the dog & although it's a little tired, it's big enough & well equipped, for the very reasonable price. Radiator was red hot & an electric back up, as I guess they've had bother before. The only gripe being the bathroom was a little grubby with an odd stain in the bath & could do with an upgrade as some of the grouting round the bath was a bit mouldy.
We walked a few miles up towards Cordronna & back on the day we arrived & decided to eat at the hotel. I had fish & chips & the wife had smoked haddock risotto. Both pretty good & piping hot. Full Scottish next morning was spot on & not greasy as per some other reviews, with plenty of toast etc. very busy at breakfast with families, cyclists & other walkers & again the poor lass was v busy but service was excellent & without fuss.
We had great walk up into the hills around Windlestraw Law & back along the Tweed. Weather was exceptional & we ate at the Indian's on the high street, which was top notch. Beer garden to rear was also very nice place to enjoy a pint in the sun.
In summary we had a great time staying at the a Traquair Arms & would return.

Room Tip: New lodges at rear look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guv74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We had booked a weekend stay for family as a gift and surprised them by staying on the Saturday. Overall the hotel was good value, clean and comfortable. It is a little tired in places but this is reflected in the price and did not effect the standard of our stay. The staff were really helpful and the bar had a good atmosphere. The food was really good pub grub. Ideal for a weekend stay, walking or outdoorsy weekend. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Beanbug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were happy to pay £20 extra and get the little cottage at the back of the main hotel. It turned out to be well fitted, very comfy and nicely laid out. The bed was huge, the kitchen well-equipped, and the bathroom immaculate. Little niggles? Wifi was poor, no mirror near a plug (hair drying), nowhere to hang towels, and - most annoyingly - absolutely nothing provided for washing up or cleaning! Not a j - cloth to be found! This made rinsing up our few dishes and glasses somewhat difficult. Had we spilled anything, we'd have been mopping up with our bed sheets!
Overall, very pleasant. Staff in the hotel were very busy, but still friendly and helpful. Our little dog was welcome, the range of single malts was superb, the breakfast quite good, but shame about the nasty cheap sausages. Really enjoyed it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jjandherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and I had a midweek break at the Traquair Arms Hotel. We found that the staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean and the breakfasts more than sufficient. Evening meals were very good value for money and the quality was very good. All in all a very nice stay.

Room Tip: An ideal base for mountain bikers, walkers and tourists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We went as a party of 6 for a two day stay through Groupon and it was worth every penny plus. The rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much for them. The food was excellent and the portions were very generous-would totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakeMckenna1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a weekend via groupon for £89.
If you want bed and breakfast it is spot on. The shower was a bit temperamental but other than that we had a pleasant stay.

The little Indian restaurant and the butchers on the Main Street are well worth a visit whilst you are in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robworthy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Spent a very pleasant and enjoyable 2 night stay at The Traquair Arms Hotel. I was made to feel very welcome as was indeed my dog.
Staff were helpful, pleasant and efficient. Food was excellent & served piping hot.
Lovely to go someplace where the dog is so welcome with lots of good walks nearby.
Been several times and looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innerleithen
5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,113 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
7.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traquair Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traquair Arms Hotel

Address: Traquair Road, Innerleithen EH44 6PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Innerleithen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Innerleithen
Price Range: £49 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Traquair Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Traquair Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traquair Arms Hotel Innerleithen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing