We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest House - more like Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caddon View Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 8 Innerleithen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Guest House - more like Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Try arriving late afternoon and receiving complimentary tea and scones. Really nice hosts who go out of their way to make you welcome. Room was large and airy and well decorated with a nice en- suite bathroom, everything gave the room a qualiy feel. Nice tea and coffee in rooms. Breakfast was exceptional and we were sorry we were unable to say for dinner which I'm sure would be great. Offering Bucks Fizz on the breakfast menu, at a reasonable cost, started our day off well! Great place to relax, visit the Borders and Edinburgh - forget driving for a day or two, the bus stop is outside the hotel with regular buses to Edinurgh and other Border towns. Not the cheapest but definately worth a little extra.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Games Week is always a busy time, and we are so pleased that you had a good stay - thank you for going to the trouble of adding a review. We agree that, a glass of Buck's Fizz for breakfast is a great way to start off a special day.

Lots of people use us as a base to explore Edinburgh, especially during the festivals. The tram roadworks and the cost of parking make the bus up a very attractive option, through lovely countryside, and you can have a beer with no driving worries.

Thank you again for your review.

With best wishes

Lisa and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    39
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
154
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Caddon View. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The house and furnishings were gracious and the food was excellent, with a reasonable wine list. Our stay was part of a three week tour of Britain and Caddon View was possibly our best overnight experience.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GrahamP499483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We're pleased that you had a good rest and the chance to 'refuel' on your long cycle. We get a few Land's End to John O'Groats riders through (we are in the Lonely Planet Guide for the route) and it's always great to hear their stories and help them on their way. Congratulations on your fantstic achievement.

With best wishes

Lisa and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Caddon View in Innerleithen last week during our excursion to become acquainted with the Borders of Scotland. Lisa and Steve made us very comfortable and looked after our every need without being obsequious. We stayed in a front bedroom called Tranquair and highly recommend it. The views from the room nearly preclude the necessity to go anywhere. The room is perfectly decorated, the bathroom spacious and practical, and the bed therapeutically accommodating to sore backs.

We chose to dine at the Caddon View and experienced such a delightful dinner that we repeated the experience the following evening. As vegans and fishitarians, we are hard to please. This was not a problem for our hosts. Dinner begins by being served drinks in the drawing room where the menu is perused and orders are taken. Like a progressive dinner party, one is called into the dining room, followed by drinks again back in the drawing room. There is nothing quite like this where I come from unless one is a quest for dinner at a friend's home, and that is the point: at the Caddon View, you are treated like a special guest in a dear friend's beautiful home.

Room Tip: Choose one of the 2 front guest bedrooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metropolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caddon, Owner at Caddon View Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had a safe homeward journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My wife and I have recentlyspent two nights at Caddon View and we were certainly made most welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable and I am sure that anyone woud enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed for one night with my Westie and received a warm welcome from Lisa and Steve, who could not do enough to make my short stop a memorable one. Great food and was able to specify what time I required breakfast too. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed Saturday night at Caddon View. We know Innerleithen well having family there, but have never stayed at Caddon View. We couldn't fault it, beautiful well equipped room, extremely comfortable bed with decent pillows and bedding which made for a very good nights sleep. Steve and Lisa made us feel very welcome and I am only sorry that we did not get to have an evening meal there, will definitely do that next time! Excellent breakfast and my husband would agree with the other reviews about the black pudding. It makes such a nice change to experience such good service, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

After a day of cycling in constant rain on our way from Lands End to John O'Groats we were welcomed warmly by Lisa and Steve. Not only did they store our bikes out of the rain but they washed all our wet gear so we had dry and clean stuff for the following day. The bedrooms were superb, as was the breakfast the morning after (ideal for another day cycling in the rain!). We also used Steve's local knowledge for advice on the route we had chosen for the following day. Would love to return (in a car next time !!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innerleithen
5.6 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
5.1 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,001 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
760 reviews
16.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
940 reviews
23.5 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caddon View Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caddon View Country Guest House

Property: Caddon View Country Guest House
Address: 14 Pirn Road, Innerleithen EH44 6HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Innerleithen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Innerleithen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caddon View Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1850's, Caddon View is an award winning 4* country guest house and restaurant which provides luxurious accommodation in the beautiful Tweed Valley. Relax in our comfortable drawing room with a glass of wine or a dram from our carefully selected list and then dine in our award winning restaurant. Why stay anywhere else when you can have everything you need under one roof. In the morning start your day with a choice from our breakfast menu, even a glass of Bucks Fizz if it's a special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Caddon View Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caddon View Country Guest House Innerleithen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing