We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by its terrible booking service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Beechcroft Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highcliffe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beechcroft Place
Ranked #2 of 6 Highcliffe B&B and Inns
North west
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Let down by its terrible booking service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

We read all of the wonderful reviews about this B & B and looked at Bob and Barbara Denney's website but felt utterly let down by their booking service. So much so that our stay was cancelled because of an overbooking mistake within their system.

Alarm bells started to ring after our experience of attempting to book two rooms.

The Beechcroft Place website (at the time of booking) quoted within the first few lines ....

"IMPORTANT: Our promise to you: We will always be open and print our prices - never on the day you ring will we decide what we can achieve on charge rates!"

After speaking to Bob about booking two rooms and confirming the room price as quoted on the Beechcroft Place website he asked for our confirmation by email. However, by return email i was told before the booking could proceed that they were changing there prices next week, so we would need to pay their new 'different price' not the currently advertised website price!

- Not very " we will always be open and print our prices" as they promote themselves.

We still decided to go ahead as the previous trip advisor reviews were so encouraging. I accepted the changed room rates, confirmed by email and posted the monies off. I did ask if i could i pay over the phone but due to their bank charges I was asked to send a cheque (no problem) and was informed the rooms were to be held for three days. Fabulous, i thought it was all sorted and a flight was booked for our elderly companion.

However, it was not meant to be .... i received an email (not a phone call) a few days later from Bob saying that his wife had taken another booking and we had been double booked! He enquired if we might choose some other dates but our trip to Dorset was for a particular event and a flight had already been arranged and paid for.

Bob did ring and offered an apology with the details of one other B & B which wasn't available but given our predicament caused soley by Beechcroft Place i thought he would have gone to town (knowing their area) on finding other suitable suggestions.

We received our cheques back with no apology or note to speak of. At no point was Bob rude but this does not make up for the unprofessionalism we experienced. It has really jaded my experience of booking into the great British B &B.

We never got as far staying so sadly can't comment on the actual place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgilly160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
30
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

As usual Tripadvisor reviews were bang on and I would disregard any of the negatives here and in any case the overwhelming 5 scores say it all

We wanted a short break but didnt fancy a hotel with 1970's decor and a carvery experience. Staying at Beechcroft is perfect as you get a nice room and a fab brekky.

Location is perfect for a coastal walk (minutes across the road) or a good range of restuarants (Bob has good knowledge here) and we ended up with a great 2 nighter

A picnic in New Forrest enroute was nice with ponies and fab forrestry as a back drop and would definitely return Peter & Tina

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psh1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

It was a nice place, clean and pretty. Even though we were staying two nights they wanted us out by 10am the next day so they could clean and said we would be allowed back in later. We said, 'it's okay we want a lay in we don't need it cleaning', They said that they would lose their stars if they didn't clean. We said, 'Can't you clean later when we're out.' They said 'we're not a hotel you know.' In the end we agreed that they would do what they needed to do with me still in the room. I actually have an illness which is why I need to lay in. I didn't like having to discuss it with them and I felt uncomfortable for the rest of the stay.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

I stayed at Beechcroft Place with my two friends, it was like a home from home. Mr and Mrs Denney were really friendly and helpful. All rooms were clean and comfortable, especially liked the separate living room where we could sit together in the evening and plan our next day's events over a glass of wine. The breakfast was excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone - one in a million.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friendstogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Stayed for 2 nights at Beechcroft Place ,wished we could have stayed longer. Everything was excellent we had a beautiful breakfast each morning and Bob and Barbara could not have been more helpful. Would definatley recommend Beechcroft Place to anyone and will definately be returning next time we are in the area.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeedsLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

We just spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the room with the conservatory lounge - it was clean, well decorated, and very plush! It had 2 flatscreen TVs, a DVD player, nice leather sofa, a very comfortable bed, and a nice en-suite. It was great having a lounge area to just sit in and chill out - very unique for a B&B. The breakfasts were delicious, with everything organic - very tasty indeed! Mr & Mrs Denney were also very polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them, and we felt very welcome. Definitely better than a hotel - we'd highly recommend this B&B. We'll certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolpink101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

We spent our 21st wedding anniversary here and considering we had spent our wedding night at the Savoy posh suit this b&b was no climb down.
please read all other reviews you will not go wrong in staying here.
will be coming back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clock-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highcliffe
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
1.0 mi away
The White House - Christchurch
The White House - Christchurch
#11 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Lodge
Castle Lodge
#1 of 6 in Highcliffe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechcroft Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechcroft Place

Property: Beechcroft Place
Address: 106 Lymington Road | Nr. Christchurch, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Art Deco property. Uniquely 5 minutes from Beach, New Forest national park and Highcliffe Castle. Organic breakfast choices plus all rooms with ''free private lounge''. Also 5 minutes to Christchurch, New Milton town and Barton on sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beechcroft Place Highcliffe, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing