We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Rothesay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rothesay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Highcliffe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms. The room was clean, and had all the amenities one would expect. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast (and service) very nice; an amazing find and very good value. It is also next door to some good restaurants/pubs with easy access to both christchurch and the new forest. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter-c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    50
    22
    16
    19
See reviews for
48
118
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Did not feel it warranted the star rating allocated. Neglected exterior and lounge area. Food and bedroom fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holidays140748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This was our third stay at the Rothesay. If we were to choose another hotel I'm sure we would have to compromise. As with the other comments, you are spoilt for choice at breakfast, which is always fresh and well presented.
The bedrooms have recently been tastefully decorated and are always clean. We took my mum for her 70th birthday and even she couldn't find anything to complain about! There is also a reasonably priced bar.

It's always best to book the pool, if you need specific times, before you go or on arrival to save disappointment as swimming lessons are taken there.

The Hotel is in a great location, near to Highcliffe Castle and in easy reach of the beach. We walk quite a lot when we are on holiday, so it's an ideal base for the New Forest. Also handy for the bus if you fell like a few drinks in Bournemouth.

When we stay at the Rothesay, we have gone to Similan Thai, where warm greeting and fabulous food is served.

We enjoy staying here so much, we have already booked in for our next year break.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzydi711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Not too sure what to expect on pulling up outside but once you walk into the splendid reception with it's great features you know you have found a winner. Room was superb with mega comfy bed, beautifully presented. We arrived mid-afternoon when things were in full swing around the pool so you need to make it clear on arrival if you are going to use it. Breakfast..... well died and gone to heaven would be the best way to describe it. Everything is freshly cooked and cannot be faulted. The location is tip-top. An amazing cliff top walk is on your doorstep, literally and with two fine dining locations within seconds this place just can't go wrong. Michael, the owner cannot do enough. He will cater for all requests and his welcome was more than expected, giving you some great pointers what's on offer in the area. This is a real gem offering great service and quality

Room Tip: Book early on-line
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Many of the other reviewers have already mentioned the great points about The Rothesay (friendly welcome, breakfast, service) so I won't repeat all these details.
The truly remarkable point was that after the room had been cleaned prior to our arrival, a small leak had become a major issue. We were provided with extra towels to mop up the water (we didn't want to move as we'd booked this room as it had an en-suite bath) and a promise of a plumber "tomorrow" - who duly arrived and fixed the problem. In life it is not whether one encounters problems but how they are dealt with - and this was dealt with brilliantly.

Room Tip: Number 15 (with bath)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian_di_Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The only minor issue was the shower cubicle was very small, but nothing to complain about as everything else made up for it. The breakfast was great, plenty to choose from and as much as you like. We had a wedding to go to so always out but when we came back the living room was full of guests all having a drink and a laugh together, but not too loud which i think is great, shows you everyone is very friendly round there but considerate for other guests who may be sleeping. We also tried out the swimming pool and had a great time, perfect for burning those calories after a big breakfast. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you very much for such a pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahSmith1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My partner and I stayed in here in August 2010 as we were attending my cousins wedding at Highcliffe Castle.
We stayed 2 nights, the first night in a suite on the ground floor and the 2nd night in a Garden room. No other reason for moving rooms other than when I came to book the Rothesay, the hotel was full on both nights leaving only 1 room per night to choose from.
Both rooms were beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. The suite and the garden room bathrooms were a good size for the size of the rooms and everything worked as it should.
The owners were kind, helpful and very pleasant.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious and hot. The breakfast room was light and airy with a modern feel.
The Hotel has a small swimming pool, we didn't take advantage of this, however, it did look very good.
We throughly enjoyed our stay in Highcliffe and at The Rothesay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highcliffe
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rothesay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rothesay Hotel

Property: The Rothesay Hotel
Address: 175 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch > Highcliffe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Rothesay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rothesay Hotel Highcliffe, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing